OCZ OCTANE SSD corruption only with 10.6 and 10.8 NOT 10.7!!!

Discussion in 'General' started by sidkn33, Jul 26, 2012.

  1. sidkn33

    sidkn33

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Mobo:
    Hackintosh - GA-Z68XP-UD3
    CPU:
    i7 2600k @ 4.2 Ghz (Air)
    Graphics:
    Nvidia 9800Gt
    Jul 26, 2012 at 8:04 PM #1
    sidkn33

    sidkn33

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Mobo:
    Hackintosh - GA-Z68XP-UD3
    CPU:
    i7 2600k @ 4.2 Ghz (Air)
    Graphics:
    Nvidia 9800Gt
    Hello all and thanks to the team for all their efforts - through you, I have been enjoying awesome i7 Sandybridge performance for some months, with both reliability and affordability in running Logic Studio, instead of having to rely on a now thoroughly overpriced and outdated Mac Pro.

    I have an odd SSD issue - which is severe and predictable - the behaviour repeats each time, it is not a one-off.
    (The SSD has been updated to the latest firmware via a Windows machine).

    I say "odd" for good reason - it happens ONLY after booting the second time into OSX.
    That is: After a fresh install, the first boot is successful, but then after the first reboot (and thus second fresh boot) their is some kind of disk corruption on my Octane 2 SSD which renders the system effectively dead.

    All further boots are the same:

    System hangs on white Apple icon screen and eventually the machine restarts completely (of its own accord so to speak).
    In verbose mode the system pauses at "FIPS USER SPACE POST SUCCESS" then after about 3 minutes or so, there is a mass of text, that appears to be referring to disk errors (the text is unreadable as it is too fast!) but there is some mention of "media is not present".

    I have taken a photo of the screen using my iPad but it is unavoidably blurred.

    What is really odd is that this only affects Snow Leopard and now Mountain Lion, it does not affect Lion.
    I gave up on 10.6 with this SSD due to these errors and was surprised to find that Lion was unaffected - I have been running Lion 10.7.4 for a month without issue.
    I assumed that Mountain Lion would also be OK - that whatever changes to SSD support were implemented in Lion would be carried over.
    I was wrong.

    Steps taken:

    1. Installed ML via Unibeast 1.5 to old SATA (none-SSD) drive.
    All fine.
    Reboots repeatedly without issue.

    2. Cloned using Carbon Copy Cloner to Octane SSD - all fine on first boot, then corruption occurs and cannot boot a second time.

    3. Tried fresh install of ML to SSD using Unibeast 1.5, thinking Carbon Copy Cloner could be source of the problem above, all fine, boots after restart after installation. Then after first re-boot, corruption - no boot.

    I have run through these steps three times at least and the behaviour repeats and then

    4. Used Carbon Copy Cloner to clone previous Lion system back to SSD - clones without issue and boots into Lion from SSD, fast and without issue, repeatedly.
    There are no hangs or errors.

    So, with evidence, something is happening further to the second boot into Snow Leopard and/or Mountain Lion, specifically when using my Octane 2 128Gb SSD that causes a disk problem and renders the OS unbootable.
    This does not affect Lion.

    Any ideas or assistance is gratefully received, though comments along the lines of "why did you buy a POS OCZ SSD?" aren't necessarily all that welcome as whatever is happening, it is not absolutely true of all three OSX versions listed above.

    My system is:

    GA-Z68XP-UD3 F10
    16Gb 1600 RAM
    9800GT 512mb
    i7 2600k

    2x SATA drives
    1x Octane SSD
     
  2. crunky404

    crunky404

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Mobo:
    GA-H77-DS3H
    CPU:
    i5-3570K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte HD 6450 1GB
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, Classic, iBook, iMac, Performa, Power Mac, SE
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 28, 2012 at 8:55 PM #2
    crunky404

    crunky404

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Mobo:
    GA-H77-DS3H
    CPU:
    i5-3570K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte HD 6450 1GB
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, Classic, iBook, iMac, Performa, Power Mac, SE
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I know you asked for people not to talk crap on your OCZ SSD, but they really are abysmal. Check the RMA rates on OCZ brand SSD vs all other brands...

    I've seen similar issues happen with other people. SSDs just seem to fail in atypical ways like this. I had a Mushkin drive that died and it showed similar behavior, random reboots and sudden bursts of I/O error while using Lion.

    If I were you I'd do a stress test on the SSD from a boot CD or something to try and rule the SSD out. SSD corruption does not happen as the result of how a particular OS treats it. IIRC this issue with SSDs "accidentally" disconnecting/reconnecting themselves during system operation is the result of a bug in the SSD controller itself so you probably should check and see if your model is affected. I don't think this is an issue specific to OS X.
     
  3. sidkn33

    sidkn33

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Mobo:
    Hackintosh - GA-Z68XP-UD3
    CPU:
    i7 2600k @ 4.2 Ghz (Air)
    Graphics:
    Nvidia 9800Gt
    Jul 31, 2012 at 6:11 PM #3
    sidkn33

    sidkn33

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Mobo:
    Hackintosh - GA-Z68XP-UD3
    CPU:
    i7 2600k @ 4.2 Ghz (Air)
    Graphics:
    Nvidia 9800Gt
    Thanks - I know, I know - the OCZ drives appear to suck.
    BUT, and this is a critical point: The problem does not affect Lion.

    I am, and have been for several weeks now, running 10.7.4 without issue.
    I must have rebooted my rig 100 times or more and there has been no corruption, or boot problems on the Octane drive.

    But when I tried the drive with SL and then ML - drive errors occurred on the second boot (as I detailed in the post).

    So for example, I have a working copy of Mountain Lion 10.8 on a standard sata 500gb drive.
    No problems - boots and works over and over again.

    I also have an image of Lion 10.7.4 which boots fine from a standard drive AND an image of SL 10.6.8 - works fine from any SATA drive.

    If I use Carbon copy cloner to copy

    1. The Snow Leopard image to the SSD - it copies fine, boots once, then won't boot again.
    2. The Lion 10.7.4 image to the Octane SSD, it copies fine AND STAYS FINE - I am typing this from that drive now.
    3. The ML 10.8 image to the SSD, same thing happens as with SL - it boots once, but won't boot again.

    So the question is I guess, what the hell is the difference between 10.6.8, 10.7.4 and 10.8.0 that causes only 10.7.4 to work smoothly with the Octane drive?!
     
  4. sidkn33

    sidkn33

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Mobo:
    Hackintosh - GA-Z68XP-UD3
    CPU:
    i7 2600k @ 4.2 Ghz (Air)
    Graphics:
    Nvidia 9800Gt
    Jul 31, 2012 at 7:28 PM #4
    sidkn33

    sidkn33

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Mobo:
    Hackintosh - GA-Z68XP-UD3
    CPU:
    i7 2600k @ 4.2 Ghz (Air)
    Graphics:
    Nvidia 9800Gt
    Just found this on the OCZ support forum - guess that's an answer, at least for now.

    Mountain Lion and OCZ Octane, Petrol, and Octane S2 SSD's.

    OCZ is aware of the issue regarding Mountain Lion and the above OCZ SSD models. We have the firmware team looking into the issue and we will post an update or fix as soon as one is available.

    Thank you for your patience.
     
  5. objective-x

    objective-x

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Mobo:
    Mac Pro 5,1
    CPU:
    Xeon W3680
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 1060
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Aug 24, 2012 at 7:32 PM #5
    objective-x

    objective-x

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Mobo:
    Mac Pro 5,1
    CPU:
    Xeon W3680
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 1060
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Hey sidkn33,

    I have an OCZ Octane as well and it's exhibiting the exact same problem (doesn't boot, console floods with IO errors). I had the original drive RMA'd but the new one exhibits the same symptoms. Mine worked fine in 10.7 as well.

    The fact that OCZ acknowledges the issue is a step forward. Here's a link to the official announcement. In the meantime, someone on the OCZ forums has a proposed workaround. I haven't tested it myself yet:

     
  6. kyron

    kyron

    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    Messages:
    101
    Mobo:
    Lenovo Ideapad Flex 15 (Clover)
    CPU:
    Intel® Core™ i7- 4500U/Haswell-ULT
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4400 (Integrated) 1920x1080
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    Aug 26, 2012 at 9:56 PM #6
    kyron

    kyron

    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    Messages:
    101
    Mobo:
    Lenovo Ideapad Flex 15 (Clover)
    CPU:
    Intel® Core™ i7- 4500U/Haswell-ULT
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4400 (Integrated) 1920x1080
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    I have an OCZ Octane SSD 120GB and it works fine on OSX 10.8.1 with no problem
     
  7. objective-x

    objective-x

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Mobo:
    Mac Pro 5,1
    CPU:
    Xeon W3680
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 1060
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Aug 27, 2012 at 9:21 PM #7
    objective-x

    objective-x

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Mobo:
    Mac Pro 5,1
    CPU:
    Xeon W3680
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 1060
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Good to hear! Once I'm done backing up I will give 10.8.1 a try this afternoon.

    Update: Nope, still won't work.
     
  8. objective-x

    objective-x

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Mobo:
    Mac Pro 5,1
    CPU:
    Xeon W3680
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 1060
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Aug 29, 2012 at 7:57 PM #8
    objective-x

    objective-x

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Mobo:
    Mac Pro 5,1
    CPU:
    Xeon W3680
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 1060
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Here's the latest update:

    Also someone's come up with another possible fix in the interim:

     
  9. objective-x

    objective-x

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Mobo:
    Mac Pro 5,1
    CPU:
    Xeon W3680
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 1060
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Sep 11, 2012 at 2:28 AM #9
    objective-x

    objective-x

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Mobo:
    Mac Pro 5,1
    CPU:
    Xeon W3680
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 1060
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Looks like the update is live.

    I used the above workaround and it's been fine for me so far, so I'll be waiting to hear confirmation that the firmware update works before upgrading.
     
  10. giacomo892

    giacomo892

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Mobo:
    GA-H61M-D2-B3 -8GB- SSD
    CPU:
    Intel G630
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GT610
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Sep 12, 2012 at 1:37 PM #10
    giacomo892

    giacomo892

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Mobo:
    GA-H61M-D2-B3 -8GB- SSD
    CPU:
    Intel G630
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GT610
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Is there a way to upgrade the FW?? The live linux update tool still show 3.15!
     

Share This Page