Contribute
Register

pastrychef's Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WI-FI AC) build w/ i9-9900K + AMD 6600 XT

Joined
Sep 20, 2012
Messages
81
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS HERO X Z370
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi Pastrychef,

Just to be sure; I use my own custom SSDT_USB.aml and SSDT-EC-USBX.aml, on top of / and keeping the default SSDT-DMAR.aml, SSDT-PLUG.aml and SSDT-EC.aml files provided by OpenCore ?
(sorry it's been a while)

Kind regards
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,835
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi Pastrychef,

Just to be sure; I use my own custom SSDT_USB.aml and SSDT-EC-USBX.aml, on top of / and keeping the default SSDT-DMAR.aml, SSDT-PLUG.aml and SSDT-EC.aml files provided by OpenCore ?
(sorry it's been a while)

Kind regards

Just use your own SSDT_USB.aml. Leave everything else intact.
 
Joined
May 27, 2011
Messages
235
Motherboard
Asus Z370-A Prime
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Classic Mac
  1. 512K
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Anybody else found that sleep isn't working anymore as it should be? If my system enters sleep (from a fresh reboot) I looks ok. System is entering sleep but after a 15 min or so it wakes again. When I don't touch my system it enters sleep again and then it stays a little shorter in sleep let say 10 min. After a while it toggles between sleep and wake (because nobody is logging in). Any ideas? I think something is changed in Ventura causing this. I tried different EFI backups from recent but nog change to them. Powernap is disabled.

After a while this issue came back. I thought it was an USB device as suggested by Pastrychef. The solution was quite simple. It was one of my monitors (the one with an active USB hub) which caused this issue. The input source had "Auto Select" active. Disable this option, enforcing only to use Display Port solved the issue.
 
Joined
Dec 22, 2015
Messages
175
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming
CPU
i7 8700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
On the Asus Z370-G, is it normal that one of the Red USB Ports in the back is not full speed? @pastrychef was there something done in port mapping that can cause that? Is it expected?

Using a NVMe in a external USB-C enclosure (USB 3.1 Gen 2 I think), I get an abysmal difference between the two ports.
Screenshot 2022-12-12 at 18.12.30.png

Screenshot 2022-12-12 at 16.59.14.png


Different cables also give different results, so I am just trying to understand... Thanks.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,835
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
On the Asus Z370-G, is it normal that one of the Red USB Ports in the back is not full speed? @pastrychef was there something done in port mapping that can cause that? Is it expected?

Using a NVME in a external USB-C enclosure (USB 3.1 Gen 2 I think) I get an abysmal difference between the two ports.
View attachment 559798
View attachment 559799

Different cables also give different results, so I am just trying to understand... Thanks.

No. Both ports should work in full speed.
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2017
Messages
374
Motherboard
Asus Z370-I
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
RX 5700
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
On the Asus Z370-G, is it normal that one of the Red USB Ports in the back is not full speed? @pastrychef was there something done in port mapping that can cause that? Is it expected?

Using a NVMe in a external USB-C enclosure (USB 3.1 Gen 2 I think), I get an abysmal difference between the two ports.
View attachment 559798
View attachment 559799

Different cables also give different results, so I am just trying to understand... Thanks.
Cabling could be bad.

Or mapping could be off.

If you focus on one port (the bad one) what's the max speed you get, using a known good cable? 40MB/s? If so, it's only doing USB2. Check your port mapping and confirm that physical port has both a USB2 and a USB3 resource assigned to it.

Post your Hackintool USB tab, with something plugged into it using USB3.
 
Joined
Dec 22, 2015
Messages
175
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming
CPU
i7 8700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Cabling could be bad.

Or mapping could be off.

If you focus on one port (the bad one) what's the max speed you get, using a known good cable? 40MB/s? If so, it's only doing USB2. Check your port mapping and confirm that physical port has both a USB2 and a USB3 resource assigned to it.

Post your Hackintool USB tab, with something plugged into it using USB3.
The mapping is from Pastrychef.
I have 2 cables, both work on my MacBook air M1, and thru a hub, I get around 300 mb/s in both.
On my hack 1 of the cables gives me 40 mb/s on both the red ports and another gives me 700-900mb/s on the good port and 40mb/s on the bad one. -- No idea what to make of these results, seem all over the place. I'm new to using nvme's on external enclosures.

Hackintool:
hackintool.png


Not a big deal since at least one port works, but I'm having other issues and was wondering if it could be related.
 
Top