Contribute
Register

Nvidia GTX 760, It works, but not on 100% performance

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jan 22, 2018
Messages
5
Motherboard
Dell T5500
CPU
2x 3,46 Ghz 6-Core Intel Xeon
Graphics
NVIDIA GTX 760 4GB
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello Guys!

I have a Dell T5500 Precision (2x5690, 48GB ram etc), it works like a charm (ok, sometimes when i hit shutdown its just restarted), but everything else is semms ok, but the GPU. Cinebench score under win 10 85fps, but on high sierra, its just 56fps, and i feel the poornes in Premiere and FCPX also.

Webdriver installed, 2 display works, the macOS seems ok,

Can you help me with this? Thank you!
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
26,071
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p700
CPU
2x E5-2620 V3
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Joined
Mar 3, 2011
Messages
108
Motherboard
ASUS H270 Plus
CPU
i5-7600K
Graphics
AMD RX 570 4 GB
An dont compare WIN Speed OpenGL & OS X.
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2018
Messages
5
Motherboard
Dell T5500
CPU
2x 3,46 Ghz 6-Core Intel Xeon
Graphics
NVIDIA GTX 760 4GB
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
okeey, but here is the thing:
with native driver use, there is no cuda support and i felt a bit slower than with the nvidia web
fcpx is has half of the speed of premiere pro, according to a real mac performance its need to be the opposite :D Final cut need to be way more faster and stable :)

i know that Windows will be faster in rendering a bit, but after a year win using, i would like to use macOS again :)

one more thing:
if i open chrome, the machine restarts :D i know, i should use safari, but is there a workaround for this?

spec:
Dell T5500
2x 6 core Intel Xeon (x5690)
48GB 1333 Mhz DDR3
High Sierra 10.13.3 on SSD
NVIDIA GTX 760 4GB
Up-to-date Clover
flags: dart=0, kext-dev-mode=1

thank you very much
cheers
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 26, 2013
Messages
13
Motherboard
motherboard or system make & model # > See Rules!
CPU
i7 > need model # > See Rules!
Graphics
Nvidia > need model # > See Rules!
okeey, but here is the thing:
with native driver use, there is no cuda support and i felt a bit slower than with the nvidia web
fcpx is has half of the speed of premiere pro, according to a real mac performance its need to be the opposite :D Final cut need to be way more faster and stable :)

i know that Windows will be faster in rendering a bit, but after a year win using, i would like to use macOS again :)

one more thing:
if i open chrome, the machine restarts :D i know, i should use safari, but is there a workaround for this?

spec:
Dell T5500
2x 6 core Intel Xeon (x5690)
48GB 1333 Mhz DDR3
High Sierra 10.13.3 on SSD
NVIDIA GTX 760 4GB
Up-to-date Clover
flags: dart=0, kext-dev-mode=1

thank you very much
cheers

I must ask you what ver off clover? because I can't boot up to High Sierra with this Graphic card.....GTX760 works with Sierra. :(
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2018
Messages
5
Motherboard
Dell T5500
CPU
2x 3,46 Ghz 6-Core Intel Xeon
Graphics
NVIDIA GTX 760 4GB
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I must ask you what ver off clover? because I can't boot up to High Sierra with this Graphic card.....GTX760 works with Sierra. :(
flags: nv_disable=1 kext-dev-mode=1 dart=0, maybe with nvvida injection, but it needs to work without it also.
latest clover
 
Joined
May 27, 2018
Messages
1
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VII Gene
CPU
Intel Core i7 4790K
Graphics
Nvidia Geforce GTX 760
I am having the same problems getting high Sierra to run with the graphics card. I didn't have problems on Sierra, but I did a clean install this time and I can't boot into the OS without safe mode.
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
26,071
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p700
CPU
2x E5-2620 V3
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I am having the same problems getting high Sierra to run with the graphics card. I didn't have problems on Sierra, but I did a clean install this time and I can't boot into the OS without safe mode.
You should read the rules, in particular the one regarding profiles.

The GTX 760 works out of the box - Just plug it in and go.
If it doesn't work for you then maybe your config.plist is wrong.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top