Contribute
Register

Nvidia Drivers for Mojave 10.14 Not Available, no WorkAround works well

Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
4,461
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170M D3H
CPU
i5-6500
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
iMac
Hello. Guys, I need advice.
I want to change the GTX 1060 3GB to an AMD Radeon Hd 7970 3 GB.
Does this video card support 10.14.?
And is this a normal exchange?
The video card is as follows:
https://www.ebay.com/itm/AMD-Radeon-HD-7970-3GB-Video-card-for-Mac-Pro-4K-Boot-Screen-7950-280X-680/112774928158?hash=item1a41e8d71e:g:mdIAAOSwkRpZnCWu:rk:6:pf:0
An RX 580 would be a better performer than that card. Unless your running Yosemite or El Capitan the RX card is better and uses about half the power for higher performance. RX 470-580 cards will work in Sierra, High Sierra and Mojave.
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2016
Messages
123
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X Gaming 3
CPU
I7-7700K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
128K, 512K, Plus, Portable, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hello. Guys, I need advice.
I want to change the GTX 1060 3GB to an AMD Radeon Hd 7970 3 GB.
Does this video card support 10.14.?
And is this a normal exchange?
The video card is as follows:
https://www.ebay.com/itm/AMD-Radeon-HD-7970-3GB-Video-card-for-Mac-Pro-4K-Boot-Screen-7950-280X-680/112774928158?hash=item1a41e8d71e:g:mdIAAOSwkRpZnCWu:rk:6:pf:0
I'm actually running that AMD card in R9 280X guise on my i5 and I have the RX 580 on my i7. I think the 280X is a fantastic card if you can get it for $100. At $140, spend another $100 and get the RX $580 with the 8 gig. Worth the update.
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2017
Messages
6
Motherboard
H81M-R
CPU
i3-4330
Graphics
RX 570
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thanks for the help. I will not buy 7970
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2018
Messages
141
Motherboard
AsusPro B9440UA-Clover
CPU
i5-7200U
Graphics
HD 620, 1920 x 1080
Mac
Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
I am loving the feedback I am getting from you all. Thank you. I can understand how power consumption can be an issue.

But I will also agree that at least in the case of Hackintosh I’d rather get something that works out of the box without worrying how many centuries it’ll take a company to release a driver, especially since the latest feedback we got from them included the “if and when” words in it.

Whenever a new version of software comes out, I am itchy to have it (and yes I got the Windows update that was deleting data too lol). So if AMD is the way to go, and power consumption is the only issue then I’m ok with that.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2018
Messages
141
Motherboard
AsusPro B9440UA-Clover
CPU
i5-7200U
Graphics
HD 620, 1920 x 1080
Mac
Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
best statement I have read so far today. ! thanks for making my day. (although it is not so funny losing the files.. )
I was lucky in the fact that I didn't keep anything in the Windows SSD, I use OneDrive, a separate 5TB HDD and a USB 500GB external drive for my important files, so I basically didn't lose anything, but it did cause a problem with my Premiere Pro. I am in Europe, so I have the N version of Windows, which means some features of the OS are omitted.

Premiere Pro needs the Windows Media Feature Pack to work, and after this update, I got a "couldn't find so-and-so.dll" error, and wouldn't run. This Microsoft pisses me off sometimes. :banghead:

Not only their update was so crappy that they rolled it back, not only they remove the Windows Media Feature Packs with each major update (making me re-download it every single time), but they also removed the link to download it again for the crappy 1809 version of Windows I now had on my computer. Thank goodness for booting into Hackintosh huh? :lol:

Eventually I had to reinstall Windows with the working previous 1803 version to get it sorted, as I was playing with the Hackintosh trying to get my audio to recognize the rest of my jacks, and I messed up somewhere, and now I need to reinstall macOS again. :crazy: This housewife is tripping. :lol:
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2016
Messages
61
Motherboard
Asus Rog Maximus IX Formula
CPU
i7-7700K - 5Ghz
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Just placed my Nitro+ Vega 64 and it does work OOB!
Connected my two monitors (one =4k and one 2560*1440) via DP.
Two things I need to figure out:
- boot screen bios is low res, on my 1080 Ti it was max res
- clover boot screen is also very low res, tried to increase it in the config file but that is ignored
Minor issues but a bit annoying.
The card is silent when in idle but makes more noise when put to work compared to my 1080 Ti.
Sound is now always selectable via my monitor (DP).
Works in HS 10.13.6 an Mojave 10.14.0, I have Whatevergreen installed but will try later if I need it.
I see that some users see no difference with or without.
No regrets so far
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2014
Messages
21
Motherboard
Asrock z390 Pro4
CPU
i3-8100
Graphics
RX580
Mac
Mac mini, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I am still wondering why anyone with a hackintosh is still waiting on Nvidia. I picked up a refurb RX 560 from Newegg on eBay for about $60. Works perfect. No hassle install.
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2012
Messages
43
Motherboard
Asus B85M-E/CSM
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
$60 is a tempting price indeed, but the cheapest 560 refurb on ebay is currently $89... looks like you got a good deal!
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2016
Messages
185
Motherboard
Asus X299 Prime Deluxe - Clover
CPU
i9-7900X
Graphics
GTX 1080 TI + Vega 56
I've just put a vega 56 in my box with my current GTX1080ti, will wait to see how this turns out before selling my Nvidia, as it's still more powerful and better power consumption, although may end up keeping both to change between when Nvidia drivers are not available now that I have them both working together

Interestingly was searching on google for any updates and saw a post on apple community, clicked the link and see that the post seems to be deleted .. wonder if it's really apple that's slowing this down ?

apple.jpeg

https://discussions.apple.com/thread/8585257
 
Top