NVIDIA Releases Alternate Graphics Drivers for macOS High Sierra 10.13.3 (387.10.10.10.25)

Discussion in 'Graphics' started by tonymacx86, Jan 24, 2018.

  1. nblavoie

    nblavoie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z170 X-GAMING 7
    CPU:
    i7-7700K
    Graphics:
    GTX 960
    Mar 14, 2018 at 5:17 PM #521
    nblavoie

    nblavoie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z170 X-GAMING 7
    CPU:
    i7-7700K
    Graphics:
    GTX 960
    Same problem here (OS X 10.3.3), Nvidia GTX 960, Gigabyte GA-Z170 X-GAMING 7, i7 7700K. I tried to downgrade the Nvidia Drivers to 104, 103. Didn't work. Tried 161, 160, 157, 156, same problem. I'm at 156 right now. It's laggy as hell, sluggish. Any ideas ? Here's my config.plist.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. vulgo

    vulgo

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,144
    Motherboard:
    MSI H81i
    CPU:
    i5-4570
    Graphics:
    RX 580
    Mar 14, 2018 at 5:52 PM #522
    vulgo

    vulgo

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,144
    Motherboard:
    MSI H81i
    CPU:
    i5-4570
    Graphics:
    RX 580
    You probably want to disable SIP. Try this.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. nblavoie

    nblavoie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z170 X-GAMING 7
    CPU:
    i7-7700K
    Graphics:
    GTX 960
    Mar 14, 2018 at 6:17 PM #523
    nblavoie

    nblavoie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z170 X-GAMING 7
    CPU:
    i7-7700K
    Graphics:
    GTX 960
    @vulgo : it worked! Now I have enabled Hardware Acceleration in Chrome again. Safari is flawless. Downgraded to 378.10.10.10.25.106 and it works very well. Thank you so much. I was on the verge to reinstall Windows... lol. May I ask why this fixed my issue (the SIP) or the combination of both ?
     
  4. vulgo

    vulgo

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,144
    Motherboard:
    MSI H81i
    CPU:
    i5-4570
    Graphics:
    RX 580
    Mar 14, 2018 at 6:21 PM #524
    vulgo

    vulgo

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,144
    Motherboard:
    MSI H81i
    CPU:
    i5-4570
    Graphics:
    RX 580
    Modifying Nvidia's driver to load invalidates its signature. Extensions with invalid signatures are excluded from the prelinked kernel when CsrActiveConfig is set to 0x0.

    Might be worth mentioning that on Clover systems webdriver.sh patches with Clover instead of invalidating your kexts. Some of the alternatives are not very robust in their implementation at all, just hard-coded repackagers of the GUI installer (which unsurprisingly is supposed to be running graphically, not in a terminal).
     
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2018
  5. jciluvatar

    jciluvatar

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Motherboard:
    MSI Z270 Gaming M5
    CPU:
    i7 7700K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX970 Gaming 1
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mar 14, 2018 at 11:13 PM #525
    jciluvatar

    jciluvatar

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Motherboard:
    MSI Z270 Gaming M5
    CPU:
    i7 7700K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX970 Gaming 1
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Hi Vulgo, I did this and my Mac flies!! super fast.. the only problem now that I can't find the solution is that FCPX (one of the reasons I builded this Hackintosh) is not working properly, is slow and the worst of all, it exports full of artifacts and weird colors. Since we have the same GPU, any ideas my friend? Thanks in advance.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. vulgo

    vulgo

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,144
    Motherboard:
    MSI H81i
    CPU:
    i5-4570
    Graphics:
    RX 580
    Mar 15, 2018 at 6:31 AM #526
    vulgo

    vulgo

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,144
    Motherboard:
    MSI H81i
    CPU:
    i5-4570
    Graphics:
    RX 580
    Looks like you are utilising the IGPU for some encoding/decoding? Might be worth a try: backup your settings, disabling IGD Multi-Monitor in Firmware Settings -> Integrated Graphics Configuration + removing IGPU related configuration in config.plist, removing any non-essential graphics-related kexts (e.g. Shiki) then see if you still get exported artifcats
     

    Attached Files:

  7. jciluvatar

    jciluvatar

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Motherboard:
    MSI Z270 Gaming M5
    CPU:
    i7 7700K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX970 Gaming 1
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mar 15, 2018 at 8:55 PM #527
    jciluvatar

    jciluvatar

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Motherboard:
    MSI Z270 Gaming M5
    CPU:
    i7 7700K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX970 Gaming 1
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Thanks so much for your answer Vulgo but I'm very stupid with all this. Is it recommended to do this in my USB pendrive with Clover that I've used to install High Sierra in my Hackintosh in order to not commit any mistake with the EFI of my system disk (Macintosh HD)?
    I can disable IGD Multi-monitor in BIOS, then I can erase manually from the EFI folder (don't know how to do it with Clover Configurator) Shiki but I don't know which one else (attached my EFI folder).
    Thanks for your answer.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. heisian

    heisian

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Motherboard:
    AsRock Z370-ITX/ac
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-8770K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1050Ti
    Mar 16, 2018 at 1:35 AM #528
    heisian

    heisian

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Motherboard:
    AsRock Z370-ITX/ac
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-8770K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1050Ti
    UPDATE: I discovered that the rebooting, specifically, had to do with me using OsxAptioFix3Drv-64.efi. I switched to using OsxAptioFixDrv-64.efi and now my system is rock-stable. I am still using the downgraded Sierra install.
     
  9. vulgo

    vulgo

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,144
    Motherboard:
    MSI H81i
    CPU:
    i5-4570
    Graphics:
    RX 580
    Mar 16, 2018 at 7:52 AM #529
    vulgo

    vulgo

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,144
    Motherboard:
    MSI H81i
    CPU:
    i5-4570
    Graphics:
    RX 580
    You can back up an EFI partition by making a zipped copy, and restore it by removing the EFI directory in Finder and extracting/restoring the back up. There are no hidden files or boot code that make it work - only the EFI folder directory structure (and some NVRAM variables you won't be changing with Finder so not an immediate concern). Try moving out of /efi/clover/kexts/other: IntelGraphicsFixup, Shiki, WhateverGreen (you can replace them later) - basically try using only Nvidia graphics and see if you still get the FCP artifacts or not.
     
  10. jeandemi

    jeandemi

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Motherboard:
    Asus P7P55D LE
    CPU:
    Core i5-750 (4x2.67GHz)
    Graphics:
    GF GTX1050Ti 4Gb, GF8800GTX 768Mb or ATI 4870 512Mb
    Classic Mac:
    512K, Classic, LC, Plus, Power Mac
    Mar 16, 2018 at 6:20 PM #530
    jeandemi

    jeandemi

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Motherboard:
    Asus P7P55D LE
    CPU:
    Core i5-750 (4x2.67GHz)
    Graphics:
    GF GTX1050Ti 4Gb, GF8800GTX 768Mb or ATI 4870 512Mb
    Classic Mac:
    512K, Classic, LC, Plus, Power Mac
    for the black screen problem, may be I have an idea.
    I try to explain, sorry by advance for my bad english

    my Hack work with Sierra 10.12.6 but the black screen problem have may be the same origin

    I have upgraded my GF 8800GTX 768Mb (with driver WebDriver-378.05.05.25f06) and my Asus PA246 (1920x1200 screen) for a GF GTX1050Ti and a LG 4K 27"
    on boot, all is shown on the screen, but at the moment where the loging come: black screen!

    I try different solutions, but finally I have found a good one:
    the PA246 use DVI connector, and LG use HDMI or Display Port.
    I connect the two screens at my GF, and at the loging, the PA246 shown the desktop and the LG still black.

    I go in Preference Pane/Monitors and define the second screen (at same resolution 1920x1200), and then the LG shown the desktop!
    Then, I drop the menu bar from PA246 to LG (the LG become the first monitor)
    Reboot, and the LG shown all it does.
    Shutdown, unplug the PA246 and boot: I can use the LG at 4K resolution (it must be in "scalled mode", otherwise I can't set 3840x2160)

    "About this Mac" shown "LG Ultra HD 27 in (3840x2160)" and System Report shown "1920x1080 @ 60Hz"
    but the screen is really in 3840x2160, a screenshot have this resolution

    May be it help...
     

    Attached Files:

    • Capture d’écran 2018-03-16 à 19.16.10.jpg  (64.3 KB, 149 views)
    • Capture d’écran 2018-03-16 à 19.14.32.jpg  (152.4 KB, 154 views)

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice