Contribute
Register

pastrychef's Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WI-FI AC) build w/ i9-9900K + AMD 6600 XT

Joined
May 27, 2011
Messages
221
Motherboard
Asus Z370-A Prime
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Classic Mac
  1. 512K
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I don't know if this company ships outside of the US, but this is where I purchased two of the BCM04360CS2 cards:
https://www.ebay.com/itm/MacBook-Ai...387375?hash=item3d0905e92f:g:n8wAAOSwiwVWR5hn

M.2 adaptor and antenna pigtails are not included. But I found really good deals for those on eBay as well. They shipped from China so it was quite a long wait for delivery but the prices were very low.

Yes. AirPlay video works fine for me. I never had to do anything special. It just detected my Apple TV since day 1.
View attachment 347297

@pastrychef, I just found out that the M2 - BCM04360CS2 requires a 2230 type M2 key A/E connector. My motherboard comes only with 2 m2 slots which are only compatible with 2242 / 2260 / 2280 PCIe storage devices. So I will end up with a normal PCIe 1-4X slot which makes it a less attractive solution for me.
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2014
Messages
161
Motherboard
Asus Rog Strix Z370-G Gaming (WI-FI AC)
CPU
i7-9700K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hello guys,
USB Fix
Now everything is clear to me and I understand how to do it.
Delete the ports you are not using, If I can help you I am attaching 2 images on the internal USB ports.

21 USB ports
13 ports:HS (High Speed) USB 2.0 - 480 Mbit/s
6 ports: SS (SuperSpeed) USB 3.0 - 5 Gbit/s
2 ports: SS+ 'USR' (SuperSpeed+) USB 3.1 - 10 Gbit/s
  • HS01 // USB2 under PS2 top
  • HS02 // USB2 under PS2 bottom
  • HS03 // USB2 #1 from USB3 motherboard header (internal)
  • HS04 // USB2 #2 from USB3 motherboard header (internal)
  • HS05 // USB2 under ethernet top
  • HS06 // USB2 under ethernet bottom
  • HS07 // M.2 USB2 (internal) (Bluetooth)
  • HS09 // USB2 to right of HDMI
  • HS10 // USB2 to right of HDMI
  • HS11 // USB2 #1 on USB2 motherboard header USB1112 (internal)
  • HS12 // USB2 #2 on USB2 motherboard header USB1112 (internal)
  • HS13 // USB2 #1 on USB2 motherboard header USB1314 (internal)
  • HS14 // USB2 #2 on USB2 motherboard header USB1314 (internal)
  • SS01 // USB3 under PS2 top
  • SS02 // USB3 under PS2 bottom
  • SS03 // USB3 from USB3 motherboard header
  • SS04 // USB3 from USB3 motherboard header
  • SS05 // USB3 below ethernet top
  • SS06 // USB3 #2 below ethernet bottom
  • USR1 // USB 3.1 Gen.2 port (back panel, RED, Type-A)
  • USR2 // USB 3.1 Gen.2 port (back panel, RED, Type-A)


Strix Z370-G WiFi  internal USB.png
Strix Z370-G WiFi USB ports.jpg
 
Last edited:

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,362
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@pastrychef can you please instruct me what to do to take out nvidia card and to temporarily switch over to internal graphics?
I tried to choose my old intel config but it won't work anymore. I decided to go for the Sapphire RX Vega RX64 Nitro + which is only 519 euro ATM. I can sell the 1080Ti for 640 so I have some money over to spend maybe on a FreeSync monitor. I have now P2715Q which has good quality but has some flaws.

ATM I use your 4.3r EFI pack in nVidia mode.

I know these steps :
  1. Change bios from PCI to CPU graphics and all other options enabled render standby / multimonitor support / and 192MB
  2. Inject intel for CPU: i7 8700k
  3. Do I need IntelGraphicsDVMTFixup / IntelGraphicsFixup or is WhateverGreen in 4.3 EFi pack replacing these?
  4. ?

Thanks!

All you need to do is make the following change.
Screen Shot 2018-08-25 at 8.24.55 AM.png
Don't make any changes to your kexts.

When you get your Vega card, revert back to the previous setting in config.plist.
 
Last edited:

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,362
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@pastrychef, I just found out that the M2 - BCM04360CS2 requires a 2230 type M2 key A/E connector. My motherboard comes only with 2 m2 slots which are only compatible with 2242 / 2260 / 2280 PCIe storage devices. So I will end up with a normal PCIe 1-4X slot which makes it a less attractive solution for me.

Those are different M.2 slots. You should use those M.2 slots for NVMe SSDs. Since your motherboard doesn't have Wi-Fi/Bluetooth, you should get a PCI-e adaptor with an Apple Wi-Fi/Bluetooth card. Something like:
s-l500.png
 
Joined
May 27, 2011
Messages
221
Motherboard
Asus Z370-A Prime
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Classic Mac
  1. 512K
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
All you need to do is make the following change.
View attachment 347919
Don't make any changes to your kexts.

When you get your Vega card, revert back to the previous setting in config.plist.

Just sold my nvidia!

Youhou the AMD guy drove 700km today to pick them up (Vega 64) for just 511 euro in north of Germany. Almost Denmark. He will send them out today. Expecting it to delivered next monday ;-)
 

Attachments

  • dc32da5a-9af9-41b5-8fbe-4923b78e0e84.jpg
    dc32da5a-9af9-41b5-8fbe-4923b78e0e84.jpg
    138 KB · Views: 252

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,362
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Just sold my nvidia!

Youhou the AMD guy drove 700km today to pick them up (Vega 64) for just 511 euro in north of Germany. Almost Denmark. He will send them out today. Expecting it to delivered next monday ;-)

I updated post #1 with new benchmark results from my Vega 56 with Vega Fan Fix, Liquid Metal, and macOS High Sierra 17G2112. The screenshots are at the bottom of the post.
 
Joined
May 27, 2011
Messages
221
Motherboard
Asus Z370-A Prime
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Classic Mac
  1. 512K
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
All you need to do is make the following change.
View attachment 347919
Don't make any changes to your kexts.

When you get your Vega card, revert back to the previous setting in config.plist.

Working thx! I think in the meanwhile its time to make a nice fresh install. I want the Radeon to think that it's just inserted into a nice clean pc and not into a slutty woman ;-)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 18, 2013
Messages
44
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WI-FI AC)
CPU
Intel Core i7-8700K
Graphics
Sapphire Pulse Radeon RX Vega56 8 GB
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Color Classic
  2. iBook
  3. iMac
  4. Power Mac
  5. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I would like to thank you for this awesome guide. I ended up going with the same motherboard, same CPU and an AMD card as well. In my case, the Sapphire Pulse Radeon RX Vega56 8G.

Unfortunately I can't boot into the installer. I use Unibeast 8.1.0, and when it's done I replace the EFI directory with the 4.3 one from your post. When I boot, it successfully launches Clover, then I see the Apple logo, and a couple of seconds later my computer reboots.

Any idea what might be causing this, or how I could go about debugging it?

edit: To give some extra information, I used UEFI boot method, not the legacy method. Besides copying over the 4.3 EFI directory I made no changes.

I was able to follow the guide to the letter, except for "RC6" and "DVMT Pre-Allocated" which don't appear for me. However I have BIOS version 0430 so I'll update it to 1002 to see if that works, since I saw that someone else in this thread also did that (to get 60hz display in their case).

edit: I can boot, but something is wrong...

Found out that for some reason, "primary display" was set to "auto" instead of PCIE. I think it might be incompatible with iGPU Multi Monitor, because when I select that it jumps back to the other setting. I set it to PCIE and set multi monitor to disabled.

Also, I updated the BIOS to 1002.

Here's what happens now:

YKwnkJ9.jpg


cST0mui.jpg


I can move the mouse, the installer probably works, but my screen is the size of a postage stamp. It looks like 640x480 to me, but with retina enabled...

edit: went through the BIOS section again. I think since updating some settings might have changed. I now see RC6 and DMVT as well, which I didn't see before even after updating. I've set everything to the same as yours. Unfortunately it didn't help, still a tiny screen.
 
Last edited:

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,362
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I would like to thank you for this awesome guide. I ended up going with the same motherboard, same CPU and an AMD card as well. In my case, the Sapphire Pulse Radeon RX Vega56 8G.

Unfortunately I can't boot into the installer. I use Unibeast 8.1.0, and when it's done I replace the EFI directory with the 4.3 one from your post. When I boot, it successfully launches Clover, then I see the Apple logo, and a couple of seconds later my computer reboots.

Any idea what might be causing this, or how I could go about debugging it?

edit: To give some extra information, I used UEFI boot method, not the legacy method. Besides copying over the 4.3 EFI directory I made no changes.

I was able to follow the guide to the letter, except for "RC6" and "DVMT Pre-Allocated" which don't appear for me. However I have BIOS version 0430 so I'll update it to 1002 to see if that works, since I saw that someone else in this thread also did that (to get 60hz display in their case).

edit: I can boot, but something is wrong...

Found out that for some reason, "primary display" was set to "auto" instead of PCIE. I think it might be incompatible with iGPU Multi Monitor, because when I select that it jumps back to the other setting. I set it to PCIE and set multi monitor to disabled.

Also, I updated the BIOS to 1002.

Here's what happens now:

YKwnkJ9.jpg


cST0mui.jpg


I can move the mouse, the installer probably works, but my screen is the size of a postage stamp. It looks like 640x480 to me, but with retina enabled...

edit: went through the BIOS section again. I think since updating some settings might have changed. I now see RC6 and DMVT as well, which I didn't see before even after updating. I've set everything to the same as yours. Unfortunately it didn't help, still a tiny screen.

Wow. I've never see that happen. What kind of monitor are you using? What connection are you using to connect to monitor? DisplayPort? HDMI? DVI?
 
Joined
Aug 18, 2013
Messages
44
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WI-FI AC)
CPU
Intel Core i7-8700K
Graphics
Sapphire Pulse Radeon RX Vega56 8 GB
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Color Classic
  2. iBook
  3. iMac
  4. Power Mac
  5. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Monitor is an Asus PB279Q. It's connected through DisplayPort on the GPU. I'm going to try some more things to see if I can make it work.

edit: should maybe add that the Apple logo isn't minuscule.
 
Top