Contribute
Register

Optiplex 790 cant get to Installation.......

Joined
Dec 8, 2012
Messages
12
Motherboard
Dell Optiplex 790
CPU
i5-2500
Graphics
ATI HD5450
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Android
Hi Guys,

I have really tried to search a solution for this and have come up unsuccessful with all.....

-x
-x -v
-x -v PCIRootUID=1
-x -v PCIRootUID=1 GraphicsEnabler=No
-x -v PCIRootUID=0
-x -v PCIRootUID=0 GraphicsEnabler=No

I was connecting direct to Motherboard VGA and as it didn't work saw I need a discreet Video Card (HD5450)..... tried and failed

using -v I can see I am hanging at the same place everytime...

BootCacheControl: could not unlink playlist.....
Bug: launchctl.c:2325 (23930):30: (d..........
systemShutdow false
ACPI_SMC_PlatformPlugin::start..................timed out

I am running:

Optiplex 790
i5-2550K (or something like this)
4GB RAM
1TB HDD (New)
ATI HD5450 (connected via HDMI(PC-end) to DVI(Monitor)
Mouse
Keyboard


Help would be greatly appreciated....I have reset my PC about 20 times today trying all the difference possibilities aove..I am starting to worry a little about my HD (even though its new).....

BTW I have a Macbook Pro 13 and am using the Snow Leopard install disk from it.....is it posible this is the problem??


Thanks in advance for everyones help...
 

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
22,771
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7-F7
CPU
W3670
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
iMac
need motherboard specs and the CPU model number.
 
Joined
May 21, 2010
Messages
4,146
Motherboard
GA-EX58-UD3R-SLI
CPU
XEON x5570
Graphics
NVidia 9600GT
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
SE
Mobile Phone
Android
Hi Guys,

I have really tried to search a solution for this and have come up unsuccessful with all.....

-x
-x -v
-x -v PCIRootUID=1
-x -v PCIRootUID=1 GraphicsEnabler=No
-x -v PCIRootUID=0
-x -v PCIRootUID=0 GraphicsEnabler=No

I was connecting direct to Motherboard VGA and as it didn't work saw I need a discreet Video Card (HD5450)..... tried and failed

using -v I can see I am hanging at the same place everytime...

BootCacheControl: could not unlink playlist.....
Bug: launchctl.c:2325 (23930):30: (d..........
systemShutdow false
ACPI_SMC_PlatformPlugin::start..................timed out

I am running:

Optiplex 790
i5-2550K (or something like this)
4GB RAM
1TB HDD (New)
ATI HD5450 (connected via HDMI(PC-end) to DVI(Monitor)
Mouse
Keyboard

Help would be greatly appreciated....I have reset my PC about 20 times today trying all the difference possibilities aove..I am starting to worry a little about my HD (even though its new).....

BTW I have a Macbook Pro 13 and am using the Snow Leopard install disk from it.....is it posible this is the problem??
Thanks in advance for everyones help...
benjaminp

First off the DVD you have will not provide you with all of the drivers that you need for your install - so you cant use the MBP DVD to install OSX Snow Leopard - you will need the retail copy that Apple is selling online,

So you errors you are describing are not relative until you have the white dvd of Snow Leopard.

Also if your 1 tb HD is going to be used for dual booting you will need to reinstal windows to it - your windows will need to be changed to use ACHI not IDE in the Registry - Microsoft has a program to do this - then you change the settings in your BIOS to ahci from IDE so that you can boot with this setting - this is needed for you to install OSX onto a clone hardware. (Apple Default requirement)
Also you will need to have only SATA hard drive and dvd. IDE hardware is no longer used by Apple.

If your serious about this I suggest an older hard drive for this experiment to install OSX too.

One of our senior moderators know as Going Bald has a Dual Boot section w instructions on how to do this - suggest you find that and read up.

As it appears that your CPU is a sandy Bridge unit you will need to use an additional program to complete the install know as update helper -

See these links
Simplest Mac OS X Installation Guide - for 10.6.x
http://www.tonymacx86.com/43-simplest-mac-os-x-installation-guide.html
or
http://www.tonymacx86.com/section/3-guides.html

also
multibooting-novice
http://www.tonymacx86.com/snow-leopard-desktop-guides/18658-guide-multibooting-novice-updated-3-12-see-log.html

iBoot and Multibeast - TonyMacx86 guide
http://tonymacx86.blogspot.com/2010/04/iboot-multibeast-install-mac-os-x-on.html

And Also ---
Mac OSC 10.6.8 update - and Update Helper for 155 Sandy Bridge
http://tonymacx86.blogspot.com/2011/06/mac-os-x-1068-update.html
http://tonymacx86.blogspot.com/2011/07/get-ready-for-os-x-lion-update-to-1068.html

TonyMac listing of alternative sources for information you may find usefull
http://legacy.tonymacx86.com/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=2130

TonyMac listing of supported video cards that you may find usefull
http://legacy.tonymacx86.com/wiki/index.php?title=Graphics_Card_Database
fully-compatible-nvidia-graphics-cards
http://tonymacx86.blogspot.com/2010/11/fully-compatible-nvidia-graphics-cards.html


Oh and One more ....
Something usefull about command line switchs one needs to know !
http://www.ihackintosh.com/2009/05/bootloader-acpi-flags-while-darwin-bootloader/
This is from 2008 some of these have changed but it still a good read,
http://news.metaparadigma.de/osx86-flags-and-parameters-for-darwin-bootloader-104/

Board index » The Build » Snow Leopard Installation » 10.6 Desktop Support
http://legacy.tonymacx86.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=9541

Update helper - use before 10.6.8 install
http://tonymacx86.blogspot.com/2011/07/get-ready-for-os-x-lion-update-to-1068.html

Installation Troubleshooting Tips & General Recommendations
http://legacy.tonymacx86.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=9541
http://legacy.tonymacx86.com/wiki/index.php/Troubleshooting
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2012
Messages
12
Motherboard
Dell Optiplex 790
CPU
i5-2500
Graphics
ATI HD5450
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Android
Danke Totenkopf :)

I am SATA all the way!

Also I do intend to dual boot OSX and Windows 8.... I have read conflicting things, some say to install OSX first then Windows...but If I understand you correctly, your saying to do it the other way!? I'm gonna go your way, as you have answered to my situation...

I have a few HD's lying around, I'll give an oldie a go first then. Here I was thinking I could have this done today, 8 hours later and no further..I'm very thankful for your help!!!!

More reading to go....I know what im doing next weekend!!! :)
 
Joined
May 21, 2010
Messages
4,146
Motherboard
GA-EX58-UD3R-SLI
CPU
XEON x5570
Graphics
NVidia 9600GT
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
SE
Mobile Phone
Android

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
22,771
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7-F7
CPU
W3670
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
iMac
Danke Totenkopf :)

I am SATA all the way!

Also I do intend to dual boot OSX and Windows 8.... I have read conflicting things, some say to install OSX first then Windows...but If I understand you correctly, your saying to do it the other way!? I'm gonna go your way, as you have answered to my situation...

I have a few HD's lying around, I'll give an oldie a go first then. Here I was thinking I could have this done today, 8 hours later and no further..I'm very thankful for your help!!!!

More reading to go....I know what im doing next weekend!!! :)
Dual booting OS X and Win7 on separate HDDs (which I recommend you do) is simple. Connect 1 HDD, install OS. Shutdown, disconnect HDD. Connect blank HDD. Install the other OS. Shutdown, connect the first HDD, boot to BIOS and make the OS X HDD first in HDD boot order.

For dual booting on the same HDD, takes a little more work. See Win7 and Lion on same HDD - http://www.tonymacx86.com/snow-leopard-desktop-guides/18658-guide-multibooting-novice-updated-3-12-see-log.html It works the same way with ML.
Are you installing Win8 with the upgrade download or with the OEM Builders full install DVD? If using the upgrade, I would recommend you install Win7 on the first partition, upgrade to Win8, then install ML.
When setting up Win8, if you want your clock correct, tell Win8 you live in UTC 0 timezone. Otherwise it keeps setting the BIOS clock to local timezone and the RealTimeIsUniversal fix in regedit doesn't seem to work.
 
Joined
May 21, 2010
Messages
4,146
Motherboard
GA-EX58-UD3R-SLI
CPU
XEON x5570
Graphics
NVidia 9600GT
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
SE
Mobile Phone
Android
Danke Totenkopf :)

I am SATA all the way!

Also I do intend to dual boot OSX and Windows 8.... I have read conflicting things, some say to install OSX first then Windows...but If I understand you correctly, your saying to do it the other way!? I'm gonna go your way, as you have answered to my situation...

I have a few HD's lying around, I'll give an oldie a go first then. Here I was thinking I could have this done today, 8 hours later and no further..I'm very thankful for your help!!!!

More reading to go....I know what im doing next weekend!!! :)
benjamip

As GB stated doing it dual boot is best with two HD's... Also not sure why in the Gods of Microsoft did what they did for W8 as they Pulled the Windows Start icon or the Run function as these are Missing in W8
I know a lot of IT staff who use these two features daily and will not inform their management to recommend that they deploy W8 and in My minds eye this is the os for the surface not for the desktop - rumor has it that these items return w SP1 for W8,
So my advice is to install only W7 now and wait and see what MS does w W8 for desktop after SP1.

As to 8 hours yes it can be done but all of the items you have need to be Hack Able and as always I suggest doing a lot of research ( reading) - funny story - my first working hack was almost 3 weeks but I was a n00b and didn't use the forum -the biggest thing I didn't do was to keep a journal for my progress and steps taken - so I had to do it several times over - but the better thing is that that first hack still works almost two years later.

Also when you partition your Hack HD for mac make several partitions the same size that way you can use a program called Carbon Copy CLoner to dupe your HD before any major updates.
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2012
Messages
12
Motherboard
Dell Optiplex 790
CPU
i5-2500
Graphics
ATI HD5450
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Android
Dual booting OS X and Win7 on separate HDDs (which I recommend you do) is simple. Connect 1 HDD, install OS. Shutdown, disconnect HDD. Connect blank HDD. Install the other OS. Shutdown, connect the first HDD, boot to BIOS and make the OS X HDD first in HDD boot order.

For dual booting on the same HDD, takes a little more work. See Win7 and Lion on same HDD - http://www.tonymacx86.com/snow-leopard-desktop-guides/18658-guide-multibooting-novice-updated-3-12-see-log.html It works the same way with ML.
Are you installing Win8 with the upgrade download or with the OEM Builders full install DVD? If using the upgrade, I would recommend you install Win7 on the first partition, upgrade to Win8, then install ML.
When setting up Win8, if you want your clock correct, tell Win8 you live in UTC 0 timezone. Otherwise it keeps setting the BIOS clock to local timezone and the RealTimeIsUniversal fix in regedit doesn't seem to work.
Hi Going Bald,

Unfortunately technically my PC (being a slim version of the unit) only allows placement for 1 HDD..... without going 'Macgyver' on it....

I have bought the Windows 8 Pro ver.. from the Microsoft store. I actually did it to sidestep the fact I don't have a Windows 7 key.... I have an old Dell Windows 7 Install CD (dont know where the key is) which I installed and you have 3 days to register and then directly upgraded it to Windows 8. Cost me the 29euro as apposed to the 100 odd euro for a 7 license and the 29 again for W8...

by ML you mean Mountain Lion?! to be honest I'm not a big fan of the newer releases of OSX... All this iOS/Twitter/Facebook intergration does nothing for me. To be honest I'm more than happy with Snow Leopard. I'll do the COMPLETE reading over the next days, which was my mistake in the first place..... lesson learnt!

Thanks for the clock tip!
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2012
Messages
12
Motherboard
Dell Optiplex 790
CPU
i5-2500
Graphics
ATI HD5450
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Android
benjamip

As GB stated doing it dual boot is best with two HD's... Also not sure why in the Gods of Microsoft did what they did for W8 as they Pulled the Windows Start icon or the Run function as these are Missing in W8
I know a lot of IT staff who use these two features daily and will not inform their management to recommend that they deploy W8 and in My minds eye this is the os for the surface not for the desktop - rumor has it that these items return w SP1 for W8,
So my advice is to install only W7 now and wait and see what MS does w W8 for desktop after SP1.

As to 8 hours yes it can be done but all of the items you have need to be Hack Able and as always I suggest doing a lot of research ( reading) - funny story - my first working hack was almost 3 weeks but I was a n00b and didn't use the forum -the biggest thing I didn't do was to keep a journal for my progress and steps taken - so I had to do it several times over - but the better thing is that that first hack still works almost two years later.

Also when you partition your Hack HD for mac make several partitions the same size that way you can use a program called Carbon Copy CLoner to dupe your HD before any major updates.
Hi Totenkopf,

Funny you say this...me being exactly one of these IT staff types :) (We only depolyed W7 at the beginning of this year, I too wont be recommending it, well not yet anyway).. First thing I did was install the Start button app to bring it back. Its still not perfect, as it doesn't have the ability to pin/unpin apps to it. But I have and have usually just pinned my most used apps to the taskbar anyway. I guess its more there for nostalgic reasons, oh and for my wife who isn't very custom to change for when she uses the PC.

As far as just installing Win7, my problem is I don't have a working key for it. I was trying to do it the cheap way by installing 7 with my DVD and upgrading straight to my cheap copy of Windows 8.... Thought it was a good plan actually (pats himself on the back..lol)

Good tip on the Journal and I will be partitioning 150-200GB for OS' and the rest as storage...

Thanks again guys!
 
Top