Contribute
Register

OS X 10.11 El Capitan setup guide for ASUS Rampage V Extreme x99 Haswell-E

Joined
Jun 12, 2016
Messages
97
Motherboard
Maximus XI Hero (WiFi)
CPU
9900K
Graphics
RX580
Mobile Phone
iOS
Xavi16, I use 1314 port (I need that in windows it work, thats why I do not turn off it in bios)

I use DVI port, and most likely I will not use HDMI and hdmi-audio soon.
No need to disable the USB port in the BIOS, now I have deactivated my corsair link in Mac but fully functional in Windows.
The reason why I ask the physical port is due to the cancellation of that port either from Clover or from DSDT, which only affect Mac and will not have any effect on any other USB 2.0 / 3.0 port, but only in which it is present the corsair link.

I'm working on my guide steps for a fully functioning, I'm solving and refining details, hard work and now health problems are affecting you can continue, I hope to soon.
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2015
Messages
20
Motherboard
Asus X99-A II
CPU
Intel I7-6900K
Graphics
Nvidia GTX 980ti
Hey Guys,

great Guide @Hans88. Thank you everybody for sharing your knowledge. I installed a 6900k with the Asus X99-A II. Since i got a lot of problems with the PM, the System use NULLCPUPowermanagement and uses C-States for Powerstepping which works ok for now. USB3 and the GFX1/HDAU via DSDT works fine.

My biggest issue is that the system wakes up 4 seconds after going to sleep. The only information i got is "kernel[0] <Notice>: Wake reason: ?" which is not really helpful.

Any idea where to start?

Thx Joe
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2016
Messages
97
Motherboard
Maximus XI Hero (WiFi)
CPU
9900K
Graphics
RX580
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hello @Absolutelight

Sorry've been a little sick and busy, but I'll try to help you.
You tell me you have your corsair link connected to ports 1114, right ?.
I assume you are using the USBInjector of ReHabMan? Ok, you can try to disable HS07 and HS11 these ports, these two correspond to sockect 1114, this deactivation should not have problems with Corsair Link.
Two methods:
Method 1-Edit your SSDT and DSDT to disable these ports.
Method 2-Intruducir the following argument Boot uia_exclude=HS07;HS11 in Clover.

Good luck and hope you will help.
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2015
Messages
20
Motherboard
Asus X99-A II
CPU
Intel I7-6900K
Graphics
Nvidia GTX 980ti
I found it. There was a USB Device (Fan Controller) on a Motherboard-USB Port that waked up the system while loosing the 12V in the going to sleep process. I disabled these internal USB Port in DSDT and sleep works. Funny thing is, when i wake up the system with the usb mouse the wake reason is still "?". Any idea why?
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2016
Messages
97
Motherboard
Maximus XI Hero (WiFi)
CPU
9900K
Graphics
RX580
Mobile Phone
iOS
I found it. There was a USB Device (Fan Controller) on a Motherboard-USB Port that waked up the system while loosing the 12V in the going to sleep process. I disabled these internal USB Port in DSDT and sleep works. Funny thing is, when i wake up the system with the usb mouse the wake reason is still "?". Any idea why?
You say you do not wake up using your mouse? and the space bar on your keyboard?
Possibly a problem with the configuration of your ports after going to sleep disables your USB, or perhaps changes in your DSDT are causing the problem.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2010
Messages
127
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage V Extreme
CPU
i7 5930k
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
thanks for this great guide .
i was fixing usb 3.0 but little confuse ,my problems are as follows.......

i replaced every EHC1 TO EH01 IN DSDT
i replaced every EHC2 TO EH02 IN DSDT
i replaced every XHCI TO XHC
BUT I WAS CONFUSED WITH XWAK METHOD

YOU SAID
(Compile the DSDT.dsl and save and replace both .dsl and .aml versions. Replace all the resulting DSDT and SSDTs’ (.aml versions only) in EFI>Clover>ACPI>Patched)

mean DSDT.dsl.aml , is it right

i have done editing clover plist here tell me if its right (ALSO BLUETOOTH AIRDROP PORTION) ,and also i will attach my dsdt and plist below.


ANOTHER QUESTIONS:-
1.Simple easy steps to make facetime working if possible thks in advance
2.Will AppleGraphicsDevicePolicy.kext method works same as dsdt method (just want to know if its fine)
3.Do i need to edit ssdt also
4.Is there any problem with mac pro 6,1 using facetime or imessage because when i installed first time imessage was working by default at imac 17 or 14 something
5.HWmonitor dosent monitor cpu
6.will apple magic trackpad work with this hakintosh
7.air drop sometimes work sometimes not

AND AT LAST I WOULD LIKE TO THANK YOU PERSONALLY BECAUSE OF THIS GUIDE I WAS ABLE TO USE MY X99 SUCCESS AND I GOT 28220 BENCH ON CINEBENCH AT 4.6 OVERCLOCK FIRST TIME IN MY LAST 2 YEARS MAY BE MORE SO THANKS.
First of all, thank you for these kind words, it means the reward I get behind the hard work put behind this and it's a pleasure to help this community!

For the XWAK method, look at the left bottom of the Maciasl app, you will see a search box called filter tree. This is the device search box, type XWAK there and it should get you to the XWAX section. Then just add the "Return (0)" line as showed in the guide.

.dsl and .aml are two different things. .dsl is the disassembled version of the file, whereas .aml is the final product that you're going to use. This means that any edits that you're going to do must be in the .dsl version. When you finish to edit the .dsl version you save it and save an .aml one as well. For example DSDT.dsl and DSDT.aml. Only the .aml version goes in Clover's EFI partition.

There are no simple steps to make FaceTime and iMessage work. The process requires a lot of attention. I have already provided a link in the guide to get them working. The link is http://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/how-to-fix-imessage.110471/ do read it very carefully, it's very important to allocate a lot of amount time for this chapter and understand it well. This is of no jokes here, it's very serious, I can even say the most serious one! Keep in mind that we are dealing with Apple's servers here and if they sense that something is fishy on the other end, they will block your account. And to sort the issue, I know the proceedings here and believe me you don't want to go through that!! For example; I can see in your provided config.plist, iin the SMBIOS parameters, your Serial Number begins with "C0" and this is ultimately wrong! A MacPro 6,1 (2013) cannot have a serial number that begins with "C0" because "C0" serials are for products that are manufactured in Ireland, if my memory is good. As we all know the MacPro 6,1 is manufactured in the U.S itself, in Texas. Therefore, when you will try to login in your iMessage the servers will detect something is wrong here as the serial number does not reflect the machine and due to the severe measures to fight against piracy, Apple will block your account on these services immediately. Don't rely on the serial number that the app generated for you, do your own researches. Trust me, go read that guide carefully.

Yes the AppleGraphicsDevicePolicy.kext method will work nearly same as the dsdt method but I do recommend only the DSDT method as it remains persistent even after updates whereas editing AppleGraphicsDevicePolicy.kext does not stay after updates.

Yes, SSDT is a must!

iMessage and FaceTime works with MacPro 6,1. But before changing SMBIOS model, logout of these services first.

HWMonitor works fine on my end and should on your's as well. Get your DSDT and SSDTs work fine before.

I don't know if the apple magic trackpad, I don't own one. But I think it should work, I don't see any reasons why it wouldn't.

AirDrop is not that steady and constant. Sometimes it takes much time (more than 30 seconds) to find the nearby devices. Don't worry this issue is normal, even for real Mac users. Don't forget so set your AirDrop to be discovered by "Everyone" though!!
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2010
Messages
127
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage V Extreme
CPU
i7 5930k
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hey Guys,

great Guide @Hans88. Thank you everybody for sharing your knowledge. I installed a 6900k with the Asus X99-A II. Since i got a lot of problems with the PM, the System use NULLCPUPowermanagement and uses C-States for Powerstepping which works ok for now. USB3 and the GFX1/HDAU via DSDT works fine.

My biggest issue is that the system wakes up 4 seconds after going to sleep. The only information i got is "kernel[0] <Notice>: Wake reason: ?" which is not really helpful.

Any idea where to start?

Thx Joe
I found it. There was a USB Device (Fan Controller) on a Motherboard-USB Port that waked up the system while loosing the 12V in the going to sleep process. I disabled these internal USB Port in DSDT and sleep works. Funny thing is, when i wake up the system with the usb mouse the wake reason is still "?". Any idea why?
First of all thanks a lot for these kind words Joe!!
With which method did you proceeded to turn off those specific USB ports?
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2010
Messages
127
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage V Extreme
CPU
i7 5930k
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hello @Absolutelight

Sorry've been a little sick and busy, but I'll try to help you.
You tell me you have your corsair link connected to ports 1114, right ?.
I assume you are using the USBInjector of ReHabMan? Ok, you can try to disable HS07 and HS11 these ports, these two correspond to sockect 1114, this deactivation should not have problems with Corsair Link.
Two methods:
Method 1-Edit your SSDT and DSDT to disable these ports.
Method 2-Intruducir the following argument Boot uia_exclude=HS07;HS11 in Clover.

Good luck and hope you will help.
AbsoluteLight your are still providing the device's properties here and it is not what is needed nor what's written in the manual or what does windows report. All of these doesn't matter here. All that matters is what OS X sees and how it sees it. That's why I've asked you for the device path and how it was reported in the IORegistryExplorer.app. Have a look at the screenshots in the guide how to find a device path, do the same way for the Corsair device. For example, if I was about to look for my "mouse, it would look like this:

Screen Shot 2016-07-07 at 10.46.12 PM.jpg


You will notice here, highlighted in red, that the device (mouse) is plugged in "HS05" port. This is what I was asking.

Anyway, get this info and use Method 2. No need to edit DSDT for this.
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2014
Messages
18
Motherboard
Rampge V Extreme
CPU
i7 5820K
Graphics
Geforce Gtx Titan X
Mobile Phone
iOS
First of all, thank you for these kind words, it means the reward I get behind the hard work put behind this and it's a pleasure to help this community!

For the XWAK method, look at the left bottom of the Maciasl app, you will see a search box called filter tree. This is the device search box, type XWAK there and it should get you to the XWAX section. Then just add the "Return (0)" line as showed in the guide.

.dsl and .aml are two different things. .dsl is the disassembled version of the file, whereas .aml is the final product that you're going to use. This means that any edits that you're going to do must be in the .dsl version. When you finish to edit the .dsl version you save it and save an .aml one as well. For example DSDT.dsl and DSDT.aml. Only the .aml version goes in Clover's EFI partition.

There are no simple steps to make FaceTime and iMessage work. The process requires a lot of attention. I have already provided a link in the guide to get them working. The link is http://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/how-to-fix-imessage.110471/ do read it very carefully, it's very important to allocate a lot of amount time for this chapter and understand it well. This is of no jokes here, it's very serious, I can even say the most serious one! Keep in mind that we are dealing with Apple's servers here and if they sense that something is fishy on the other end, they will block your account. And to sort the issue, I know the proceedings here and believe me you don't want to go through that!! For example; I can see in your provided config.plist, iin the SMBIOS parameters, your Serial Number begins with "C0" and this is ultimately wrong! A MacPro 6,1 (2013) cannot have a serial number that begins with "C0" because "C0" serials are for products that are manufactured in Ireland, if my memory is good. As we all know the MacPro 6,1 is manufactured in the U.S itself, in Texas. Therefore, when you will try to login in your iMessage the servers will detect something is wrong here as the serial number does not reflect the machine and due to the severe measures to fight against piracy, Apple will block your account on these services immediately. Don't rely on the serial number that the app generated for you, do your own researches. Trust me, go read that guide carefully.

Yes the AppleGraphicsDevicePolicy.kext method will work nearly same as the dsdt method but I do recommend only the DSDT method as it remains persistent even after updates whereas editing AppleGraphicsDevicePolicy.kext does not stay after updates.

Yes, SSDT is a must!

iMessage and FaceTime works with MacPro 6,1. But before changing SMBIOS model, logout of these services first.

HWMonitor works fine on my end and should on your's as well. Get your DSDT and SSDTs work fine before.

I don't know if the apple magic trackpad, I don't own one. But I think it should work, I don't see any reasons why it wouldn't.

AirDrop is not that steady and constant. Sometimes it takes much time (more than 30 seconds) to find the nearby devices. Don't worry this issue is normal, even for real Mac users. Don't forget so set your AirDrop to be discovered by "Everyone" though!!
thnks for reply
actually i was able to edit dsdt and plist by spending hours to learn this with many mistakes,but as people say doing mistakes lead us to right path,so i'm done with my usb 3.0.
ssdt are same that i generated.
its all wrking fine with sleep and awake.

but my system faces little corruption in vlc and while accessing folders as then slow down little,but when my system stays off for few hours it becomes normal and run like charm(i thk it's system heatup problem).

i have done one mistake i called apple about imessage (but i didn't give them hakintosh serial ,i gave them the orignal from orignal macbook)and they said please try after 24 hours and i provided them imessage code .they said it will take 24 hours to register in their database.so what do i do now ,i should proceed with login or generate right serial from mac pro 6,1 or use present imac14,2 serial?
if i change ,then do i need to call apple again to give them new code?
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2014
Messages
18
Motherboard
Rampge V Extreme
CPU
i7 5820K
Graphics
Geforce Gtx Titan X
Mobile Phone
iOS
my airdrop worked after i edited plist in right method but only for one time on next two restarts i'ts not working at all
 
Top