Contribute
Register

nVidia Optimus support?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jan 27, 2011
Messages
10
Motherboard
Gigabye U2442N
CPU
i5
Graphics
640m
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Now that Mountain Lion is out, I was wondering what are the chances of nVidia optimus support? I have HD4000 and 640M on a Gigabyte U2442N Ultrabook
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2012
Messages
14
Motherboard
ASUS N46VM
CPU
i5 3210m
Graphics
HD 4000 / GT 630M
I guess you missed this: http://www.tonymacx86.com/laptop-compatibility/71991-laptop-users-read-first.html

If your laptop is using NVIDIA Optimus graphics switching technology, you can stop reading as it's not supported and most likely will never be.

It is not very clear!! so I don't think you are 100% true..

I've seen older laptop by 2011 that has switchable graphics with optimus card work with mux (multiplexer) and able to switch graphics from BIOS. Proof: My friend has ASUS A43 with i2 2330m and nVidia GT 520M without intel HD shows up in device manager in windows (OOTB).

Newer laptop after 2011 are muxless laptops, nVidia can't run without Intel HD, no graphics switch options in BIOS. So can use only intel HD (hackintosh), and both cards with optimus switch (on windows).
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2011
Messages
8
Motherboard
Dell XPS 15 L521x
CPU
Ivy Bridge
Graphics
Nvidia GeForce GT 640m
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
NO support for Optimus DOES NOT mean you cannot achieve partial functionality...

(I know it's a tripple negative)....in short, you CAN still load OSX despite optimus!

(I really don't know why the laptop info post says to GIVE UP NOW!)

Nvidia might only work if you can shut off INTEL HD4000 in your Bios...

otherwise the workaround is GraphicsEnabler=NO as a boot flag....

I used this on my previous Dell with optimus and currently use Dell xps L521X....

the intel hd 4000 looks great but I cannot yet boot without -x flag for safe mode...as well as GraphicsEnabler=NO

looking forward to next Multi-Beast!

good luck....
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2012
Messages
40
Motherboard
MSI GE70 2PE-012 US
CPU
2.4 GHz Core i7-4700HQ
Graphics
Intel 4600 HD & NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I should have read the post before spend my hard earn money on my laptop. I am in the same boat as all of you guys. I have a NVIDIA Geforce GTX 675M 4GB GDDR5 with an Intel HD 4000 Graphics Card. I believe the obvious answer now for the Mac OS would be no. Unless somebody can show me how to get my MSI GT70 OND-219US laptop to work.:banghead: I hate to be negative but I also have to keep it real.
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2012
Messages
8
Motherboard
Asus H81
CPU
i7 > Need model # > See Rules!
Graphics
GTX 970
emalb1701,

i bought the same machine as you but i cant get booting the installer, perhaps you can help me?
i created an installer with unibeast without laptop mode with laptop mode and with laptopmode + legacy usb, it hangs everytime after initializing the nic with "still waiting for root device" before i can read some usbf - apple usb errors :/

how did you get the isntaller working?
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2012
Messages
1
Motherboard
Mountain Lion 10.8.2
CPU
Asus
Graphics
Nvdia gforce gt540m & intel hd 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
[FONT=Lucida Grande, Lucida Sans Unicode, Helvetica, Arial, Verdana, sans-serif]i use asus n43sl, dual vga intel hd 3000 and nvidia gt540m, and all of them detected by my mackintosh, alltought i can't switch it. but since i read this...[/FONT]
[FONT=Lucida Grande, Lucida Sans Unicode, Helvetica, Arial, Verdana, sans-serif]"The 15-inch MacBook Pro automatically switches to it when you need more horsepower for things like playing 3D games, editing HD video, or even running CAD software. You’ll see more frames per second and experience better responsiveness — without lifting a finger." [/FONT]http://www.apple.com/macbook-pro/performance/...
apple release new mac book with 2 vga card, i hope someone out there can use it to optimus user.


thanks
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2013
Messages
1
Motherboard
OSX Mountain Lion 10.8.4
CPU
Intel Core i5
Graphics
Nvidia GT540M
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Use native kext nvidia GT540M 2GB. it work! but can't switch to intel hd graphics
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,968
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
[FONT=Lucida Grande, Lucida Sans Unicode, Helvetica, Arial, Verdana, sans-serif]i use asus n43sl, dual vga intel hd 3000 and nvidia gt540m, and all of them detected by my mackintosh, alltought i can't switch it. but since i read this...[/FONT]
[FONT=Lucida Grande, Lucida Sans Unicode, Helvetica, Arial, Verdana, sans-serif]"The 15-inch MacBook Pro automatically switches to it when you need more horsepower for things like playing 3D games, editing HD video, or even running CAD software. You’ll see more frames per second and experience better responsiveness — without lifting a finger." [/FONT]http://www.apple.com/macbook-pro/performance/...
apple release new mac book with 2 vga card, i hope someone out there can use it to optimus user.


thanks

Optimus (or any "switching" tech, eg. Radeon) is not supported on OS X running on a hack.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top