OpenCL Problem with my gtx 560 ti and Mountain Lion

Discussion in 'Graphics' started by Baoren, Jul 27, 2012.

  1. Baoren

    Baoren

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    273
    Mobo:
    Asrock z77 Professional M
    CPU:
    i7 3770k
    Graphics:
    EVGA gtx 760 Ti 4GB
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jul 27, 2012 at 3:00 PM #1
    Baoren

    Baoren

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    273
    Mobo:
    Asrock z77 Professional M
    CPU:
    i7 3770k
    Graphics:
    EVGA gtx 760 Ti 4GB
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    [SOLVED] OpenCL Problem with my gtx 560 ti and Mountain Lion

    I installed Mountain Lion easily, all went smooth, and my gtx 560 ti was recognized natively. However I found problems running luxmark, it gives some error (I'll post a screenshot later, not at home right now). I foundon netkas site that there is a problems with gtx with more than 2gb of ram, which could be fixed by an easy hexadecimal coding. My card is a 2gb version, so I tryed this method, but nothing changed.

    any idea?

    EDIT: adding screenshot
     

    Attached Files:

    • luxmark.jpg  (105.6 KB, 1,460 views)
  2. Baoren

    Baoren

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    273
    Mobo:
    Asrock z77 Professional M
    CPU:
    i7 3770k
    Graphics:
    EVGA gtx 760 Ti 4GB
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jul 27, 2012 at 6:30 PM #2
    Baoren

    Baoren

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    273
    Mobo:
    Asrock z77 Professional M
    CPU:
    i7 3770k
    Graphics:
    EVGA gtx 760 Ti 4GB
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    can anyone help?
     
  3. darukaru

    darukaru

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD5 TH
    CPU:
    Core i5-6600K @ 4.6GHz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1080
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 27, 2012 at 10:41 PM #3
    darukaru

    darukaru

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD5 TH
    CPU:
    Core i5-6600K @ 4.6GHz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1080
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I'm actually seeing the same thing on a 1GB 560Ti, so it's not the RAM problem.
    It sees the OpenCL device, gets ready to render, then fails with

    2012-07-27 17:35:56 - [RenderEngine] [PathOCLRenderThread::0] Compiling kernels
    2012-07-27 17:35:56 - [RenderEngine] [PathOCLRenderThread::0] PathOCL kernel compilation error ERROR clBuildProgram[CL_BUILD_PROGRAM_FAILURE]: Error getting function data from server
    2012-07-27 17:35:56 - RUNTIME ERROR: PathOCL kernel compilation error


    It might be a bug in LuxMark or it might be some new tweak in 10.8's OpenCL implementation, or it might be something in the Fermi driver that needs to be patched.
     
  4. magnus71

    magnus71

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Mobo:
    Asus Z97 Pro
    CPU:
    i7-4790k@4.8GHz, Corsair H80i
    Graphics:
    Titan X (Pascal)
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, Plus, Power Mac, Quadra, Workgroup Server
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS, Windows Phone, Other
    Jul 27, 2012 at 11:11 PM #4
    magnus71

    magnus71

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Mobo:
    Asus Z97 Pro
    CPU:
    i7-4790k@4.8GHz, Corsair H80i
    Graphics:
    Titan X (Pascal)
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, Plus, Power Mac, Quadra, Workgroup Server
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS, Windows Phone, Other
    I got same problem.

    I used in multibeast:

    10.7.2+combo opencl enabler

    This combo patch is for 10.7.2 or later. /System/Library/Extensions/GeForceGLDriver.bundle is patched using info from netkas.org and cmf. /System/Library/Extensions/NVDAGF100Hal.kext/Contents/Info.plist is patched using MacMan's research.

    but luxmark 2.0 still returns a red error
     
  5. Baoren

    Baoren

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    273
    Mobo:
    Asrock z77 Professional M
    CPU:
    i7 3770k
    Graphics:
    EVGA gtx 760 Ti 4GB
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jul 27, 2012 at 11:34 PM #5
    Baoren

    Baoren

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    273
    Mobo:
    Asrock z77 Professional M
    CPU:
    i7 3770k
    Graphics:
    EVGA gtx 760 Ti 4GB
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    found the clue, at least I think. Problem is not opencl. It is enabled, but just for cards based on gf100-110 (gtx 570-580-470-480). Like in lion, you have to patch libclh.dylib inside GeForceGLDriver.bundle. It was well explained by ideas_man69 in this post

    in terminal, launch this command:

    Code (Text):
    sudo perl -pi -e '$c++ if s|\x8b\x87\x1c\x0c\x00\x00\x89\x06\x8b\x87\x20\x0c\x00\x00\x89\x02|\x31\xc0\xff\xc0\xff\xc0\x89\x06\x31\xc0\x89\x02\x90\x90\x90\x90|; END { unless ($c) { warn "No substitutions made\n"; $? =1 } }' /System/Library/Extensions/GeForceGLDriver.bundle/Contents/MacOS/libclh.dylib
    it fixed it for me.
     
  6. qb84

    qb84

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    Messages:
    99
    Mobo:
    Z68MA-D2H-B3 (UEFI BIOS)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 (2500K) 3.30 Ghz
    Graphics:
    Geforce GTX 560 Ti 1GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 28, 2012 at 12:47 AM #6
    qb84

    qb84

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    Messages:
    99
    Mobo:
    Z68MA-D2H-B3 (UEFI BIOS)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 (2500K) 3.30 Ghz
    Graphics:
    Geforce GTX 560 Ti 1GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Awesome, it works!

    Thanks!
     
  7. darukaru

    darukaru

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD5 TH
    CPU:
    Core i5-6600K @ 4.6GHz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1080
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 28, 2012 at 3:45 AM #7
    darukaru

    darukaru

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD5 TH
    CPU:
    Core i5-6600K @ 4.6GHz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1080
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Yup, confirmed working after patch as well. Thanks for doing the research! I looked around but wasn't able to find anything conclusive.

    995 on Sala, 7569 on LuxBall HDR.
     
  8. magnus71

    magnus71

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Mobo:
    Asus Z97 Pro
    CPU:
    i7-4790k@4.8GHz, Corsair H80i
    Graphics:
    Titan X (Pascal)
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, Plus, Power Mac, Quadra, Workgroup Server
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS, Windows Phone, Other
    Jul 30, 2012 at 3:59 PM #8
    magnus71

    magnus71

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Mobo:
    Asus Z97 Pro
    CPU:
    i7-4790k@4.8GHz, Corsair H80i
    Graphics:
    Titan X (Pascal)
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, Plus, Power Mac, Quadra, Workgroup Server
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS, Windows Phone, Other
  9. 0mar32

    0mar32

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Mobo:
    ASUS P7P55D-E PRO
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 760 @ 4 GHz
    Graphics:
    MSI Geforce GTX 760 2GB Hawk Edition
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 30, 2012 at 6:50 PM #9
    0mar32

    0mar32

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Mobo:
    ASUS P7P55D-E PRO
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 760 @ 4 GHz
    Graphics:
    MSI Geforce GTX 760 2GB Hawk Edition
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I can confirm that this method is working 100% as a matter of fact this is the first one that has worked for me until now, I'm actually excited to have OpenCL for the first time on my hackintosh!
     
  10. betacode

    betacode

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    Mavericks 10.9.2
    CPU:
    i7 3820QM/HM77
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000/Nvidia GT 650m 2Gb
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 30, 2012 at 11:35 PM #10
    betacode

    betacode

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    Mavericks 10.9.2
    CPU:
    i7 3820QM/HM77
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000/Nvidia GT 650m 2Gb
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Thanks for doing the hard work!

    Confirmed on my Hackintosh!! Upgraded to ML from 10.7.2 and my EVGA 560ti worked OOB but openCL was broke. Now it lives again!! Thanks!
     

Share This Page