Contribute
Register

nvidia-update - Simple way to install nVidia web drivers

Joined
Mar 29, 2011
Messages
228
Motherboard
GA-Z170X-UD3 (F23g)
CPU
Intel Core i5-7400
Graphics
Asus Radeon RX 560 4GB
Just the card. Shiki has been in my system since at least 10.12.5 so it remains.
I have just tried with Intel Graphics disabled and there is no need for Lilu, NvidiaGraphicsFixup or Shiki. 1050 works with webdriver 106 and <key>NvidiaWeb</key> <true/> in Clover.
 

elfcake

Banned
Joined
Nov 25, 2012
Messages
1,076
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 D
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have just tried with Intel Graphics disabled and there is no need for Lilu, NvidiaGraphicsFixup or Shiki. 1050 works with webdriver 106 and <key>NvidiaWeb</key> <true/> in Clover.
So far, the system is working better than at anytime since I built the new system last May. So I am happy with what is inside. I hope yours is working well.
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2011
Messages
828
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370-HD3
CPU
i5-8600
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have just tried with Intel Graphics disabled and there is no need for Lilu, NvidiaGraphicsFixup or Shiki. 1050 works with webdriver 106 and <key>NvidiaWeb</key> <true/> in Clover.

Where in config.plist do you turn on this option?
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2018
Messages
39
Motherboard
Lenovo Z50-70
CPU
i7-4510U
Graphics
HD 4400 & GT 840m (1920x1080)
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
will it work for Lenovo Z50_70? because Nvidia offiacily not supported for this laptop in MacOS!!
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2011
Messages
228
Motherboard
GA-Z170X-UD3 (F23g)
CPU
Intel Core i5-7400
Graphics
Asus Radeon RX 560 4GB
Where in config.plist do you turn on this option?
At the very end
<key>SystemParameters</key>
<dict>
<key>InjectKexts</key>
<string>YES</string>
<key>InjectSystemID</key>
<true/>
<key>NvidiaWeb</key>
<true/>
</dict>
</dict>
</plist>
But it's not really necessary, as Clover assumes it by default.
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2018
Messages
12
Motherboard
ASUS H270M-PLUS
CPU
Intel i5 7600K
Graphics
MSI Gigabyte 1060 6GB
Hi Benjamin! After installing the .106 with your script, I'm stuck at the apple logo with the loading bar halfway. I can't make neither .104 or .106 work. Strange thing is that when I uninstall the driver and reinstall .156 it works but with the well know lag... Can somebody help pls?
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2011
Messages
228
Motherboard
GA-Z170X-UD3 (F23g)
CPU
Intel Core i5-7400
Graphics
Asus Radeon RX 560 4GB
Can somebody help pls?
At startup, enter Clover options - Boot args and enter -v Then boot and see what is the last message displayed.
 
Joined
Feb 4, 2018
Messages
47
Motherboard
GA-B150N Phoenix-WIFI
CPU
i7 6700
Graphics
EVGA GTX 1070 SC
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
@Guillou How have you installed drivers in the past, just from the nVidia website and "NVIDIA Driver Manager" updates? Or have you used other third-party tools like webdriver.sh?

EDIT: Oh, and make sure you've got SIP disabled.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2013
Messages
12
Motherboard
10.8
CPU
n/a
Graphics
n/a
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. iMac
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
can i install using remote management? Screen Sharing? i have controlled my tower via the laptop before.
I have an old mac graphics card though so I could easily install that ....do the update, ]but I am confused as to when I should put my graphics card back in (or switch them out like I have been doing....the whole process is a pain in the ass because I have to uninstall install exchange graphics cards.....but my point was why not leave the Titan X in the unit...and control it via remote access? would this be a sound process?
The strange thing is I don't understand the kext and code you wrote will not work if I have that old default 256mb GPU nvidia card.....i run out of slots I have a RAM SLOT card for my OS, and a Blackmagic Design VIDEO card, then the TITAN X that takes all the room....so running the graphics card, is only ONE or the other...unless I use REMOTE DESKTOP.
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2018
Messages
3
A quick question:

I have a standard MacBook Pro (mid 2014) 15" which is suffering with the 387.10.10.10.25.156 driver lag.

Can I use your script to revert the drivers (to 104 for instance) for a vanilla (non-Hackintosh) machine?
 
Top