Contribute
Register

NVIDIA Releases Alternate Graphics Drivers for macOS High Sierra 10.13.4 (387.10.10.10.30)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jun 13, 2012
Messages
48
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170M-D3H
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX 950
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
GA Z170m-d3h
Nvidia 950
iMac 17,1

Running perfectly with latest Nvidiagraphicscleanup + Lilu with latest NVIDIA drivers. Google Chrome finally working without any hacks.

My thanks to the community that makes this possible.
 
Joined
Sep 19, 2017
Messages
21
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD3
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX 1060
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
System has been up and running for a couple of days. And thank you to everyone for your input, advice and support. I was nervous about implementing the changes (thought I would break something). However, things are looking well. There are a few hiccups, but overall things are working well:

Using latest NvidiaGraphicsFixup.kext and Lilu.kext
SYMBIOS: iMac 17,1
Nvidia 1060 6gb
i7 6700
Gigabyte z170X-UD3
Nvidia Driver version: 387.10.10.10.25.61 (says Up to date)
CUDA Driver version: 387.178
(I've attached my config.plist and "Other" kexts folder

FCPX seems to be running pretty well. Other videos look great.

The few issues I have are during boot up or wake from sleep, the screen flashes several times (in 5 second intervals ) for about 20-30 seconds before I'm able to enter my login info. And once in a while, my wireless kb and Magic Mouse aren't able to be connected. So I have to use a wired one, and re-pair the BT mouse and kb. Other than that though, things are running very well.

I've seen a few bench mark tests I'd like to try as well. Any recommendations? (I'm not able to find that water test or know what test to use for Google Chrome).

Thanks again...

Rodney
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    8.5 KB · Views: 180
  • Other copy.zip
    949.5 KB · Views: 48
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 1, 2011
Messages
12
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z270X-UD5
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I can confirm that the new releases of the kexts work well, with one major exception: chromium/electron/chrome, which are impossibly slow on my system, forcing me to use `--disable-gpu` for those apps. If anyone has any info (or, even better, a remedy) for this, please share.
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2015
Messages
12
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X-UG
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I can confirm that the new releases of the kexts work well, with one major exception: chromium/electron/Chrome, which are impossibly slow on my system, forcing me to use `--disable-gpu` for those apps. If anyone has any info (or, even better, a remedy) for this, please share.
Exactly the opposite here - Chrome/Electron apps were painfully sluggish and laggy before latest patches. Now Chrome is the fastest thing on earth :) Slack isn't fast by nature but the performance improvement is drastic here. I was using all those with `--disable-gpu` before the kext patches. Now everything is on and is running pretty well.
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2011
Messages
12
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z270X-UD5
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Exactly the opposite here - Chrome/Electron apps were painfully sluggish and laggy before latest patches. Now Chrome is the fastest thing on earth :) Slack isn't fast by nature but the performance improvement is drastic here. I was using all those with `--disable-gpu` before the kext patches. Now everything is on and is running pretty well.

Interesting. Care to provide some more info about your configuration? smbios system identifier (e.g. iMac 18,3), kext location, other relevant kexts, config.plist, nvidia driver version etc. might help me figure this out. Thanks!
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2015
Messages
12
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X-UG
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Interesting. Care to provide some more info about your configuration? smbios system identifier (e.g. iMac 18,3), kext location, other relevant kexts, config.plist, nvidia driver version etc. might help me figure this out. Thanks!
Sure :) I'm using iMac17,1 definition, kexts in L/E (kept those here as I used Multibeast for installation and it seems like it places them in L/E)
Code:
ACS6x.kext
ATTOCelerityFC8.kext
ATTOExpressSASHBA2.kext
ATTOExpressSASRAID2.kext
AppleALC.kext
ArcMSR.kext
CUDA.kext
CalDigitHDProDrv.kext
Dropbox.kext
FakePCIID.kext
FakePCIID_XHCIMux.kext
FakeSMC.kext
FakeSMC_ACPISensors.kext
FakeSMC_CPUSensors.kext
FakeSMC_GPUSensors.kext
FakeSMC_LPCSensors.kext
GeForceTeslaWeb.kext
GeForceWeb.kext
GenericUSBXHCI.kext
HighPointIOP.kext
HighPointRR.kext
IntelMausiEthernet.kext
Lilu.kext
NVDAGF100HalWeb.kext
NVDAGK100HalWeb.kext
NVDAGM100HalWeb.kext
NVDAGP100HalWeb.kext
NVDANV50HalTeslaWeb.kext
NVDAResmanTeslaWeb.kext
NVDAResmanWeb.kext
NVDAStartupWeb.kext
NullCPUPowerManagement.kext
NvidiaGraphicsFixup.kext
PromiseSTEX.kext
RazerHid.kext
SoftRAID.kext

Attached is my config.plist, using Nvidia web driver 387.10.10.30.103 along with NvidiaGraphicsFixup 1.2.6 + Lilu 1.2.3. Might worth to mention that I enabled emulated NVRAM with Multibeast and removed all boot params for graphics drivers - followed this guide here:
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...-10-13-4-387-10-10-10-30.249039/#post-1718752
I've been experiencing the Chrome slowness for the last year or so, was using it without hardware acceleration. After latest kext patches the problems magically disappeared :). Ping me if you need something more. The hardware added to my profile is accurate in case you need it.
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    5.2 KB · Views: 154
Joined
Jan 30, 2018
Messages
36
Motherboard
Asus B150M C/BR
CPU
i5-7400
Graphics
Nvidia 1050 TI 4GB
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
slightly related question - do you really need CUDA for Photoshop or InDesign?
Does not seems like it is need for static images tooling tough. It's really odd to see it working without CUDA since Nvidia made it clear that it shouldn't work.
Anyway: PS, Ai, Id, Lr and others, seems exactly the same with or without CUDA.

Now, Premiere and After Effects seems to lose a little when using 3D rendering and multi-camera environment. If you don't use video editing nor animation, you're fine with or without CUDA
 
Joined
Jan 30, 2018
Messages
36
Motherboard
Asus B150M C/BR
CPU
i5-7400
Graphics
Nvidia 1050 TI 4GB
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Not true. CUDA is also used if you want to mine Zcash, or bitcoin on your Mac.
Yes, I agree. I was just pointing for the Adobe thing :)
Of course CUDA is needed for a bunch of other stuff, but for some adobe apps, doesn't seem to affect performance that much
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2013
Messages
11
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77N-WIFI
CPU
Intel i7-3770K
Graphics
Asus GTX 760 DirectCU II OC 2GB
Turning off chrome's hardware acceleration makes a huge difference. I'm debating whether to stay on this new version or go back to patched 106 via nvidia-update.
Thanks for this post. I was unaware of the nvidia-update script (I'm still pretty much a noob with Hackintoshes).

Anyway, I was getting the "black screen with infinite spinner" after updating to 10.13.4 plus updating to (what I thought were) the best nVidia web drivers. The nvidia-update script fixed everything in just a few minutes. Now I'm running with full acceleration again under 10.13.4. Thanks again!
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2012
Messages
34
Motherboard
z77x-UD5H
CPU
3770K
Graphics
Asus GTX 1070
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hi!

Not sure if I have encountered a new bug or not. Probably this is related to this global problem with the new Nvidia drivers.
My system config is in my profile.
I'm using latest NvidiaGraphicsFixup.kext and Lilu.kext. Running 10.13.3

On 378.10.10.10.26.106 - no problems at all.
On latest available drivers 387.10.10.10.25.156 system works and I can even run some games (with a noticeable lag).
But I see strange graphics issues on my system Dock panel (see screenshot), in the finder window, and in the after-right-click menus.

It looks like opacity is not working properly because Dock has a white background instead of opaque. Same problem with menus and header in the finder window.
Am I doing something wrong and it can be fixed or everyone has the same issues?

Thanks!
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2018-04-15 at 11.23.47.png
    Screen Shot 2018-04-15 at 11.23.47.png
    863.3 KB · Views: 178
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top