Contribute
Register

Overheating and graphics glitches

Joined
Aug 10, 2011
Messages
90
Motherboard
HP Probook 4330s
CPU
Intel i5-2430M
Graphics
AMD HD 6490M
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Sorry for OT, Is this temperature OK?

I have i5, BIOS F0A:

CPU after boot and in idle is still about 56° and fan have 3781rpm. (It's quite noisy, but I don't care about it...)

Is this normal? Fan control is working, at higher temps fan have higher rpm.

Thank you.
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2012
Messages
57
Motherboard
HP Probook 4530s QJ763AV
CPU
Intel i5 2430m 2.40 GHz
Graphics
Intel HD3000 / Radeon 7470M
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I made a clean install, and it seems when setting the GraphicsEnabler to Yes in org.chameleon.Boot.plist now I get the Radeon graphics recognized.

I just wish there was some way we could switch the display there instead of using the Intel 3000. Maybe it would solve the glitches and overheating? See my attachment:
radeon recognized.jpg
There is this gfxCardStatus that does GPU switching, but it says that it doesn't recognize my System as a compatible Macbook Pro. Its source code is here: https://github.com/codykrieger/gfxCardStatus

Perhaps there's a way we could use this or something similar to make it work?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,161
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ok, apparently my brain is not doing so good lately (2 small babies and a strict diet). :lol:
I tried making the Ubuntu Live USB (using unetbootin), can't boot to it, and furthermore, now BIOS is saying that it doesn't find an operating system so cannot boot. As tricky as it was going past that BIOS error, it reaches to the point of saying Boot Device not found (or missing), so now I can only boot through the Unibeast Installer USB.

I think I will not be able to manage to patch the DSDT myself (as foolish as it sounds), so what I'm thinking to do is making another clean install (that would be the 3rd one this week).

Now, this time, I would like to skip installing Probook Installer, and start experimenting little bit, because some things are working better without it I think. My question is, is there a way to make Atheros WiFi work, without installing anything else at first, so I can at least have Internet, while trying to make things work?

Forgive me for sounding foolish, this is not my week. :crazy:

If you have a Windows machine around, you could follow this guide for creating an Ubunutu USB: http://www.ubuntu.com/download/help/create-a-usb-stick-on-windows

To fix your boot error, you probably just need to re-install Chimera.

As far as having WiFi to experiment. At a minimum for WiFi, you need a proper DSDT, and depending on OS X version, some edits to the Info.plist. Unless you're pretty advanced, I wouldn't go down this route. Just use the ProBook installer... it really does contain the latest and best stuff for making your 4530s work.

What, exactly, do you think works better before installing with ProBook installer? And what options are you using on the Install?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,161
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Sorry for OT, Is this temperature OK?

I have i5, BIOS F0A:

CPU after boot and in idle is still about 56° and fan have 3781rpm. (It's quite noisy, but I don't care about it...)

Is this normal? Fan control is working, at higher temps fan have higher rpm.

Thank you.

That's a bit high for idle, but that could depend on a lot of things. Running a lot of background tasks (check Activity Monitor). Ambient temperature in the room?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,161
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I made a clean install, and it seems when setting the GraphicsEnabler to Yes in org.chameleon.Boot.plist now I get the Radeon graphics recognized.

I just wish there was some way we could switch the display there instead of using the Intel 3000. Maybe it would solve the glitches and overheating? See my attachment:
View attachment 33195
There is this gfxCardStatus that does GPU switching, but it says that it doesn't recognize my System as a compatible Macbook Pro. Its source code is here: https://github.com/codykrieger/gfxCardStatus

Perhaps there's a way we could use this or something similar to make it work?

I think Radeon graphics is a no-go up to this point.
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2012
Messages
57
Motherboard
HP Probook 4530s QJ763AV
CPU
Intel i5 2430m 2.40 GHz
Graphics
Intel HD3000 / Radeon 7470M
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
If you have a Windows machine around, you could follow this guide for creating an Ubunutu USB: http://www.ubuntu.com/download/help/create-a-usb-stick-on-windows

To fix your boot error, you probably just need to re-install Chimera.

As far as having WiFi to experiment. At a minimum for WiFi, you need a proper DSDT, and depending on OS X version, some edits to the Info.plist. Unless you're pretty advanced, I wouldn't go down this route. Just use the ProBook installer... it really does contain the latest and best stuff for making your 4530s work.

What, exactly, do you think works better before installing with ProBook installer? And what options are you using on the Install?
Well, after tinkering foolishly for a long time, the only thing that does work better is the graphics, there's no graphic glitches, and the fact that my Radeon card was at least recognized (which I fixed, even after Probook Installer, as you can see on my last post).

And if you google it, even real Macbook Pro users have terrible issues with glitches and overheating, so that kinda makes me think that maybe there's nothing wrong with the kexts and the Probook Installer afterall.
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2012
Messages
57
Motherboard
HP Probook 4530s QJ763AV
CPU
Intel i5 2430m 2.40 GHz
Graphics
Intel HD3000 / Radeon 7470M
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
That's a bit high for idle, but that could depend on a lot of things. Running a lot of background tasks (check Activity Monitor). Ambient temperature in the room?
That's how much I'm getting on idle as well, and that's even before I install any software.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2011
Messages
90
Motherboard
HP Probook 4330s
CPU
Intel i5-2430M
Graphics
AMD HD 6490M
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Temperature in my room is about 21°C , in Windows laptop is much quiter and air from fan is almost cold. In OSX air from fan is still quite warm...
Background processes are: iStat, Dropbox, Cloud app

So, what should I try to reduce temperature? Will BIOS update help? I don´t wanna underclock or disable turboost etc,..
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,161
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Temperature in my room is about 21°C , in Windows laptop is much quiter and air from fan is almost cold. In OSX air from fan is still quite warm...
Background processes are: iStat, Dropbox, Cloud app

So, what should I try to reduce temperature? Will BIOS update help? I don´t wanna underclock or disable turboost etc,..

If I was you, I'd eliminate background processes... It could be that one of those is poorly behaved. And if your laptop is generating that much heat, battery life must be quite bad as well (unless these background processes change their behavior on battery).

Failing that, I would probably do a fresh install just as a test to see how the system behaves without these add-ons installed...
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2011
Messages
90
Motherboard
HP Probook 4330s
CPU
Intel i5-2430M
Graphics
AMD HD 6490M
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Well, I have unnistalled iStat, disabled dropbox, cloud app and temperature in HW Monitor is 60° - thats too much, as I wanna use OSX as my main system...
I will probably try to create my own patched dsdt with you tutorial.

But before that I will update my BIOS to F.20 - If I do it, will OSX boot normally if I had in /Extra/ DSDT do BIOS F.0A ?

Thanks.
 
Top