Contribute
Register

pastrychef's Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WI-FI AC) build w/ i9-9900K + AMD 6600 XT

Joined
Apr 22, 2016
Messages
19
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Z370-G
CPU
8700K
Graphics
RX580 MSI
Please see this post.

That's assuming that you will be plugging the Bluetooth cable from the Fenvi card to the HS13 port on the motherboard.

Please see @snoopy69 post to find out which port your Fenvi card will be using.


I followed your instructions on changing the hs07 to HS13 and installed accordingly to snoopy post. However my Bluetooth on the BCM94360CD card isnt appearing. Any ideas?

I've also check if Bluetooth component through Windows partition and it was working without a hitch.

Edit: clearing nvram did not have any effect
 

Attachments

  • 20200828_220724.jpg
    20200828_220724.jpg
    4.3 MB · Views: 32
  • 20200828_220923.jpg
    20200828_220923.jpg
    5.6 MB · Views: 30
  • 15986239084848022946233410666455.jpg
    15986239084848022946233410666455.jpg
    4 MB · Views: 33
Last edited:

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,843
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I followed your instructions on changing the hs07 to HS13 and installed accordingly to snoopy post. However my Bluetooth on the BCM94360CD card isnt appearing. Any ideas?

I've also check if Bluetooth component through Windows partition and it was working without a hitch.

Edit: clearing nvram did not have any effect

Make sure that the USB connector is plugged in to the motherboard's USB header in the correct orientation. If you are sure it's connected correctly, try changing HS13 to HS14 and see if Bluetooth shows up.
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2016
Messages
19
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Z370-G
CPU
8700K
Graphics
RX580 MSI
Make sure that the USB connector is plugged in to the motherboard's USB header in the correct orientation. If you are sure it's connected correctly, try changing HS13 to HS14 and see if Bluetooth shows up.
I'm afraid that did not work.

i've attached the info.plist here to see if i made an error in editing it.
 

Attachments

  • Info.plist
    12.4 KB · Views: 20
  • Screenshot 2020-08-29 at 7.10.20 AM.png
    Screenshot 2020-08-29 at 7.10.20 AM.png
    151.9 KB · Views: 35
  • Screenshot 2020-08-29 at 7.10.37 AM.png
    Screenshot 2020-08-29 at 7.10.37 AM.png
    70.4 KB · Views: 37
  • Screenshot 2020-08-29 at 7.10.47 AM.png
    Screenshot 2020-08-29 at 7.10.47 AM.png
    56.9 KB · Views: 30

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,843
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'm afraid that did not work.

i've attached the info.plist here to see if i made an error in editing it.

I edited it twice. One for HS13 and one for HS14. I don't know which port your Bluetooth adaptor is using but one of them should work...
 

Attachments

  • HS13.zip
    1.8 KB · Views: 47
  • HS14.zip
    2 KB · Views: 25
Joined
Apr 22, 2016
Messages
19
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Z370-G
CPU
8700K
Graphics
RX580 MSI
I edited it twice. One for HS13 and one for HS14. I don't know which port your Bluetooth adaptor is using but one of them should work...

HS14 works! thank you so much pastry!
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2020-08-28 at 11.57.48 PM.png
    Screenshot 2020-08-28 at 11.57.48 PM.png
    118.4 KB · Views: 33
Joined
Apr 22, 2016
Messages
19
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Z370-G
CPU
8700K
Graphics
RX580 MSI
one last thing whilst we're on the topic of wifi card. do i have to update the MAC address in the config? the mac address initially was on the asus Lan port, but now i'm using the wifi pcie card it has a different mac address
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,843
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
one last thing whilst we're on the topic of wifi card. do i have to update the MAC address in the config? the mac address initially was on the asus Lan port, but now i'm using the wifi pcie card it has a different mac address

No. You should enter the MAC address of the motherboard ethernet, not the Wi-Fi MAC address.
 
Joined
Dec 22, 2015
Messages
175
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming
CPU
i7 8700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
You need to map out your ports first so you know which port is which. Then you can easily mod the USBPorts.kext with a plist editor.
Ohh.. I thought I could just use snoopy69's post #3005 mentioned in the OP with detailed mapping info as a reference and edit the names in your USBports.kext according to my needs, wrong assumption I guess.

I booted from your clover EFI, followed the new instructions to map the ports, for some reason one of the back USB-2 ports would not show up in hackintool (no big deal as I was going to disable both anyway), testing internal headers is a bit hard (no way to plug a flash drive there or even remove and reattach the connectors due to lack of space, GPU is a thicc boi, connectors are super tight in there too) so I just went the assumption that were indeed top to bottom and left HS12/13 there and it worked. I have control over my Kraken AIO again.

EDIT: Oh, somehow this seems to have fixed my issues with hw acceleration in Twitch, VLC and Brave Browser. (so far)
Thanks.
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2016
Messages
19
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Z370-G
CPU
8700K
Graphics
RX580 MSI
Just a quality of life question here

Is there any way to change the setting for the order of boot and also if I could extend the delay timer before it auto boots into the left most drive?
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20200823_134937_697.jpg
    IMG_20200823_134937_697.jpg
    611 KB · Views: 29
Joined
Jun 13, 2017
Messages
2,179
Motherboard
Asus Prime A320I-K
CPU
Ryzen 7 5700X
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yes you can!, in Clover Configurator > Boot.
Screen Shot 2020-08-29 at 7.52.41 AM.png
 
Top