Contribute
Register

Ohchang's build: Gigabyte Z590 Vision G + i7-10700K + AMD RX580

Joined
Jun 13, 2018
Messages
701
Motherboard
Prime X299-A II
CPU
i9 9980XE
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Today, I installed 11.5.1 without any issues.
Hello!

I noticed you're using a Vision G + 11700K, and I'm pretty interested in this. How do you judge your experience in hacking / using it? Would you recommend it? PCIe 4.0 NVMes work at full speed? Would you be so kind to share your EFI to let me give an eye on it? Many thanks.
 
Joined
Dec 12, 2011
Messages
82
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z590 Vision G
CPU
i7-11700K
Graphics
RX 6700 XT & RX 560
Hello!

I noticed you're using a Vision G + 11700K, and I'm pretty interested in this. How do you judge your experience in hacking / using it? Would you recommend it? PCIe 4.0 NVMes work at full speed? Would you be so kind to share your EFI to let me give an eye on it? Many thanks.
PCIe 4.0 NVMe speeds are good.

The CPU does not cause any issues. However, you will need a dGPU (I use the Radeon RX 560). DRM (Netflix, etc.) and hardware-accelerated video encoding works fine. There is no support at all for the iGPU (I disabled it in the BIOS).

If I had the chance, I would not buy this mainboard anymore, because it has a ridicules long POST time. It's picky about NVMe and very picky about RAM/memory.

The EFI I use is from Ohchang (see first page of this thread) with a iMacPro1,1 SMBIOS. You want to get rid of the iGPU entry shown below.

Again stay away from this board, I do not recommend this particular board/vendor.

Screenshot 2021-08-04 at 11.32.47.png
 
Joined
May 31, 2021
Messages
3
Motherboard
Z590 Vision G
CPU
11700K
Graphics
RX6900XT
PCIe 4.0 NVMe speeds are good.

The CPU does not cause any issues. However, you will need a dGPU (I use the Radeon RX 560). DRM (Netflix, etc.) and hardware-accelerated video encoding works fine. There is no support at all for the iGPU (I disabled it in the BIOS).

If I had the chance, I would not buy this mainboard anymore, because it has a ridicules long POST time. It's picky about NVMe and very picky about RAM/memory.

The EFI I use is from Ohchang (see first page of this thread) with a iMacPro1,1 SMBIOS. You want to get rid of the iGPU entry shown below.

Again stay away from this board, I do not recommend this particular board/vendor.

View attachment 526161
I also use Vision G + 11700K. I had the same problem when I started it for quite a while to be able to work! I use M.2 970 EVO Plus.
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2013
Messages
9
Motherboard
Gigabyte HD 370 HD3
CPU
i5 8400
Graphics
Sapphire RX 560
Again stay away from this board, I do not recommend this particular board/vendor.
Can you recommend me a board. I am just starting a new build and need a good basis. Thank you!
 
Joined
Dec 12, 2011
Messages
82
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z590 Vision G
CPU
i7-11700K
Graphics
RX 6700 XT & RX 560
Can you recommend me a board. I am just starting a new build and need a good basis. Thank you!
You should get a board that is well maintained by some community member here or in some other hackintosh forum.

Have a look at the "Golden Builds" :clap: section of the forum:

Very very well maintained is the Gigabyte Z490 Vision D:

When it comes to the newer Z590 chipset, it is not so easy. Do you really need Z590?

This thread, aka Ohchang's build (Gigabyte Z590 Vision G) is the best maintained Z590 board:

Similarly, there is a growing community around:

Gigabyte Z590 Vision D & Z590I Vision D ITX (They are still fighting with proper Thunderbolt support)

No community, but at least some success has been reported around:

Gigabyte Z590 Aorus Elite AX

ASUS ROG STRIX Z590-E

MSI MEG Z590 ACE
 
Joined
Dec 12, 2011
Messages
82
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z590 Vision G
CPU
i7-11700K
Graphics
RX 6700 XT & RX 560
@ohchang every now and then (i.e. once per week) I do encounter some audio issues. So far I have observed two things:

- A noisy connection (can be fixed by replugging in the headphones) Before unplugging, I double checked that the audio cable is plugged in correctly (it was, and I never removed it, or pulled on the cable or similar stuff) Hard to find an example, maybe similar to this, but quieter

- No audio at all (can only be fixed by rebooting the system), when this happens, my USB microphone input is still working fine, only the 3.5mm audio output jack is affected.

Have you observed similar situations? In all instances I have made sure it's not my headphones. So far, I have never observed this while using Windows 10.
 
Joined
Sep 13, 2010
Messages
36
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z590 Vision G
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RX 570
Is there a way to get the front audio jacks working with this board? Sound shows as USB 2.0, and I know there is the USB jack that can be used. But why does the front panel header not work?
 
Joined
Dec 12, 2011
Messages
82
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z590 Vision G
CPU
i7-11700K
Graphics
RX 6700 XT & RX 560
@ohchang every now and then (i.e. once per week) I do encounter some audio issues. So far I have observed two things:

- A noisy connection (can be fixed by replugging in the headphones) Before unplugging, I double checked that the audio cable is plugged in correctly (it was, and I never removed it, or pulled on the cable or similar stuff) Hard to find an example, maybe similar to this, but quieter

- No audio at all (can only be fixed by rebooting the system), when this happens, my USB microphone input is still working fine, only the 3.5mm audio output jack is affected.

Have you observed similar situations? In all instances I have made sure it's not my headphones. So far, I have never observed this while using Windows 10.
I was able to solve the mystery. The "no audio" thing is caused by installing the "Background Music" app.

After disabling it, the problem is immediately gone.
 
Joined
Dec 12, 2011
Messages
82
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z590 Vision G
CPU
i7-11700K
Graphics
RX 6700 XT & RX 560
Is there a way to get the front audio jacks working with this board? Sound shows as USB 2.0, and I know there is the USB jack that can be used. But why does the front panel header not work?
I have tested this too. I can confirm that there is really no audio coming from the HD audio connection (This is wrong). But sadly, I have not found any fix.

Edit: More info: "By default, port D is always connected via HD Audio and thus via the front panel. If that’s too quiet for you, just test it in the back. One output actually always works with the 2 volts and the automatic impedance detection."

Edit2: The problem is also discussed in the Linux community.

Edit3: In the ASUS support community there is a firmware update tool for the ALC4080, but this update only fixes an issue with optical audio output (S/PDIF).

Edit4: Found a solution here (sadly in German only). They say that switching between back and front audio can only be accomplished via the (Windows) software. So I guess one needs to figure out what the Windows software exactly does.

Edit5: Will try this setting later. Maybe we can configure it to play simultaneously.

Easy fix: After plugging in the headphones, you need to go to the settings and switch your output device back to the normal non-optical one.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 1, 2013
Messages
9
Motherboard
Gigabyte HD 370 HD3
CPU
i5 8400
Graphics
Sapphire RX 560
You should get a board that is well maintained by some community member here or in some other hackintosh forum.

Have a look at the "Golden Builds" :clap: section of the forum:

Very very well maintained is the Gigabyte Z490 Vision D:

When it comes to the newer Z590 chipset, it is not so easy. Do you really need Z590?

This thread, aka Ohchang's build (Gigabyte Z590 Vision G) is the best maintained Z590 board:

Similarly, there is a growing community around:

Gigabyte Z590 Vision D & Z590I Vision D ITX (They are still fighting with proper Thunderbolt support)

No community, but at least some success has been reported around:

Gigabyte Z590 Aorus Elite AX

ASUS ROG STRIX Z590-E

MSI MEG Z590 ACE
Thank you very much for the suggestions. I went with 590 Vision D, i9-11900K, 64GB RAM and already have a RX 6800 I bought last week directly from AMD. :) Hoping for the best, I have used Clover before, first time trying OpenCore now...
 
Top