Parallels Crashes Lion - Any Suggestions?

Discussion in 'Lion Desktop Support' started by pcascio, Jul 30, 2011.

  1. pcascio

    pcascio

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Jul 30, 2011 at 2:14 PM #1
    pcascio

    pcascio

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Is there a sollution, or an alternative to Parallels that performs well?
     
  2. HarryCJ

    HarryCJ

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    309
    Mobo:
    HP ProBook 4530s
    CPU:
    Core i3 2310M
    Graphics:
    Intel HD3000
    Jul 30, 2011 at 2:24 PM #2
    HarryCJ

    HarryCJ

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    309
    Mobo:
    HP ProBook 4530s
    CPU:
    Core i3 2310M
    Graphics:
    Intel HD3000
    Parallels? But why?
    Why not dual boot it with Windows?
     
  3. MacLolo

    MacLolo

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77 DS3H
    CPU:
    Core i7 3770
    Graphics:
    Radeon HD 6850
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 30, 2011 at 2:30 PM #3
    MacLolo

    MacLolo

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77 DS3H
    CPU:
    Core i7 3770
    Graphics:
    Radeon HD 6850
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hi there,

    without any precise information it is very hard to be helpful.

    Do you use the latest version of Parallels, 6.0.12094.676533? As far as I know do all earlier version crash with Lion.

    @HarryCJ: On a dual boot system you're not able to use both system together which is sometimes very useful.
     
  4. Kris404

    Kris404

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    249
    Mobo:
    P67A-UD3-B3 U1d
    CPU:
    i7 2600K
    Graphics:
    Zotac GT 640
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 30, 2011 at 4:00 PM #4
    Kris404

    Kris404

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    249
    Mobo:
    P67A-UD3-B3 U1d
    CPU:
    i7 2600K
    Graphics:
    Zotac GT 640
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Parallels Desktop 6.0.12094 (rev 676494) works fine for local .hdd based VMs.

    But Bootcamp based VM crashes every few minutes (no issues in 10.6.7)

    - Kris
     
  5. pcascio

    pcascio

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Jul 30, 2011 at 4:54 PM #5
    pcascio

    pcascio

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    I can't even get Win7 installed in Parallels, the screen goes black and OSX reboots. Parallels' web site shows a boot flag to set that may help, but I'm not able to keep it running long enough to set it.
     
  6. littleone

    littleone

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    Mobo:
    SL 10.6.8
    CPU:
    c2q
    Graphics:
    ATI 4870
    Jul 30, 2011 at 8:24 PM #6
    littleone

    littleone

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    Mobo:
    SL 10.6.8
    CPU:
    c2q
    Graphics:
    ATI 4870
    the currently latest version for parallels dont work with Lion ,or at least dont have a full support on lion ,so now we have to wait for the news ver :(.
     
  7. pcascio

    pcascio

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Jul 30, 2011 at 10:12 PM #7
    pcascio

    pcascio

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    I can do that. Thanks
     
  8. georgeba

    georgeba

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    391
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Intel i5-4670K
    Graphics:
    HD4600
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jul 31, 2011 at 1:11 AM #8
    georgeba

    georgeba

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    391
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Intel i5-4670K
    Graphics:
    HD4600
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    VMWare Fusion works. I have to run XP for the sake of one little program (FlashPaper) which only works on XP, but use Win7 on a separate drive for everything else Windows.
     
  9. pcascio

    pcascio

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Jul 31, 2011 at 1:32 AM #9
    pcascio

    pcascio

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    I tried it and I could load Win7 32-Bit, but not 64. That works for me.
    Thanks. Is Parallels better or faster?
     
  10. yuji22

    yuji22

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Mobo:
    MBP
    CPU:
    I5
    Graphics:
    HD 3000
    Jul 31, 2011 at 2:18 AM #10
    yuji22

    yuji22

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Mobo:
    MBP
    CPU:
    I5
    Graphics:
    HD 3000
    VMWare Fusion works flawless on Lion. It runs faster than Parallels. I tried both and VMWare is much better.
     

Share This Page