Contribute
Register

pastrychef's $62 Dell OptiPlex 3050 Clunker - i3-6100 - RX 560

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
May 5, 2017
Messages
376
Motherboard
HP 8300 CMT
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
@pastrychef does your RX560 fans spin up full blast on boot (halfway through boot until a while on the login screen) and when entering/leaving sleep mode? I have the exact same model and am experiencing this, which is not ideal. Thanks
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,797
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@pastrychef does your RX560 fans spin up full blast on boot (halfway through boot until a while on the login screen) and when entering/leaving sleep mode? I have the exact same model and am experiencing this, which is not ideal. Thanks

Not that I'm aware of... But I've never watched it during the boot process. I've never heard the fans of my RX 560.
 
Joined
May 5, 2017
Messages
376
Motherboard
HP 8300 CMT
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Not that I'm aware of... But I've never watched it during the boot process. I've never heard the fans of my RX 560.
You would know about it if it was like mine; it sounds like a rocket ship! You would have to have a very noisy machine or loud music to not notice.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,797
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
You would know about it if it was like mine; it sounds like a rocket ship! You would have to have a very noisy machine or loud music to not notice.

I've definitely never heard anything like that from my RX 560.
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2018
Messages
37
Motherboard
Dell OptiPlex 3050-Clover
CPU
i5-7500/B250
Graphics
HD630
Mac
  1. iMac
Can you test whether the onboard audio works or not after wake with my AppleALC, Codec Commander and Combojack script. Wake doesn't work on my machine. All three outputs and one headset mic. Please...thank you!
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,797
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Can you test whether the onboard audio works or not after wake with my AppleALC, Codec Commander and Combojack script. Wake doesn't work on my machine. All three outputs and one headset mic. Please...thank you!

I haven't even tried the combo jack thing yet... I'm still just using HDMI audio.
 
Joined
May 5, 2017
Messages
376
Motherboard
HP 8300 CMT
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Once macOS was installed, I was able to re-enable the IGPU and use it headlessly
Regarding this - how do you set this up? Do you add an ig-platform-id into Clover (as per your 8300 build) or do you use the new Whatevergreen / hackintool method as outlined in this thread? I am talking in relation to an 8300 / HD4000 / RX560 setup but assume there will be similarities. Thanks
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,797
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Regarding this - how do you set this up? Do you add an ig-platform-id into Clover (as per your 8300 build) or do you use the new Whatevergreen / hackintool method as outlined in this thread? I am talking in relation to an 8300 / HD4000 / RX560 setup but assume there will be similarities. Thanks

If you are on Mojave and Clover/Kexts have been updated to latest versions, you shouldn't have to enter anything. Clover should recognize your IGPU and configure it auto-magically.
 
Joined
May 5, 2017
Messages
376
Motherboard
HP 8300 CMT
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
If you are on Mojave and Clover/Kexts have been updated to latest versions, you shouldn't have to enter anything. Clover should recognize your IGPU and configure it auto-magically.
Oh wow. Automagic sounds exciting. Will have to get on the case with upgrading to Mojave!
 
Joined
May 5, 2017
Messages
376
Motherboard
HP 8300 CMT
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Oh wow. Automagic sounds exciting. Will have to get on the case with upgrading to Mojave!
FYI it also appears to do the automagic thing on 10.13.6 :)

I enabled HD4000 in BIOS, after removing two clover patches which are now handled by Whatevergreen (GFX0 to IGPU) and (PEGP to GFX0). It appears to be correctly detected without any Clover settings or patching!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top