Contribute
Register

Overclocking Sandy Bridge 2600K on Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Feb 2, 2011
Messages
6
Motherboard
Mountain Lion
CPU
Corei7 2600K
Graphics
GTX660 Ti
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hi Guys,

i've the following Problem. When i overclock my 2600K to 4.2 GHZ it will stuck on 1.6Ghz. In Windows runs everything fine, the turbo boost steps are working too (4,6 4,5 4,4 4,3 ghz) but in osx i will stuck on 1.6ghz. so the system is very slow. When i use the standart clockspeed everything runs fine. I've insertet the SSDT.aml for overclocked Corei7 and the system definition is Mac Pro 5,1. I hope anyone can help me. Thanks a lot.

When i get to sleep mode and then back the overclocking will work fine. Does any one knows a fix for this problem??

Thanks a lot!
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2011
Messages
6
Motherboard
Mountain Lion
CPU
Corei7 2600K
Graphics
GTX660 Ti
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
OK,

nobody can help i switched back to windows. The next Problem is that Graphicscardwill although reach her fullclockspeed after a standby. This is not good. So Windows 7 Prof. on my Workstation an i am good to go! May be i will try a new attemp when mavericks is out. Or anybody can give me a solution for my Probs
 
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
52
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370P D3
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So only because overclocking isn't working you're switching back to Windows? ;)

Anyways, what I make up about your problem is dat when you boot into OSX, your CPU is stuck at 1.6Ghz UNTIL you have been in in and out of sleep mode? That would be weird.

Can you give me more details:

- Are you only changing the bus speed and not the multiplier?
- Are you using Mulitbeast, or where did you get the SSDT?
- Which bootloader?
- What does your boot.plist look like?
- Using DSDT?

Last but not least, how are you measuring?
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2011
Messages
6
Motherboard
Mountain Lion
CPU
Corei7 2600K
Graphics
GTX660 Ti
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hello,

the ssdt.aml is the multibeast corei7 overclocked.
no i'm using no dsdt.aml.

here ist my bootlist:


<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>EthernetBuiltIn</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>GenerateCStates</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>GeneratePStates</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>GraphicsEnabler</key>
<string>No</string>
<key>Kernel</key>
<string>mach_kernel</string>
<key>Kernel Flags</key>
<string>darkwake=0</string>
<key>Legacy Logo</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>Timeout</key>
<string>2</string>
<key>UseKernelCache</key>
<string>Yes</string>
</dict>
</plist>
I'm using the bootloader from multibeast, this is chameleon when im right?
I only raised the multiplier because the 2600K is unlocked!

Thanks for the help
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2011
Messages
6
Motherboard
Mountain Lion
CPU
Corei7 2600K
Graphics
GTX660 Ti
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Overclocking works now. Mainboard Model stands in th topic Title ;-)
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2012
Messages
45
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
CPU
Intel Core i7 2700k
Graphics
AMD Radeon HDd 6870
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Can you explain what you did to make it work? I have a different Gigabyte board but over clocking issues.
 
Joined
May 14, 2011
Messages
10
Motherboard
ASUS P8P67 DELUXE (REV 3.0)
CPU
Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz (3.8GHz Turbo Boost) LGA 1155
Graphics
EVGA 01G-P3-1351-KR GeForce GTS 450
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
So I am running into a similar issue if anyone can help. Here is what I have and have done:

Asus p8p67 Deluxe Bios FW 2103
i7 2600k
Overclocked to 4.8 (turbo ratio)

Downloaded 10.9, used Unibeast to install, MultiBeast options: DSDT for my motherboard, RealTek ALC889, 10.9 Trim patch, FakeSMC Plugins and HWMonitor (how I know its not over clocking), NullCPUPowermanagement, USB3, Intel and Realtek NICs, Chimeria v2.2.1 (I think... whatever the default is), and GraphicsEnabler=Yes.

My system is working fine, but when I look in HWMonitor it only shows 1.6Ghz or 3.4Ghz. Anybody have any ideas why it won't step up the clock?

Thanks!!
 
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
52
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370P D3
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So I am running into a similar issue if anyone can help. Here is what I have and have done:

Asus p8p67 Deluxe Bios FW 2103
i7 2600k
Overclocked to 4.8 (turbo ratio)

Downloaded 10.9, used Unibeast to install, MultiBeast options: DSDT for my motherboard, RealTek ALC889, 10.9 Trim patch, FakeSMC Plugins and HWMonitor (how I know its not over clocking), NullCPUPowermanagement, USB3, Intel and Realtek NICs, Chimeria v2.2.1 (I think... whatever the default is), and GraphicsEnabler=Yes.

My system is working fine, but when I look in HWMonitor it only shows 1.6Ghz or 3.4Ghz. Anybody have any ideas why it won't step up the clock?

Thanks!!
Do you need the NullCPUPowerManagement? Else I would try without it. Also what helped for me is to change the Turbo multiplier per Core, like Core1 42x, Core2 42x, Core3 42x and Core4 43x.. so the last (or first) core to be different. Not sure your mobo supports it, nor why this solved it.
Also I would try without DSDT (just boot like DSDT=blabla)
 
Joined
May 14, 2011
Messages
10
Motherboard
ASUS P8P67 DELUXE (REV 3.0)
CPU
Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz (3.8GHz Turbo Boost) LGA 1155
Graphics
EVGA 01G-P3-1351-KR GeForce GTS 450
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Do you need the NullCPUPowerManagement? Else I would try without it. Also what helped for me is to change the Turbo multiplier per Core, like Core1 42x, Core2 42x, Core3 42x and Core4 43x.. so the last (or first) core to be different. Not sure your mobo supports it, nor why this solved it.
Also I would try without DSDT (just boot like DSDT=blabla)

So I tried killing the NullCPUPowerManagement, but I got a KP on boot up without it. What do you mean "try without DSDT" ? Sorry, but I am still a bit of a noob. Thanks for the help!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top