Contribute
Register

NVIDIA K600 QUADRO Driver

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jun 29, 2012
Messages
11
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
NVIDIA K600 QUADRO Driver - QE/CI

System HP Z620
BIOS - BIOS Version/Date Hewlett-Packard J61 v03.18, 01/07/2013 (AMI I think)
2 X Processor Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2643 0 @ 3.30GHz, 3301 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s)
8 x 2GB Memory 16GB DDR3-1600
Graphics - NVIDIA K600 Quadro
HDrive - Model ATA WDC WD5000HHTZ-6 SCSI Disk Device (500GB) Set to AHCI.

Having problem with graphics and having to run nv_disable=1 to boot Maverick. Trying to get NVIDIA K600 to run smooth but unable to find any info.. Any help would be appreciated..
---
Update, When i run GraphicsEnabler=Yes and nv_disable=1 system boots , card is listed correct but i do not have QE/CI and only have one resolution defined 1024x768.. Any advise??
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2012
Messages
7
Motherboard
Biostar MPC6.3
CPU
Regor 250 3.0ghz
Graphics
EVGA 8400 GS
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Centris
  2. Classic
  3. Color Classic
  4. iBook
  5. iMac
  6. LC
  7. Plus
  8. Power Mac
  9. PowerBook
  10. Quadra
  11. SE
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Yeah, I'm about to attempt this with a K600 myself on Mavericks. Did you get full graphics support working?

If anyone has had success getting this to work properly on Mavericks, please post here. Fortunately, I have an "ancient" 8800 GT card and onboard HD4000 graphics to experiment with too. If I have any luck with full graphics with the K600, I'll let you know.

Under 10.6.8 I wasn't able to get the K600 fully functioning on this hackintosh but it's an Ivy Bridge board/setup which makes that problematic anyways and I didn't spend much time on it as booting off hard disk is not supported in that configuration.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2012
Messages
89
Motherboard
GA-Z68X-UD3H
CPU
i5-3570
Graphics
HD 7970
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Xserve
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
System HP Z620
BIOS - BIOS Version/Date Hewlett-Packard J61 v03.18, 01/07/2013 (AMI I think)
2 X Processor Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2643 0 @ 3.30GHz, 3301 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s)
8 x 2GB Memory 16GB DDR3-1600
Graphics - NVIDIA K600 Quadro
HDrive - Model ATA WDC WD5000HHTZ-6 SCSI Disk Device (500GB) Set to AHCI.

Having problem with graphics and having to run nv_disable=1 to boot Maverick. Trying to get NVIDIA K600 to run smooth but unable to find any info.. Any help would be appreciated..
---
Update, When i run GraphicsEnabler=Yes and nv_disable=1 system boots , card is listed correct but i do not have QE/CI and only have one resolution defined 1024x768.. Any advise??
Have you already installed quadro and cuda drivers?
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2014
Messages
11
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Did you get your K600 works? I cant. Mine is freeze after boot up. Any setting i can try to make it boot up? thanks!
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2014
Messages
11
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
get rid of K600, replace with GTX 760, able to boot normally now...
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2012
Messages
7
Motherboard
Biostar MPC6.3
CPU
Regor 250 3.0ghz
Graphics
EVGA 8400 GS
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Centris
  2. Classic
  3. Color Classic
  4. iBook
  5. iMac
  6. LC
  7. Plus
  8. Power Mac
  9. PowerBook
  10. Quadra
  11. SE
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Probably a wise move. I never got to this project as I got busy with other things. Going to attempt this on 10.10.5 this week though. If I figure it out, I'll let you know.
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2012
Messages
7
Motherboard
Biostar MPC6.3
CPU
Regor 250 3.0ghz
Graphics
EVGA 8400 GS
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Centris
  2. Classic
  3. Color Classic
  4. iBook
  5. iMac
  6. LC
  7. Plus
  8. Power Mac
  9. PowerBook
  10. Quadra
  11. SE
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Okay, this appears to be booting in Yosemite 10.10.5 using the Aug 17 release build of Clover. I just finished a clover install of Yosemite 10.10.5 with my Quadro 600 card.

To get this to work at all, I had to disable the IG on my MSI Z77A-G41 board. I also turned down the PCIE from v 3 to v2 on the main board slot but am not certain that this was the issue or not. I'm going to experiment further with this as I just managed to get this system installed completely. (The hard part was realizing that I needed to bootstrap things a little more complex then the basic Clover UEFI install tutorial, etc, etc. Also the restarting twice thing in the middle of the install is also…disconcerting to say the least.) Anyhoo, I'll let you all know if I get full graphics capabilities on the Quadro 600. So far, I've seen no evidence that anyone has reported full success with this on 10.10.5…hopefully I'll be able to do full bench testing with the card tomorrow (or later in the week; pretty exhausted from the effort to get this working the past two days! If that doesn't work, I'll to an old 8800 card and the HD4000 iGPU. An SSD helps for this sort of troubleshooting as you don't have long to wait; also really nice is Clover's ability to create the basic (but possibly buggy) DSDT and SSDT files on the fly, etc…

Heck, who am I kidding; I'll likely test all the graphics cards I have back to the 8400GS (or whatever the heck it is). If anyone needs specific arguments/config.plist info for getting this mobo up and running with the Yosemite installer, drop me a holler.
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2011
Messages
5
Motherboard
Asus ROG STRIX Z370-G GAMING
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 470
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
@Timbo I have a similar setup and am using two monitors, but I have a problem with one of them constantly flickering on and off and unusable if I boot with both attached and on. I wonder if you have seen this problem.

I’m using an HP K600 Quadro along with an ASUS P8Z77-M-PRO, 10.10.5, Clover 3241 (nvda_drv=1; Inject Nvidia), Nvidia WebDriver-346.02.03f01, two Dell Monitors, one connected via DisplayPort the other with DVI. This command in terminal (kextstat | grep -i nv) shows that the Nvidia drivers are being used, even though the Nvidia Driver manager app in the menu bar shows that I’m using the default OS X graphics Driver. This command in terminal ( ioreg -l | grep IODisplayEDID) also shows that my two monitors are recognized by the graphics card. The problem that I have is that when both monitors are on at boot, the DVI monitor is the primary monitor and the DisplayPort monitor constantly flickers on and off. If I boot with only the DisplayPort on and then attach the DVI after it's booted, all is well.

Have you had this happen to you and if so, did you come up with a solution?
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2012
Messages
7
Motherboard
Biostar MPC6.3
CPU
Regor 250 3.0ghz
Graphics
EVGA 8400 GS
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Centris
  2. Classic
  3. Color Classic
  4. iBook
  5. iMac
  6. LC
  7. Plus
  8. Power Mac
  9. PowerBook
  10. Quadra
  11. SE
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi jmjak,

I went back to 10.9.5 but I'm seeing something similar to what you've observed. I'm just using one monitor now attached to the DVI port. I tested out a multiport minidisplay adapter with the cards display port via a displayport adapter but it was not stable at all. If you turn off the monitor or remove the adapter after it's initialized a monitor, all screens just goes black and you have to reboot to get functionality back. I wish I could get the IG working simultaneously with the K600 but that's a no go too; functionality was much better on Win7 and haven't tested Win10 with all this stuff as yet. I'm telling the OS that my hackintosh is iMac 13,2. I'm thinking that OS X itself supports multi monitors and different drivers possibly better on MacBook Pro set than an the 13,2 iMac? Haven't tried it though as this system boots fast enough that I don't feel motivated to work on fixing things much further. In any case, I use the following settings for my cloverboot:

-v dart=0 -xcpm darkwake=8 kext-dev-mode=1 HDAEnabler=Yes HDEFLayoutID=01000000

with the config set to

<key>Graphics</key>
<dict>
<key>Inject</key>
<dict>
<key>ATI</key>
<false/>
<key>Intel</key>
<true/>
<key>NVidia</key>
<false/>
</dict>
<key>NvidiaSingle</key>
<false/>

That latter part seems weird and I'm not sure how I should set it but it brings up the system and then it recognizes the K600 with full resolution switching working fine from the DVI port, which is what I suspect you've been seeing as well.

I've never bothered to seriously try to get sleep working but the monitor itself goes to sleep and wakes up well enough on the DVI port from what I could observe during some testing. In my case, sleep is more an issue of CPU states not being recognized correctly by the OS, alas. There's ways to hack that but I haven't bothered.

T
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2012
Messages
7
Motherboard
Biostar MPC6.3
CPU
Regor 250 3.0ghz
Graphics
EVGA 8400 GS
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Centris
  2. Classic
  3. Color Classic
  4. iBook
  5. iMac
  6. LC
  7. Plus
  8. Power Mac
  9. PowerBook
  10. Quadra
  11. SE
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Cuda drivers are working for me with the K600. I get about a 5-10% boost on raw cpu performance with the K600 and my i5 3570K cpu; that's a nice little boost. This worked on 10.10 and 10.9.5 with the card but the performance improvement I'm mentioning was for 10.9. Don't recall the bench on 10.10 offhand…this was observed with Cinebench R15, which I hear isn't as reliable as it once was thought to be. Still, it's clearly better performance for the CPU with Cuda. The best boost I got was by upclocking the CPU and memory. Good 15-20% gain from that but I just use Cuda as it uses less power on average I think than upclocking the system and memory.

This is not a production workstation so I don't need such boost very often if ever. My main reason for having it is so I can do troubleshooting on various systems as needed. (I have drives with Vista 32, XP 32, Win7 64, Win8 64 & 32, Win 10 64 installed on this along with the 10.9.5.)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top