Contribute
Register

pastrychef's Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WI-FI AC) build w/ i9-9900K + AMD 6600 XT

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,538
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I understand that the ram disk might be a way to test this, but my knowledge of how memory management on Unix-like systems works tells me that wired memory is guaranteed not to be swapped out, and must only reside in physical RAM, and at the specific address it is currently mapped into. The OS itself uses this for buffers it will be sending to hardware to DMA into, for instance. It ensures the memory doesn't get swapped out (which would crash a DMA operation) or whatnot, and it cannot be compressed.

It's a small little tool, easily installed with "brew install memtester", and run like "memtester 50G"

I spent over 2 hours completing one loop of memtester. I'm not going to waste any more time. All the RAM is there.
Screen Shot 2017-12-25 at 4.15.39 PM.png Screen Shot 2017-12-25 at 4.13.26 PM.png
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,538
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
If the test didn't take as long as it does, I would try a run without the manually entered RAM specs. I suspect that it may pass without them since iStat Menus sees the full 64GB with or without it.
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2016
Messages
87
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO Z370
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'm also thinking of upgrading my current build to this board/cpu. The issues with memory is concerning me. I went to the G.Skill RAM Configurator to check if my current RAM (F4-3200C14D-32GVK) is certified - it is.

I also checked the RAM you list in #1 (F4-3400C16Q-64GTZ) and it is not listed. Could this be you're problem?

https://www.gskill.com/en/configurator?manu=29&chip=3094&model=3101
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,538
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'm also thinking of upgrading my current build to this board/cpu. The issues with memory is concerning me. I went to the G.Skill RAM Configurator to check if my current RAM (F4-3200C14D-32GVK) is certified - it is.

I also checked the RAM you list in #1 (F4-3400C16Q-64GTZ) and it is not listed. Could this be you're problem?

https://www.gskill.com/en/configurator?manu=29&chip=3094&model=3101

I don't think the RAM is a concern at all. I've gone through fairly exhaustive efforts to prove that it's working.

According to Asus, my RAM is on their QVL. I'm using this RAM: G.SKILL TridentZ Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 3400 (PC4 27200) Intel Z170 Platform Desktop Memory Model F4-3400C16Q-64GTZ - Newegg.com and this is from Asus:
Screen Shot 2017-12-26 at 6.10.34 PM.png
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2017
Messages
14
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It turns out I had bad memory. If I put one set of DIMMs into 0/2, the board would not POST, while the other set would POST in either 0/2 or 1/3, even though OSX would not boot if no memory was installed in 0/2. I now have 64 GB installed, and while I had to specify the sizes in config.plist to make OSX find all four sticks, things seem to be working well. "memtester" has run the first ("stuck address") test, which means every memory address was touched at least once, and there were no issues; it'd have crashed with the bad memory (or no memory but config.plist telling it there was) in slots 1/3.

Thanks again for all the advice, pastrychef!
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2017
Messages
6
Hi pastrychef. I have the same CPU and motherboard as you. I specified i7-8700K in user config and used ssdtprgen.sh to generate ssdt.aml. appleintelinfo.kext recognizes the turbo frequency (i.e. 5.0 GHz), but macOS only runs as high as 4.65 GHz. Any idea why? Thank you.
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2017
Messages
305
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G WiFi AC
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 5700
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Why do you think you're only going up to 4.65? Are you running Intel Power Gadget to see the details, or ?
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2017
Messages
6
Why do you think you're only going up to 4.65? Are you running Intel Power Gadget to see the details, or ?

Thanks for replying. I used HWMonitor. Power Gadget reports a similar frequency (i.e. 4.70 GHz). Please see attached.
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2017-12-27 at 12.30.02 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2017-12-27 at 12.30.02 AM.png
    45.7 KB · Views: 178

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,538
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi pastrychef. I have the same CPU and motherboard as you. I specified i7-8700K in user config and used ssdtprgen.sh to generate ssdt.aml. appleintelinfo.kext recognizes the turbo frequency (i.e. 5.0 GHz), but macOS only runs as high as 4.65 GHz. Any idea why? Thank you.

It sounds like you have AVX offset at 3. This does not seem to work correctly in macOS and it's always enabled.

In BIOS, in Extreme Tweaker, set AVX Instruction Core Ratio Offset to 0.
 
Top