Contribute
Register

Nvidia 550Ti Sleep / Wake / Freeze Thread

Joined
Aug 22, 2011
Messages
37
Motherboard
GA-Z77-DS3H
CPU
i7 3770K
Graphics
GTX 660
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Xserve
Mobile Phone
iOS
Edit: After some restarting and running kext utility flash and quicktime seem to work. Thanks again
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2011
Messages
19
Motherboard
Yosemite 10.10
CPU
Xeon X5650
Graphics
Nvidia GTS 970 ddr5 4gb ram
Mac
Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thanks man Vczilla
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2012
Messages
124
Motherboard
GA-Z68A-D3H-B3
CPU
Intel i7 2600K Sandy Bridge
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
vczilla, one word BEAST!


Thanks!
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2011
Messages
5
Motherboard
HP Desktop 10.8.2
CPU
intel i5
Graphics
Nvidia 550Ti
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
If you are still getting " kernel[0]: NVDA(OpenGL): Channel timeout! " on your logs.. I finally found out it has to do with your AGPM file (AppleGraphicsPowerManagement.kext) I updated mine using this link: http://goo.gl/im2QZ

I have also attached my working one :) Mine is modified in the 12,1 section... If you don't know what I mean, you'll figure it out easily enough.. Use the included Plist editor.
 

Attachments

Joined
Jun 24, 2011
Messages
2
Motherboard
GA-Z77-DS3H
CPU
i5-2400s
Graphics
Nvidia 520GT
Mac
iMac
Classic Mac
eMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
vcZilla, thank you. What you have done here is nothing short of genius!
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2011
Messages
5
Motherboard
HP Desktop 10.8.2
CPU
intel i5
Graphics
Nvidia 550Ti
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
New Update and Great News!

Using the procedure from vczilla and setting your smbios to MacPro 2,1 works wonders! Now Im running even faster than when I had 10.8.1! And I had no problems with any of the boot up procedures or any problems reported using Console. Graphics are snappier than ever. I even have sleep/wake working with no problems. Without a doubt the problem with NVDA timing out and giving random errors is related to AGPM. The MacPro 2,1 is not even in the AppleGraphicsPowerManagement.kext but for some reason it works.

Check out my GeekBench scores... http://goo.gl/8xvOJ

I think I won't be coming back to this thread for a while.. hehe

Thanks for everything guys.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2012
Messages
23
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H
CPU
Intel Core i7
Graphics
GTX 550ti
This time it's final! (At least I hope).

If you want some OpenCL goodness, you'll have to apply this patch (for more info about this, read my earlier post on the subject):

Code:
sudo perl -p -i.old -e '$c+=s/\x8b\x81\x1c\x0c\x00\x00\xeb\x06\x8b\x81\x20\x0c\x00\x00/\xb8\x02\x00\x00\x00\x90\xeb\x06\xb8\x00\x00\x00\x00\x90/; END { printf "%s: %d substitution%s made.\n",($c==1 ? "Success" : "Error"),$c,(!$c || $c>1 ? "s" : ""); $?=($c!=1); } ' /System/Library/Extensions/GeForceGLDriver.bundle/Contents/MacOS/libclh.dylib
Here is where i get that error:
Code:
Error: 0 substitutions made.
Any thoughts?
Thanks

Nico
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2011
Messages
22
Motherboard
ASRock Z370M-ITX/ac
CPU
i5-8400
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
I have a problem, I tried to follow the procedures vczilla, I installed the 10.8.2 update I rebooted, I made ​​a backup of drivers using the first command of the procedure, when I try to install the nvidia driver 304.00.00f20 me an error No need driver update.
 
Joined
Jul 8, 2012
Messages
67
Motherboard
Intel DH55TC
CPU
Intel Core i7-870
Graphics
Gigabyte 550ti OC
Mac
iMac, MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
Android
Find archive.pax.gz inside the nvidia package in the Finder, use kext utility to install.
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2011
Messages
17
Motherboard
Intel
CPU
2.67
Graphics
550Ti
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Well it's a partial fix for me here.

Partial in the sense that vczilla's method worked to get me into 10.8.2 and get my monitor(s) working and all that. But I still seem to have the same problems I've had since 10.8.0, namely, Quicktime hangs (briefly) when going into full screen/going out of full screen and it hangs when I'm watching a video in quicktime for a certain period of time. And also i still get the sleep hangs :(

I've never had it working properly.
 
Top