pastrychef's Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WI-FI AC) build w/ i7-8700K + AMD Vega 56

Discussion in 'Golden Builds' started by pastrychef, Dec 8, 2017.

  1. KingKPS

    KingKPS

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2017
    Messages:
    51
    Motherboard:
    Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Wifi & AC
    CPU:
    i7 8700K @ 3.7GHz Stock
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte RX560 OC 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 14, 2018 at 7:08 PM #1991
    KingKPS

    KingKPS

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2017
    Messages:
    51
    Motherboard:
    Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Wifi & AC
    CPU:
    i7 8700K @ 3.7GHz Stock
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte RX560 OC 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I'm pretty sure this thread is for people who are having problems with this exact build and motherboard. Also, why would I go through the hassle of reinstalling my whole OS when I can conveniently find a fix for my bootloop??
     
  2. P1LGRIM

    P1LGRIM Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    15,784
    Motherboard:
    Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
    CPU:
    Intel i5-4570 3.2 GHz
    Graphics:
    Radeon RX 560 4096 MB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 14, 2018 at 7:11 PM #1992
    P1LGRIM

    P1LGRIM Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    15,784
    Motherboard:
    Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
    CPU:
    Intel i5-4570 3.2 GHz
    Graphics:
    Radeon RX 560 4096 MB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
  3. KingKPS

    KingKPS

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2017
    Messages:
    51
    Motherboard:
    Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Wifi & AC
    CPU:
    i7 8700K @ 3.7GHz Stock
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte RX560 OC 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 14, 2018 at 7:13 PM #1993
    KingKPS

    KingKPS

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2017
    Messages:
    51
    Motherboard:
    Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Wifi & AC
    CPU:
    i7 8700K @ 3.7GHz Stock
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte RX560 OC 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    @pastrychef I was able to get into my account in Safe Mode, but the "System" is still taking up close to 180Gb out of my 250Gb M.2. This is causing lots of issues with terminal and other programs. Do you have any ideas to fix this and the bootloop?
     
  4. pastrychef

    pastrychef Moderator

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Messages:
    4,442
    Motherboard:
    Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
    CPU:
    i7-8700K @ 5.0GHz
    Graphics:
    MSI Radeon RX Vega 56 Air Boost
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 14, 2018 at 7:56 PM #1994
    pastrychef

    pastrychef Moderator

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Messages:
    4,442
    Motherboard:
    Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
    CPU:
    i7-8700K @ 5.0GHz
    Graphics:
    MSI Radeon RX Vega 56 Air Boost
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Try looking in /var/VM/ and see how much room your sleepimage is taking up. If it's taking up too much space, you can delete it.

    But, yes, I agree with P1LGRIM, this is not a build issue and more of a macOS usage issue.
     
  5. KingKPS

    KingKPS

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2017
    Messages:
    51
    Motherboard:
    Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Wifi & AC
    CPU:
    i7 8700K @ 3.7GHz Stock
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte RX560 OC 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 14, 2018 at 7:57 PM #1995
    KingKPS

    KingKPS

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2017
    Messages:
    51
    Motherboard:
    Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Wifi & AC
    CPU:
    i7 8700K @ 3.7GHz Stock
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte RX560 OC 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Ok, but I can't boot into MacOS unless I use Safe Mode. This just happened today and my computer reboots when it gets to the Apple Logo booting screen.
     
  6. pastrychef

    pastrychef Moderator

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Messages:
    4,442
    Motherboard:
    Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
    CPU:
    i7-8700K @ 5.0GHz
    Graphics:
    MSI Radeon RX Vega 56 Air Boost
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 14, 2018 at 8:16 PM #1996
    pastrychef

    pastrychef Moderator

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Messages:
    4,442
    Motherboard:
    Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
    CPU:
    i7-8700K @ 5.0GHz
    Graphics:
    MSI Radeon RX Vega 56 Air Boost
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Boot in verbose and try to see what's giving you your trouble and it definitely sounds like you need a larger SSD.
     
  7. ChaosMonkey

    ChaosMonkey

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2018
    Messages:
    109
    Motherboard:
    Asus Strix Z370G Gaming WiFi (64GB RAM)
    CPU:
    i7 8700K Coffee Lake
    Graphics:
    Sapphire RX Vega 56 8GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Jun 14, 2018 at 8:44 PM #1997
    ChaosMonkey

    ChaosMonkey

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2018
    Messages:
    109
    Motherboard:
    Asus Strix Z370G Gaming WiFi (64GB RAM)
    CPU:
    i7 8700K Coffee Lake
    Graphics:
    Sapphire RX Vega 56 8GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    They are from the same set of settings, first two pictures from one boot, reset then second pair of two pictures from immediate another boot, where I aimed for better quality of the pictures (I have to take screenshots made off a movie, because it scrolls too fast). I've booted with USB and rebuild the kext cache, but it didnt change anything. What do you mean by 'main directory', do you mean the OS root ('/')?
     
  8. ChaosMonkey

    ChaosMonkey

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2018
    Messages:
    109
    Motherboard:
    Asus Strix Z370G Gaming WiFi (64GB RAM)
    CPU:
    i7 8700K Coffee Lake
    Graphics:
    Sapphire RX Vega 56 8GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Jun 14, 2018 at 8:50 PM #1998
    ChaosMonkey

    ChaosMonkey

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2018
    Messages:
    109
    Motherboard:
    Asus Strix Z370G Gaming WiFi (64GB RAM)
    CPU:
    i7 8700K Coffee Lake
    Graphics:
    Sapphire RX Vega 56 8GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    @pastrychef I've found /EFI and some clover related things inside, so I've deleted it, leaving /EFI untouched. Unfortunately, it didn't change a thing, the machine still doesn't boot from it's own SSD.
     
  9. pastrychef

    pastrychef Moderator

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Messages:
    4,442
    Motherboard:
    Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
    CPU:
    i7-8700K @ 5.0GHz
    Graphics:
    MSI Radeon RX Vega 56 Air Boost
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 14, 2018 at 9:22 PM #1999
    pastrychef

    pastrychef Moderator

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Messages:
    4,442
    Motherboard:
    Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
    CPU:
    i7-8700K @ 5.0GHz
    Graphics:
    MSI Radeon RX Vega 56 Air Boost
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I suspect that you did a legacy install of Clover. I don't have any experience with legacy installations and don't know how to undo it.
     
  10. KingKPS

    KingKPS

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2017
    Messages:
    51
    Motherboard:
    Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Wifi & AC
    CPU:
    i7 8700K @ 3.7GHz Stock
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte RX560 OC 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 14, 2018 at 9:38 PM #2000
    KingKPS

    KingKPS

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2017
    Messages:
    51
    Motherboard:
    Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Wifi & AC
    CPU:
    i7 8700K @ 3.7GHz Stock
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte RX560 OC 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I booted into Verbose and it just says attempting system reboot.

    Here are some photos and a video of the output:

    https://www.dropbox.com/sh/d1kxnaq8wwy3l5l/AADHdH5LJeWWcjwOIy_efviua?dl=0

    The SSD size shouldn't be an issue. My files barely add up to 100GB and the only issue is that the System is taking up too much space. I do have a few extra SSDs so if I need to add space, I can always use one of those for my files.

    Edit: Will not boot at all anymore. Not with the USB, not with any boot flags. Just restarts after giving tons of thread data, as seen in the video. I would highly appreciate it if somebody could help me fix this as reinstalling would be a major hassle and I would lose all of my applications and some precious files in the process.
     
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2018

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice