Contribute
Register

Nvidia 550Ti Sleep / Wake / Freeze Thread

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jul 8, 2012
Messages
66
Motherboard
Intel DH55TC
CPU
Intel Core i7-870
Graphics
Gigabyte 550ti OC
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Now I have configured my hack as iMac12,1, attached the relative AGPM kext. Anyway if you prefer MacPro5,1 you can copy the value to MacPro5,1 section, the behavior should be the same.
But the most important think is to install the new FakeSMC, relative plugin and the new HWMonitor (that you can download from https://github.com/kozlek/HWSensors or direct install from the last Multibeast) and use it to see the clock of your GPU Core. Normally should stay to 405Mhz (with low GPU temperature 30-35°) and should go up only when running intensive graphics apps. But should never go down to 50 Mhz (state 3, problematic for OSX).

36400d1351640718-nvidia-550ti-sleep-wake-freeze-thread-screen-shot-2012-10-30-5.44.44-pm.png

This is right after installing your AGPM into MacPro5,1. Help?
Edit: It switches to 405mhz a few minutes after boot, but what worries me is that it still uses g-state 3:
attachment.php

(ignore the failed to load messages, that was me being silly)
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2012-10-30 at 5.44.44 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2012-10-30 at 5.44.44 PM.png
    97.1 KB · Views: 2,459
  • Screen Shot 2012-10-30 at 5.57.10 PM.jpg
    Screen Shot 2012-10-30 at 5.57.10 PM.jpg
    200.2 KB · Views: 2,493
Last edited by a moderator:
I

inactive-user

Guest
Maybe some one can give me a hand on AGPM?

As i had not one entry in console about AGPM i have now changed the profile from MacPro3.1 to MacPro5.1

Now i have only two entries. i have attached a image. Also on the same image you can se HWMonitor App i have now GPU Core 50MHz, before with MacPro3,1 i had 405MHz

Can someone tell me what the next step is to get more entries in the Console? what i need to edit to get the 405MHz?

Thanks
 

Attachments

  • Bildschirmfoto 2012-10-31 um 03.57.45.jpg
    Bildschirmfoto 2012-10-31 um 03.57.45.jpg
    183.5 KB · Views: 264
Joined
Jul 8, 2012
Messages
66
Motherboard
Intel DH55TC
CPU
Intel Core i7-870
Graphics
Gigabyte 550ti OC
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Maybe some one can give me a hand on AGPM?

As i had not one entry in console about AGPM i have now changed the profile from MacPro3.1 to MacPro5.1

Now i have only two entries. i have attached a image. Also on the same image you can se HWMonitor App i have now GPU Core 50MHz, before with MacPro3,1 i had 405MHz

Can someone tell me what the next step is to get more entries in the Console? what i need to edit to get the 405MHz?

Thanks
Using the native AGPM didn't work for me, so I used aolivero's AGPM. Just rename iMac12,1 to MacPro5,1 and rename the other MacPro5,1 entry to something stupid, like MacPro10,1.

aolivero, are you using a legacy AGPM, because yours worked, while the native one didn't?
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2011
Messages
15
Motherboard
Asus G750JM
CPU
i7-4710HQ
Graphics
HD 4600
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
When using aolivero's AGPM on eVGA 550Ti with iMac 12.1 smbios, my GPU core stays constant at 951 Mhz, despite any changes in graphics use.
 
Joined
Oct 31, 2012
Messages
4
Motherboard
Gigabyte B75M-D3V
CPU
Core i5 3470
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 550 Ti
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Joined
Aug 3, 2012
Messages
17
CPU
Intel I5 3570K
Graphics
GTX 660
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey guys
dumb question:

I was trying to follow aolivero's post http://www.tonymacx86.com/mountain-...i-sleep-wake-freeze-thread-10.html#post464818

but somehow I messed up at 3) c) that after I ran one of the lines i deleted all three framework folders (OpenGL.framework etc) and restarted the machine

now I can't pass the startup screen

I have the installation stick and can get to Terminal, how can I fix the system?

Or I have to reinstall......

thanks guys!!
 
Joined
May 18, 2012
Messages
6
Motherboard
Asus P8Z77-M
CPU
i5 3570k
Graphics
NVIDIA 550Ti
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Boot the OSX partition off of the USB bootloader, and with the -x flag. See if you can get it to boot into the OS. If it does, then reapply your frameworks.

Hey guys
dumb question:

I was trying to follow aolivero's post http://www.tonymacx86.com/mountain-...i-sleep-wake-freeze-thread-10.html#post464818

but somehow I messed up at 3) c) that after I ran one of the lines i deleted all three framework folders (OpenGL.framework etc) and restarted the machine

now I can't pass the startup screen

I have the installation stick and can get to Terminal, how can I fix the system?

Or I have to reinstall......

thanks guys!!
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
43
Motherboard
Zotac ZBox MI551
CPU
i5-6400T/H170
Graphics
HD 530
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello everyone.

I installed 10.8.2 from USB stick, then followed the instructions in post #945 using the attached file in post #1003

When I got to the part of the terminal commands to install the frameworks, there were some PAM related errors. Unfortunately I didn't copy them.

Despite this, all looked ok. Sleep, wake, etc. The issues I have are in the videos attached. I also noticed that when I log in to ML the GPU and memory clocks are low (guess it should be like that because I'm not using 3D or something like that). If I use some 3D apllication the clocks bump up and never get down again, even after I stopped using the 3D.

Here are the videos:
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/2790660/oceanwave.mov
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/2790660/bench.mov

What do you make of this? Thank you all

edit: when I issue these commands
sudo ditto --hfsCompression OpenGL.framework /System/Library/Frameworks/OpenGL.framework

sudo ditto --hfsCompression OpenCL.framework /System/Library/Frameworks/OpenCL.framework

I get sudo: unable to initialize PAM: No such file or directory
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2011
Messages
250
Motherboard
ASUS Zenbook UX310UA
CPU
i7-7500U
Graphics
HD 620, 1920x1080
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
edit: when I issue these commands
sudo ditto --hfsCompression OpenGL.framework /System/Library/Frameworks/OpenGL.framework

sudo ditto --hfsCompression OpenCL.framework /System/Library/Frameworks/OpenCL.framework

I get sudo: unable to initialize PAM: No such file or directory

It has been commented before that the related PAM errors are normal, so it's nothing to worry about because the files are copied fine depite the PAM error.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top