Contribute
Register

OpenCore Big Sur clean install reboot loop

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Dec 28, 2013
Messages
3
Motherboard
Gigabyte H370M DS3H
CPU
Intel Core i5-8400
Graphics
Radeon RX 580
Hello guys,
sorry to bother u, but I can't find an answer to my problem anywhere.
So I have an OpenCore 0.6.3 that is working perfectly fine with Catalina (except that shutdown causes reboot). Im now trying to install macOS Big Sur to my computer to a new APFS container. After I load to usb installer, format drive and install it, I'm getting new boot option called Install macOS (or something like it). After choosing it, Im getting a boot logo with progress bar, after couple minutes it blinks, a cursor appears on a screen (boot logo and progress bar is still there) and then it reboots.
This is happening every time. When I have Catalina updates and have an Install macOS boot option for it, everything went fine btw.
When I'm trying to update my Catalina to Big Sur, the graphic installer works, it reboots, but I'm not even getting the Install macOS boot option.

Here is my OpenCore configuration, can u please help me with it?

Thanks a lot in advance
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    17.5 KB · Views: 137
Joined
Jan 4, 2020
Messages
2
Motherboard
X570
CPU
3700x
Graphics
5700 xt
I’m getting exactly the same thing! Opencore has served me well through so many updates but 0.6.3 is not working for me. I’m on Haswell.
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2012
Messages
2,607
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z590 AORUS MASTER
CPU
i7-11700k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@strimban - Had a quick look at your config.plist and quite frankly it's a mess, you need to reed OC Guide to understand exactly the requirements. Don't just add kexts, files or make deletions you don't understand.
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2020-11-18 at 22.31.12.png
    Screenshot 2020-11-18 at 22.31.12.png
    166.2 KB · Views: 1,216
  • Screenshot 2020-11-18 at 22.33.20.png
    Screenshot 2020-11-18 at 22.33.20.png
    218.7 KB · Views: 1,208
Joined
Dec 28, 2013
Messages
3
Motherboard
Gigabyte H370M DS3H
CPU
Intel Core i5-8400
Graphics
Radeon RX 580
@strimban - Had a quick look at your config.plist and quite frankly it's a mess, you need to reed OC Guide to understand exactly the requirements. Don't just add kexts, files or make deletions you don't understand.
thx, I just paid some guy to make this, if u say its garbage, maybe we can arrange something?
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2012
Messages
2,607
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z590 AORUS MASTER
CPU
i7-11700k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I’m getting exactly the same thing! Opencore has served me well through so many updates but 0.6.3 is not working for me. I’m on Haswell.
Hi - When you updated to 0.6.3 did you by any chance use OC Configurator? Because updating should have been easy. That app has a tendency to add unwanted data if you don't carefully check the final file before committing to your EFI Folder.
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2012
Messages
2,607
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z590 AORUS MASTER
CPU
i7-11700k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@strimban - I just searched here on T/M and found this for you. Copy this EFI Folder to the EFI partition of a spare USB Drive and boot off it to see if it will boot your system, if it does then copy it to the EFI Partition of you main Drive. Please don't let that person near your machine again because all he is doing is selling you a dream and may end up doing more harm than good.
 

Attachments

  • EFI.zip(GA H370M).zip
    2.1 MB · Views: 193
Joined
Dec 28, 2013
Messages
3
Motherboard
Gigabyte H370M DS3H
CPU
Intel Core i5-8400
Graphics
Radeon RX 580
@strimban - I just searched here on T/M and found this for you. Copy this EFI Folder to the EFI partition of a spare USB Drive and boot off it to see if it will boot your system, if it does then copy it to the EFI Partition of you main Drive. Please don't let that person near your machine again because all he is doing is selling you a dream and may end up doing more harm than good.
Hi, thanks a lot for help, unfortunately I wasn't able to boot anything with this config, but I cleaned my config, so now its actually working much faster, here it is.

Unfortunately I still can't install Big Sur, but I was able to make some photos.

So the first one, is just on this config I attached,1.PNG
second one, I tried to add vsmcgen=1 boot argument. (im using original apple Broadcom card)
2.PNG

Please help
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    13.7 KB · Views: 89
Joined
Feb 26, 2011
Messages
127
Motherboard
ASUS PRIME X299-A II
CPU
i9 10940X
Graphics
AMD Radeon RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So this is exactly what my machine is currently doing when I try and boot Big Sur Installer after the first reboot. Only I have followed the Dortania guide word for word, have a complete set of custom SSDT patches for my machine and a properly configured config.plist - -everything is working flawlessly in Catalina with the exception of NVRAM - I have an SSDT for it and the device shows up in IoregExplorer but otherwise doesn't seem to hold values.

I get the same loop at the same point as the OP very similar debug/verbose output prior to the reboot too.

Im suspecting NVRAM as the culprit possibly to do with secure boot - perhaps with a cleaned up install and a properly configured EFI @strimban might get up and running ok. For me, I think I need to work on fixing or emulating NVRAM correctly.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top