Contribute
Register

Papageientaucher's Silent Lightroom Build: GA-Z77X-UP5-TH - GTX670 - 3770K

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Aug 15, 2011
Messages
10
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z77X UP5 TH
CPU
i7 3770K
Graphics
GTX 670
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
thanks - but toleda said that there is no fix to the alc898. i will just get used to xmbc i guess..
OK then, sorry for misleading you.

btw: I found that VLC player does not output AC3/DTS over HDMI on my Macbook Air whereas XBMC does. Apparently there is some sort of issue with VLC and AC3/DTS passthrough under OSX, even for retail Macs...

Regards
 
Joined
Oct 23, 2012
Messages
44
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390i Aorus Pro WIFI
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
Vega 64
Thank you so much! This seems to have fixed it on my end as well! I tried the Digital audio to Analog converter, but it added a ton of noise to the signal which made it even worse than dealing with the popping. Thanks again!
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2012
Messages
28
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
Intel i7-3770K
Graphics
EVGA GeForce GTX 670
Mac
  1. MacBook
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Thanks for making this post. I'm glad I read it, as this will solve my speakers "popping" after prolonged silence. After changing the profile to the latest Mac Pro, is there anything that significantly changes? Thanks again for the informative post.
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2012
Messages
28
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
Intel i7-3770K
Graphics
EVGA GeForce GTX 670
Mac
  1. MacBook
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Just an FYI for anyone looking to change their system description. I was running system definition iMac 12,2 and tried switching over to MacPro 5,1, but once I restarted my system I got a kernel panic and the system would not boot. I found a way to revert to system definition iMac 12,2 and it rebooted fine. I now changed my system definition to MacPro 3,1 and it seems to be running fine.

After some reading I think I found that Ivy Bridge Processors are not support in MacPro 4,1 or MacPro 5,1. If you really want to run those system definitions there are ways around the issue, but apparently it is not really worth it.

Now I hope this fixes the speaker popping issue that used to bug the heck out of me.

Hope this helps anyone looking into this fix.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
82
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Just an FYI for anyone looking to change their system description. I was running system definition iMac 12,2 and tried switching over to MacPro 5,1, but once I restarted my system I got a kernel panic and the system would not boot. I found a way to revert to system definition iMac 12,2 and it rebooted fine. I now changed my system definition to MacPro 3,1 and it seems to be running fine.

After some reading I think I found that Ivy Bridge Processors are not support in MacPro 4,1 or MacPro 5,1. If you really want to run those system definitions there are ways around the issue, but apparently it is not really worth it.

Now I hope this fixes the speaker popping issue that used to bug the heck out of me.

Hope this helps anyone looking into this fix.

If you want to use the Mac Pro 5,1 system definition you need to delete the AppleTyMCEDriver.kext before rebooting. This will prevent the kernel panic.
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,114
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690 Aero G
CPU
i5-12600K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
IIRC, Mac Pro 4,1 & 5,1 have ECC RAM which is the cause of problems for Hacks that use those System Definitions using non ECC RAM.
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2012
Messages
28
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
Intel i7-3770K
Graphics
EVGA GeForce GTX 670
Mac
  1. MacBook
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Is there an advantage to switching to system definition 4,1 or 5,1?
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2011
Messages
10
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z77X UP5 TH
CPU
i7 3770K
Graphics
GTX 670
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Figured I'd let you guys know - 10.8.3 is running smooth (clean installation, not updated)!
I updated the guide with what I found were the ideal settings for 10.8.3
Good Luck!
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,114
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690 Aero G
CPU
i5-12600K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
To get your MAS purchased application to show up for another download is to hold down the Option key and click on the Purchases icon at the top of the screen in the App Store window.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top