Contribute
Register

NVIDIA Releases Alternate Graphics Drivers for macOS Sierra 10.12.5 (378.05.05.15)

Joined
May 10, 2016
Messages
24
Motherboard
ASUS K53e sandy laptop
CPU
i3-2310M
Graphics
HD3000
Mac
MacBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Today after reading this thread I bit the bullet and went a picked up a gigabyte 1050ti (windforce oc 4g), Installed the drivers and added the line to clover config, shut down the machine and changed the card out, rebooted and all seems to be good so far!
I had a ati 7700 and it used verde.kext to fix black screen issue.. so after reboot sudo rm -r /path/to/verde.kext/
Havent tried sleep yet as ati card wouldn't wake so have never used it.
edit- sleep works as expected! woohoo!
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2010
Messages
26
Motherboard
GA-P55-UD3L rev 2.3, socket LGA 1156
CPU
Intel Core I7 860 @t 2.93 MgHz
Graphics
Nvidia Geforce GTX 750 Ti OC 2GB GDDR5
Mobile Phone
iOS
I updated to 10.12.5 successfully, but still can't my nvidia to work after driver update. I simply get black screen. I tried the method with a AGDPfix to patch, but no result, still black screen. Before that I didn't get any trouble with 10.12.4.

Please give me a tipp to try....



Edit : Problem fixed, changed the board ID, took that from Imac 14,2. Now works fine
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 29, 2011
Messages
360
Motherboard
XPS 9360 2.9.0
CPU
i7-7500U
Graphics
HD 620 3200x1800
Can you try 14,2 SMBIOS and remove Lilu and NvidiaGraphicsFixup temporarily?
Hmmm, I will try that, so as to gather as much data as possible. But I would view using a system definition other than the one that corresponds to my CPU platform as a last resort.

No reboots on IGPU, so I'm going to see what else I can figure out.
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2011
Messages
33
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UP5-TH
CPU
Intel Core i7-3770
Graphics
ASUS GTX 1070
Decided to give it a try. Doesn't work on ASUS GTX 1070, displays graphics card model as "NVidia chip model 7mb" but no acceleration and UI is very slow. Does anybody know how to fix it?
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2011
Messages
33
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UP5-TH
CPU
Intel Core i7-3770
Graphics
ASUS GTX 1070
Thanks but it doesn't help! I'm in Legacy mode so I can't use the NVRAM fix and I have everything set up in Clover (Inject Nvidia = NO and NvidiaWeb = YES) - it doesn't help.

The driver is installed, no black screen I can see that Web drivers are active in the Preferences but they just don't work :(

The definition is iMac 14,2
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2012
Messages
3
Motherboard
GIGABYTE GA-H110M-A LGA 1151
CPU
skylake i5 6500
Graphics
nvidia 950
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Apple
Mobile Phone
Android
I guess I might have picked a bad day to install my first hackintosh
intel i5 6500
gigabyte GA-H110M-A Lga 1151 motherboard
cruicial 16 gb memory
Sandisk ssd
Nvidia 950 video card (took from another computer)
used an old case--if I had just gotten a gigabyte intel cpu board instead of of amd board, I could have tried this a long time ago...

I used my macbook laptop but it was already updated to macos sierra 10.12.5
followed the install guide here-which was great

unfortunately while the machine boots up, I can't get the nvidia web drivers to install--they do, and I reboot--and...it reverts back to the OSX version.

Sound is also not working, but more important to get graphics working first.

At least...it looks pretty cool! (i picked the typical imac, 27 inch imac late 2013) to avoid issues--no black screens yet

(OOOPS)
Just read on the NVRAM fix, and that made the nvidia drivers STICK finally- huge difference

so the monitor on the displayport is working...but not hdmi...so I guess I wont be driving two 4K monitors yet...next project..eh?
does anyone have any recommend cards that can drive two 4k displays at 60hz?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 29, 2011
Messages
360
Motherboard
XPS 9360 2.9.0
CPU
i7-7500U
Graphics
HD 620 3200x1800
so the monitor on the displayport is working...but not hdmi...so I guess I wont be driving two 4K monitors yet...next project..eh?
does anyone have any recommend cards that can drive two 4k displays at 60hz?
You won't get 4k on HDMI 2.0. You need to use dual displayport. Or there is also supposedly a single displayport to HDMI 2.0 adapter (can't recall the brand, but it has been posted here somewhere) that can do 4k @ 60hz.
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2012
Messages
3
Motherboard
GIGABYTE GA-H110M-A LGA 1151
CPU
skylake i5 6500
Graphics
nvidia 950
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Apple
Mobile Phone
Android
You won't get 4k on HDMI 2.0. You need to use dual displayport. Or there is also supposedly a single displayport to HDMI 2.0 adapter (can't recall the brand, but it has been posted here somewhere) that can do 4k @ 60hz.
Thanks! I just bit the bullet and got an evga 1060 card, with 3 DP 1.4 ports that should work...in theory
uh
how does one get a hackintosh ready for a gpu card upgrade?
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2017
Messages
959
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Maximus IX Hero
CPU
I7-7700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thanks! I just bit the bullet and got an evga 1060 card, with 3 DP 1.4 ports that should work...in theory
uh
how does one get a hackintosh ready for a gpu card upgrade?
This thread may be of assistance.
 
Top