Override EDID, for display problem

Discussion in 'Graphics' started by Micky1979, Mar 17, 2012.

  1. Micky1979

    Micky1979

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    440
    Mobo:
    HP DV7-6190sl
    CPU:
    2630qm
    Graphics:
    Intel HD3000+AMD 6770m
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Mar 17, 2012 at 12:58 PM #1
    Micky1979

    Micky1979

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    440
    Mobo:
    HP DV7-6190sl
    CPU:
    2630qm
    Graphics:
    Intel HD3000+AMD 6770m
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Override EDID
    Forcing the display information, with the right ones

    New!
    Installer for notebooks, attached



    If you have problems with your monitor, such as incorrect resolution,artifacts, and freez, problems with the Dock that stopped, and the system that nails can be a useful groped to edit your Custom Override files.
    This as you will find written on the Microsoft link, you need to force your system to use the data requirements of your display, if possible, with the original factory
    [​IMG]
    I personally have found the opportunity to fix the display, on 8 March 2012, when the user Flashe, gave me the opportunity to enter in his Hackintosh by remote Teamviewer .
    Its display showed in System Preferences, the name of the supplier of his display: very strange!
    he had edited a file in System/Library/Overrides, to make it appear that the name he had edited himself. After a little research I found a guide on insanlynac (Credit for this to user CharredPC ).

    That said, so now we will see, how to fix LCD / TV / external monitor etc..
    So nothing new but very useful

    This is the guide read from CharredPC:

    (see the values ??(colored) are mine for example! Edit your file with your own)

    Get PlistEdit Pro.app


    Go to System/Library/Displays/Overrides, and take a random folder ( only one file in it). Copy on Desktop.

    Open Terminal and the execute command

    ioreg -lw0 > ~/Desktop/ioregSaved.txt

    This will create the file ioregSaved.txt on your desktop.

    Now to start, open ioregSaved.txt and use "search" for this information:

    search "IODisplayEDID"

    like this:
    "IODisplayEDID" = <00ffffffffffff004ca354330000000000120103802615780a859599574f8f2 ........ etc.

    copy the HEX to text files, we will need later.

    Search "DisplayVendorID"

    "DisplayVendorID" = 19619
    take note of the value


    Search "DisplayProductID"

    like this:
    "DisplayProductID" = 13140
    take note of the value

    Search "IODisplayPrefsKey"
    like this:
    "IODisplayPrefsKey" = "IOService:/AppleACPIPlatformExpert/PCI0@0/AppleACPIPCI/IGPU@2/AppleIntelFramebuffer@1/display0/AppleBacklightDisplay-4ca3-3354"

    take note of the color values


    Now we can edit our custom file

    To begin with we need to rename the folder (which we first copied to the Desktop):

    DisplayVendorID-xxxx

    we must add the value to be taken (follow the colors)
    "IODisplayPrefsKey" = "IOService:/AppleACPIPlatformExpert/PCI0@0/AppleACPIPCI/IGPU@2/AppleIntelFramebuffer@1/display0/AppleBacklightDisplay-4ca3-3354"

    to make it so

    DisplayVendorID-4ca3


    now we have to rename the file that is inside:

    from this:


    "IODisplayPrefsKey" = "IOService:/AppleACPIPlatformExpert/PCI0@0/AppleACPIPCI/IGPU@2/AppleIntelFramebuffer@1/display0/AppleBacklightDisplay-4ca3-3354"

    DisplayProductID-xxxx

    to this (follow the colors):

    DisplayProductID-3354



    Now, we must open the file you just renamed, with PlistEdit Pro, and we have to change for all as follows:

    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
    <plist version="1.0">
    <dict>
    <key>DisplayProductID</key>
    <integer>13140</integer>
    <key>DisplayProductName</key>
    <string>Internal LCD</string>
    <key>DisplayVendorID</key>
    <integer>19619</integer>
    <key>IODisplayEDID</key>
    <data>
    AP///////wBMo1QzAAAAAAASAQOAJhV4CoWVmVdPjyYhUFQAAAABAQEBAQEBAQEBAQEB
    AQEBHCpATGGEHjAwICUAftcQAAAZAAAADwAAAAAAAAAAAC76BngAAAAA/gBTQU1TVU5H
    CiAgICAgAAAA/gAxNzNLVDAxLUswMQogAEs=

    </data>
    </dict>
    </plist>

    we just have to copy the values??, and their keys, we noted a moment ago.
    Data for <key> IODisplayEDID </ key> should be copied on top of PlistEdit Pro, make sure you give the flag "Automatically sync text"

    in
    <key> DisplayProductName </ key>
    <string> Internal LCD </ string>

    instead of "Internal LCD" you can write whatever you want

    important:
    the file must have no extension


    [​IMG]


    Place your custom EDID file in System/Library/Displays/Overrides repair permissions and reboot (with Disk Utility)!

    I enclose my file as an example, do not use for any of you!
    Everyone must do his "personal" (for specific Monitor)


    Obviously not assure you that will be able to solve all the problems of "artifacts"

    also because the things he had @Flashe on her desktop, they were really serious,
    but still are not sure if they were really artifacts!!

    Surely, this is a refinement:

    even if it does not solve your problems with graphics, at least you know that your display is OK!


    CharredPC credit, from insanlynac
    ---------------------------------------------------
    NOTE:

    Data for IODisplayEDID' ioreg -l dump, could be equally incorrect.
    The solution can also be found, making the EDID dump under Windows:
    with a program like Moninfo.exe EnTech Taiwan | Utilities | Monitor Asset Manager, you can dump full display info and find the HEX, in RAW DATA.

    This link, for more information on Override EDID, and why do :

    http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/windows ... e/gg487330

    My edited file (only for example, rewrite the data for you)
    download/file.php?id=25089

    A bad file, it can cause the loss of your display,
    Be sure to log back to your OSX, first, to delete the bad files


    Installer Only for Notebooks here:

    EDID Notebook Installer 1.0.zip

    thanks to philip_petev who created the script to automate the process!
    This is the vesion 1.0, considered as beta,
    use only with Laptops, and disconnect the external monitor during installation!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 27, 2016
  2. jkbuha

    jkbuha

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011
    Messages:
    175
    Mobo:
    XPS 13 9360
    CPU:
    i7-7500U
    Graphics:
    HD 620
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mar 21, 2012 at 9:58 AM #2
    jkbuha

    jkbuha

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011
    Messages:
    175
    Mobo:
    XPS 13 9360
    CPU:
    i7-7500U
    Graphics:
    HD 620
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Thanks Micky!

    Your method didn't work directly, but I adapted your method and patched my EDID with another similar vendor's EDID configuration to resolve all issues I had with my HD3000 display! I've documented the process in the Graphics sub-forum.

    Great work!

    Cheers
    jkbuha
     
  3. Micky1979

    Micky1979

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    440
    Mobo:
    HP DV7-6190sl
    CPU:
    2630qm
    Graphics:
    Intel HD3000+AMD 6770m
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Mar 21, 2012 at 11:25 AM #3
    Micky1979

    Micky1979

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    440
    Mobo:
    HP DV7-6190sl
    CPU:
    2630qm
    Graphics:
    Intel HD3000+AMD 6770m
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    A couple of months ago, I tried to insert data even <device-properties> on o.c.b.p, using EFIStudio, was fine too. In fact I had very few artifacts from that time, but still did not understand the importance at that moment! The artifacts were not completely disappeared, but few and far apart in time. I thought it was related to the video card Power States (many personalities in video PowerManagement' kext).

    Some say, that helped for the good work of the video card, in some forums (better to find the door, but not really knowing why)

    Have you noticed if your EDID data, are like to dump from Windows?

    I believe that the guidance should be improved, the testimonies of all can help

    Thanks to you, but the merit is not mine :lol:
     
  4. Micky1979

    Micky1979

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    440
    Mobo:
    HP DV7-6190sl
    CPU:
    2630qm
    Graphics:
    Intel HD3000+AMD 6770m
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Mar 21, 2012 at 11:56 AM #4
    Micky1979

    Micky1979

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    440
    Mobo:
    HP DV7-6190sl
    CPU:
    2630qm
    Graphics:
    Intel HD3000+AMD 6770m
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    If useful, to intercept the right Vendor / Model
    you can use System Preferences/Displays/Color/Profile, and search mmod
    and see what is using our display (thanks Flashe)
     

    Attached Files:

  5. eelhead

    eelhead Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    3,537
    Mobo:
    Asus Sabertooth X58
    CPU:
    i7 950 3.06GHz
    Graphics:
    Zotac GeForce GTX 670
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Mar 21, 2012 at 11:12 PM #5
    eelhead

    eelhead Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    3,537
    Mobo:
    Asus Sabertooth X58
    CPU:
    i7 950 3.06GHz
    Graphics:
    Zotac GeForce GTX 670
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Topic Moved from Customization to Graphics.
     
  6. jkbuha

    jkbuha

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011
    Messages:
    175
    Mobo:
    XPS 13 9360
    CPU:
    i7-7500U
    Graphics:
    HD 620
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mar 22, 2012 at 9:06 AM #6
    jkbuha

    jkbuha

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011
    Messages:
    175
    Mobo:
    XPS 13 9360
    CPU:
    i7-7500U
    Graphics:
    HD 620
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    EDID is the same for OSX and Windows - which leads me to believe that the EDID may be incorrect or the HD3000 kext is ultra-sensitive. One thing I noticed with the new EDID is that I don't have the option to select refresh rates anymore - maybe the refresh rate option was a symptom (or a cause) of the lockups.

    Device-Properties was also tried before, but never worked (I never managed to successfully change EDID settings via org.Boot or DSDT). At least it's working now with this method :)
     
  7. Micky1979

    Micky1979

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    440
    Mobo:
    HP DV7-6190sl
    CPU:
    2630qm
    Graphics:
    Intel HD3000+AMD 6770m
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Mar 22, 2012 at 10:52 AM #7
    Micky1979

    Micky1979

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    440
    Mobo:
    HP DV7-6190sl
    CPU:
    2630qm
    Graphics:
    Intel HD3000+AMD 6770m
    Mobile Phone:
    Android

    The right frequency, is included in the HEX string.
    Having the same thing on OSX and Windows I think is the best :headbang:

    I think your display is now very full work (or the least of your problems) :D


    For the efi string, i read that is sometimes ignored by OSX, however we have edited the file that can also serve for the future ..... ;)
     
  8. freddy3k

    freddy3k

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Mobo:
    MSI ph61-p33
    CPU:
    G2030
    Graphics:
    Nvidia 9800GT
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Jun 22, 2012 at 7:38 AM #8
    freddy3k

    freddy3k

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Mobo:
    MSI ph61-p33
    CPU:
    G2030
    Graphics:
    Nvidia 9800GT
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    this is well organized work of guide.. this really works on my DV6 1105ee on lion 10.7.2 up to 10.7.4 with garbled display but now all working with my internal LCD..

    [VIDEO]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p2F3TyxN4vw[/VIDEO]

    thanks and keep up the good work :)

    br
    freddy

    edited: just added a video shot.. am so happy after 2 months of searching and finally finished..
     
  9. Micky1979

    Micky1979

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    440
    Mobo:
    HP DV7-6190sl
    CPU:
    2630qm
    Graphics:
    Intel HD3000+AMD 6770m
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jun 22, 2012 at 7:53 AM #9
    Micky1979

    Micky1979

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    440
    Mobo:
    HP DV7-6190sl
    CPU:
    2630qm
    Graphics:
    Intel HD3000+AMD 6770m
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    I'm happy for you :thumbup:

    really cool, Lotsawater screensawer!
     
  10. philip_petev

    philip_petev

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,472
    Mobo:
    GA-H77N-WIFI F4
    CPU:
    i7-3770 @ 3.4 GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jul 17, 2012 at 9:49 AM #10
    philip_petev

    philip_petev

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,472
    Mobo:
    GA-H77N-WIFI F4
    CPU:
    i7-3770 @ 3.4 GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Actually, it's normal to get the same thing on Windows and OSX, if the display's EEPROM data is correctly flashed. And this statement:

    is not so true. I think the data for IODisplayEDID is as correct (or incorrect) as the data, dumped in Windows. I made a little research and found that OSX and Windows got the EDID information from the EEPROM directly. According to this document:

    if there is incorrect or incomplete EDID information stored in the EEPROM, you will get the same wrong values on both Windows and OSX. But for one thing you are right:

     

Share This Page