Contribute
Register

NVIDIA GTX 980 Ti - Among Other Issues

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Dec 1, 2015
Messages
11
Motherboard
Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark1
CPU
i&-4790K
Graphics
Nvidia Geforce GTX 980 ti
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
So first time customac \ hackintosh builder. Parts are as follows.

Sabertooth Z97 Mark 1

http://www.amazon.com/dp/SABERTOOTH/?tag=tonymacx86com-20&tag=tonymacx86com-20

[h=1]GIGABYTE GeForce GTX 980 Ti DirectX 12 GV-N98TWF3OC-6GD 6GB 384-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 ATX Video Card[/h]http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814125803

[h=1]ASUS ROG PG278Q Black 27" Gaming Monitor 2560X1440 , 144Hz 1ms(GTG), WQHD G-SYNC 3D Monitor , Gaming Hotkeys, 6mm Slim Bezel 350 cd/m2[/h]http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16824236405

Intel Core i7-4790K

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819117369

Samsung 850 EVo 2.5 500 GB Solid State

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820147373

Corsair Vengeance Pro 16 GB (2 x 8) DDR 3 2400

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820233778

So I've build my fair share of computers. Follow the instructions, get creative where needed, and fire it up. Macs are a new realm. Good news is all the parts above would make a wonderful PC. Bad news, not what I need. Now I went ahead and used the wonderful guide for El Capitan (http://www.tonymacx86.com/el-capita...-el-capitan-any-supported-intel-based-pc.html) Using Unibeast. Pre-instillation took a bit (had to learn where to and how to put in the nv_disable=1) not to mention remembering to use USB 2.0 instead of the easy to use front USB 3.0 ports. Got the SSD all loaded up, logged in, poked around (which is possibly where I went wrong), attempted to follow the rest of the guide on post instillation and now I'm stuck.

Through stumbling around the website I ended up using clover boot to attempt to get my ducks in a row. Of course I can't find the specific guide I used (most likely a post by someone else) but I ended up opening clover boot, following the instructions on the guide (though now that I think about it I chose the iMac 4k display instead of the recommended mac pro 3, in my defense I clicked the wrong one and couldn't find my way back to the pictures and wasn't sure which of the drop down boxes was going to list the correct thing I needed)

I have seen on the list of problems for El Capitan that with the 980 ti I might need to do a fresh install without the graphics card plugged in, and then I ran into a problem of not being able to get Unibeast to get on my flash drive and boot from it. It was stopping about 3/4 of the way loading the apple logo through clover boot.

So let me list my problems so far
1) Graphics driver not recognized. Monitor has a Display port, USB 3.0 upstream \ USB 3.0 Downstream. Am I able to use display port or is my monitor not gonna work? Do I need a converter? Will a converter work?

2) Haven't touched sound yet, figured if I have to do a fresh install I should focus on the biggest problem so far.

3) Do I need to do a fresh install of El Capitan?

4) Can I use El Capitan? It's not a deal breaker, I can go to Yosemete in a heart beat if it means getting this thing running fully.

5)???? Other issues yet to be discovered.

If you require any more info, please provide me with the means to get that info. Remember I can get into El Capitan so far and have access to the internet, have clover downloaded, etc.
 

slim.jim

Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
4,258
Motherboard
MSI Z97 Gaming 9 AC
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
(though now that I think about it I chose the iMac 4k display instead of the recommended mac pro 3, in my defense I clicked the wrong one and couldn't find my way back to the pictures and wasn't sure which of the drop down boxes was going to list the correct thing I needed)
iMac15,1 or iMac17,1 or MacPro6,1 can cause issues with Nvidia graphics. You are best to choose iMac14,2 until you get everything sorted out.

1) Graphics driver not recognized. Monitor has a Display port, USB 3.0 upstream \ USB 3.0 Downstream. Am I able to use display port or is my monitor not gonna work? Do I need a converter? Will a converter work?

The 980ti requires the Nvidia web drivers as it is not natively supported by OS X. Use the boot flag nv_disable=1 to boot with the 980ti installed and then install the correct web drivers. Once the drivers are installed, remove the nv_disable=1 flag and add the flag nvda_drv=1.

DisplayPort is probably the best choice for connection. I am using DP with a Dell U2415 without any issues.

2) Haven't touched sound yet, figured if I have to do a fresh install I should focus on the biggest problem so far.

Use this for your audio - https://github.com/toleda/audio_CloverALC

3) Do I need to do a fresh install of El Capitan?

Depends on if you messed something up and can't remember what you did. Sometimes though it is just best to start over if you are unsure.

4) Can I use El Capitan? It's not a deal breaker, I can go to Yosemete in a heart beat if it means getting this thing running fully.

El Capitan works just fine. But, as always will require some troubleshooting.

5)???? Other issues yet to be discovered.

You are likely to have USB issues with El Capitan. You will need to do some reading here - http://www.tonymacx86.com/el-capitan-laptop-support/173616-guide-10-11-usb-changes-solutions.html
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2015
Messages
11
Motherboard
Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark1
CPU
i&-4790K
Graphics
Nvidia Geforce GTX 980 ti
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I tried switching it to 14,2 as you suggested but that didn't work.

I wanted to try and start fresh but that didn't work either. I am now getting an issue where it hangs 3/4 at the apple logo and I get a spinning wheel.
 

slim.jim

Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
4,258
Motherboard
MSI Z97 Gaming 9 AC
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I tried switching it to 14,2 as you suggested but that didn't work.

I wanted to try and start fresh but that didn't work either. I am now getting an issue where it hangs 3/4 at the apple logo and I get a spinning wheel.

boot using -v to see where it hangs
 
Joined
Dec 7, 2015
Messages
25
Motherboard
Sabertooth Z97 Mark 2-USB3.1
CPU
I7-4790K
Graphics
GTX 980
Mac
  1. iMac
On #1 - Where and when do you remove the boot flag? Do you restart and load again?
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2015
Messages
11
Motherboard
Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark1
CPU
i&-4790K
Graphics
Nvidia Geforce GTX 980 ti
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
There are two places I can change the boot flags (that I know of)

First is inside clover configuration when I get logged into El Capitan. This adds the boot flags and keeps them there. The guide I followed had me use clover configurator to tell my hardwhere what version of mac I was using. I currently have it set to 14,2 at slim.jim's advice and on the boot screen I had unchecked nv_disable=1 and checked nvda_drv=1. The guide had also had me check bootless=1(?) as well.

The other way is when I power on the computer and get to the clover bootup screen that always comes up. That screen gives me the option to boot to another drive (like a flash drive, etc) or El Capitan or the recovery drive (which i have yet to figure out what this is used for). Here when I change the flags it only applies to that boot. Since the web driver is not working, I've been removing nvda_drv=1 and bootless=1 and adding nv_disable=1 to get into El Capitan to continue troubleshooting.

When i go in to look at the flags right now, it has dart=1, and then whatever else is here. If I need to boot in, currently I remove everything to read dart=1, nv_disable=1 and that gets me in. If I try with dart=1, nvda_drv=1 it will load the apple logo to about halfway and shut down.

When you I first installed El Capitan my boot flags were dart=1, nv_disable=1.
Are you saying I should add -v to the end of those boot flags and see what happens? From my readings it sounds like the -v creates a log or something that will give me more info?
 

slim.jim

Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
4,258
Motherboard
MSI Z97 Gaming 9 AC
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
There are two places I can change the boot flags (that I know of)

First is inside clover configuration when I get logged into El Capitan. This adds the boot flags and keeps them there. The guide I followed had me use clover configurator to tell my hardwhere what version of mac I was using. I currently have it set to 14,2 at slim.jim's advice and on the boot screen I had unchecked nv_disable=1 and checked nvda_drv=1. The guide had also had me check bootless=1(?) as well.

The other way is when I power on the computer and get to the clover bootup screen that always comes up. That screen gives me the option to boot to another drive (like a flash drive, etc) or El Capitan or the recovery drive (which i have yet to figure out what this is used for). Here when I change the flags it only applies to that boot. Since the web driver is not working, I've been removing nvda_drv=1 and bootless=1 and adding nv_disable=1 to get into El Capitan to continue troubleshooting.

When i go in to look at the flags right now, it has dart=1, and then whatever else is here. If I need to boot in, currently I remove everything to read dart=1, nv_disable=1 and that gets me in. If I try with dart=1, nvda_drv=1 it will load the apple logo to about halfway and shut down.

When you I first installed El Capitan my boot flags were dart=1, nv_disable=1.
Are you saying I should add -v to the end of those boot flags and see what happens? From my readings it sounds like the -v creates a log or something that will give me more info?

-v is verbose mode. You won't see the Apple logo and progress bar but instead lines of text scrolling as the system loads. Sometimes it can give clues as to why it is failing to boot.

You should do this using nvda_drv=1 instead of nv_disable=1 because we want to see why it is failing.
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2015
Messages
8
Motherboard
Asus Z97-A
CPU
i7 4790k
Graphics
Zotac GTX 980 Ti AMP EXTREME
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hi Jim

I installed el capitan 11.2 a few days ago following the clover-unibeast-multibest guide And set 14,2 imac profile.

My video card is recognised as correctly as Zotac Gtx 980 ti but only with 0Mb. That could be just cosmetic but when I installed the new web drivers and rebooted I still only get native osx graphics and every time I switch to nvidia and reboot the system just nothing happens.

Tried terminal command nvda drv 1 but still not able to take advantage of my gtx 980 ti

What is the solution please?

Many thanks for your help.
 

slim.jim

Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
4,258
Motherboard
MSI Z97 Gaming 9 AC
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi Jim

I installed el capitan 11.2 a few days ago following the clover-unibeast-multibest guide And set 14,2 imac profile.

My video card is recognised as correctly as Zotac Gtx 980 ti but only with 0Mb. That could be just cosmetic but when I installed the new web drivers and rebooted I still only get native osx graphics and every time I switch to nvidia and reboot the system just nothing happens.

Tried terminal command nvda drv 1 but still not able to take advantage of my gtx 980 ti

What is the solution please?

Many thanks for your help.

The 0Mb means that you have Inject/Nvidia set to True when it should be false.

nvda_drv=1 is not a terminal command. It should be entered as a boot argument in your Clover config.plist.
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2015
Messages
8
Motherboard
Asus Z97-A
CPU
i7 4790k
Graphics
Zotac GTX 980 Ti AMP EXTREME
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
The 0Mb means that you have Inject/Nvidia set to True when it should be false.

nvda_drv=1 is not a terminal command. It should be entered as a boot argument in your Clover config.plist.

I'm sorry but not sure how to set from true to false and how to edit clover config.plist? Done so much research in the last couple of days I'm lost totally and can't find it.

Thanks for your response
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top