Contribute
Register

OpenCL not working with Evga GTX 670 Superclocked+ 4GB and ML 10.8.1

Joined
Apr 22, 2012
Messages
347
Motherboard
ASRock Z77 Professional-M
CPU
Intel i7-3770K (4.2 GHz)
Graphics
EVGA GTX 670 4GB Superclocked+
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Classic, Performa, Power Mac, Xserve
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hello Everyone,

I''ve noticed that OpenCL appears not to be working even though I installed the patch with MultiBeast 5.0.2. I'm running 10.8.1 Mountain Lion (the public release, downloaded today). Attached below is a screenshot of LuxMark v2.0 showing that I have no OpenCL device's selected or available.

Any help to get this working would be greatly appreciated!

LuxMark v2.0.jpg

Thanks,

Mrengles
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2012
Messages
347
Motherboard
ASRock Z77 Professional-M
CPU
Intel i7-3770K (4.2 GHz)
Graphics
EVGA GTX 670 4GB Superclocked+
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Classic, Performa, Power Mac, Xserve
Mobile Phone
iOS
I just wanted to add my boot.plist incase this could be causing the issue.

Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
    <key>EthernetBuiltIn</key>
    <string>Yes</string>
    <key>GenerateCStates</key>
    <string>Yes</string>
    <key>GeneratePStates</key>
    <string>Yes</string>
    <key>Graphics Mode</key>
    <string>1920x1080x32</string>
    <key>Kernel</key>
    <string>mach_kernel</string>
    <key>Kernel Flags</key>
    <string>darkwake=0</string>
    <key>Legacy Logo</key>
    <string>Yes</string>
    <key>Timeout</key>
    <string>3</string>
    <key>UseKernelCache</key>
    <string>Yes</string>
</dict>
</plist>
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2012
Messages
347
Motherboard
ASRock Z77 Professional-M
CPU
Intel i7-3770K (4.2 GHz)
Graphics
EVGA GTX 670 4GB Superclocked+
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Classic, Performa, Power Mac, Xserve
Mobile Phone
iOS
Here is the solution to my problem posted above, and anyone else with a Nvidia GeForce GTX 670, 680, 690 with more then 2GB video RAM. My card has 4GB on onboard video RAM.

http://netkas.org/?p=1161

-Mrengles

PS. Make note of the permissions before patching "OpenCL", you might need to correct/change them after you go through the process hex-editing. If the permissions are wrong, you might get errors, and have trouble rebooting. I propagated permissions to the enclosed items of the directory "Folder" containing the original OpenCL file.

If you don't know what I'm talking about, I suggest you take a look at "Get Info" Command+I under the "Edit" menu in Finder.

Best of Luck to you!
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2011
Messages
318
Motherboard
ASUS X99 A-II
CPU
i7-6950X
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mobile Phone
Android
Here is the solution to my problem posted above, and anyone else with a Nvidia GeForce GTX 670, 680, 690 with more then 2GB video RAM. My card has 4GB on onboard video RAM.

http://netkas.org/?p=1161

-Mrengles

PS. Make note of the permissions before patching "OpenCL", you might need to correct/change them after you go through the process hex-editing. If the permissions are wrong, you might get errors, and have trouble rebooting. I propagated permissions to the enclosed items of the directory "Folder" containing the original OpenCL file.

If you don't know what I'm talking about, I suggest you take a look at "Get Info" Command+I under the "Edit" menu in Finder.

Best of Luck to you!
Does that work on Mountain Lion too?

I tried the Mountain Lion hex but didn't worked, not sure If I should apply the 32/64 too.
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2012
Messages
347
Motherboard
ASRock Z77 Professional-M
CPU
Intel i7-3770K (4.2 GHz)
Graphics
EVGA GTX 670 4GB Superclocked+
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Classic, Performa, Power Mac, Xserve
Mobile Phone
iOS
Does that work on Mountain Lion too?

I tried the Mountain Lion hex but didn't worked, not sure If I should apply the 32/64 too.
Yes it works for ML. That's what my entire post was about getting OpenCL to work with 10.8

You only need to hex edit the 1 line for ML, don't worry about the other two, its not needed.

Looking at your card, you have 2gb you should not need to even do the hex edit, just install the OpenCL from MultiBeast 5.0.2

Good Luck!
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2012
Messages
8
Motherboard
GA EX58-UD5
CPU
i7 920
Graphics
GTX 680
I checked out your link showing how to disable the check but there was a note at the end that GTX 680's have a different problem and the fix wouldn't work.

I've got a Palit GTX 680 4GB installed in my Hack.

http://www.palit.biz/palit/vgapro.php?id=1880

I'm a regular Blender user so it would be useful to get openCL running. I've googled around but I can't find any info related to my card. Is there anything I can try, or is it something I'm going to have to wait on?
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2011
Messages
318
Motherboard
ASUS X99 A-II
CPU
i7-6950X
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mobile Phone
Android
Yes it works for ML. That's what my entire post was about getting OpenCL to work with 10.8

You only need to hex edit the 1 line for ML, don't worry about the other two, its not needed.

Looking at your card, you have 2gb you should not need to even do the hex edit, just install the OpenCL from MultiBeast 5.0.2

Good Luck!
wow, indeed it worked.

Don't know why I remember trying it before, but with the kext on multibeast I have OpenCL and CUDA, both working.

Thanks :1
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2012
Messages
347
Motherboard
ASRock Z77 Professional-M
CPU
Intel i7-3770K (4.2 GHz)
Graphics
EVGA GTX 670 4GB Superclocked+
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Classic, Performa, Power Mac, Xserve
Mobile Phone
iOS
I checked out your link showing how to disable the check but there was a note at the end that GTX 680's have a different problem and the fix wouldn't work.

I've got a Palit GTX 680 4GB installed in my Hack.

http://www.palit.biz/palit/vgapro.php?id=1880

I'm a regular Blender user so it would be useful to get openCL running. I've googled around but I can't find any info related to my card. Is there anything I can try, or is it something I'm going to have to wait on?
Just install the OpenCL patch from MultiBeast 5.0.2 and then do the single Hex edit for ML to disable the memory check for cards with over 2gb of video ram.

Thats all you have to do...

I also have OpenCL and CUDA both working on my rig.
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2012
Messages
8
Motherboard
GA EX58-UD5
CPU
i7 920
Graphics
GTX 680
Thanks for the reply - that worked perfectly :)
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2012
Messages
531
Motherboard
Asus Rampage IV Extreme
CPU
3930k
Graphics
560ti 448/Asus TOPCuII 670
Here is the solution to my problem posted above, and anyone else with a Nvidia GeForce GTX 670, 680, 690 with more then 2GB video RAM. My card has 4GB on onboard video RAM.

http://netkas.org/?p=1161

-Mrengles
Actually currently this applies to anyone with a 6XX card.

As I understand it, the need for the patch is with any card that has > 2000 megabytes of ram and since a card with 2gb ram actually has (due to binary math) 2048mb of ram. So you need it on any card with 2gb or more of memory. Which currently is all of them.

I think the 660 (non-Ti) will have only 1.5gb ram, when those get released. So they wouldn't need the patch.
 
Top