Nvidea 8400GS OpenGL framerate problem SOLVED!

Discussion in 'Graphics' started by VideoBeagle, Apr 9, 2011.

  1. VideoBeagle

    VideoBeagle

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Mobo:
    OS X 10.6 (Snow Leopard)
    CPU:
    Dell Optiplex 755 2.5ghz Core 2 Duo
    Graphics:
    Asus EN8400GS
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, SE
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    Apr 9, 2011 at 2:37 AM #1
    VideoBeagle

    VideoBeagle

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Mobo:
    OS X 10.6 (Snow Leopard)
    CPU:
    Dell Optiplex 755 2.5ghz Core 2 Duo
    Graphics:
    Asus EN8400GS
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, SE
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    So...we've been dumb.

    To recap, we get the cards running with QE/CI but Cinebench gives us 6fps for OpenGL test.

    We've been trying different hacks, different configs....and the one thing we didn't try...was a different testing program.

    I was curious how my Power Mac G5 would work, so I went looking for a compatible program.

    I found GLView - OpenGL Extensions Viewer at kexts.com
    It tests OpenGL versions 1.1-3.3

    I noticed that my G5's card doesn't do 3.0 and above.
    I then remembered that a friend I'd talked to about this suggested that a 2011 program might not be able to test a 2004 (or whatever) tech card.
    It's a Universal program so it'd run on Power PC's and Intel macs.

    One file transfer later, and I'm seeing frame rates above 300 for OpenGL versions below 3.0 and nothing for above.

    http://www.kexts.com/view/1034-glview.html

    (hopefully someone who's more familiar with this kind of stuff can explore/explain the program more).
     

    Attached Files:

    • Screen shot 2011-04-08 at 7.33.27 PM.png  (84 KB, 172 views)
  2. tylerrelyt

    tylerrelyt

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Apr 9, 2011 at 5:52 PM #2
    tylerrelyt

    tylerrelyt

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    so cinebench isn't able to test the card? I dunno man install a game and see how it runs, by the way that movie looked in cinebench it was definitely only giving my 6fps. When i ran novabench it wasn't looking too cripsy either
     
  3. VideoBeagle

    VideoBeagle

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Mobo:
    OS X 10.6 (Snow Leopard)
    CPU:
    Dell Optiplex 755 2.5ghz Core 2 Duo
    Graphics:
    Asus EN8400GS
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, SE
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    Apr 9, 2011 at 7:49 PM #3
    VideoBeagle

    VideoBeagle

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Mobo:
    OS X 10.6 (Snow Leopard)
    CPU:
    Dell Optiplex 755 2.5ghz Core 2 Duo
    Graphics:
    Asus EN8400GS
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, SE
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    I've tried OpenMark (http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/15242/openmark) XBench (http://www.xbench.com/) and smallOpenGL FPS Bench (http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/34981/ ... -fps-bench) and they seem to go along with my theory.

    The GLView, though is the newest of the programs (upated in 2/11), and gives the most comprehensive answers.

    The answer to everything may be in their site: http://www.realtech-vr.com/glview/extensions.html There's a lot there, but I don't understand enough yet to fully get it.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Screen shot 2011-04-09 at 12.37.27 PM.png  (37.6 KB, 126 views)
    • Screen shot 2011-04-09 at 12.35.31 PM.png  (37.3 KB, 128 views)
    • Screen shot 2011-04-09 at 12.24.24 PM.png  (2 MB, 169 views)
  4. VideoBeagle

    VideoBeagle

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Mobo:
    OS X 10.6 (Snow Leopard)
    CPU:
    Dell Optiplex 755 2.5ghz Core 2 Duo
    Graphics:
    Asus EN8400GS
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, SE
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    Apr 9, 2011 at 11:31 PM #4
    VideoBeagle

    VideoBeagle

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Mobo:
    OS X 10.6 (Snow Leopard)
    CPU:
    Dell Optiplex 755 2.5ghz Core 2 Duo
    Graphics:
    Asus EN8400GS
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, SE
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    Portal seems to play fine. Don't know if there's a way to make it show the fps while running, though. :crazy:

    --

    Loaded Second Life with the FPS showing and was getting teens-30s fps.
     
  5. tylerrelyt

    tylerrelyt

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Apr 11, 2011 at 12:36 AM #5
    tylerrelyt

    tylerrelyt

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    installed wc3 last night.. and it runs great with the graphics maxed out. ur probably right.. cinebench probabaly tests for openGL 3.0 or something. This card is pretty old eh? Anyway i guess it doesn't matter about system profiler not recognizing it. Now i just gotta wait till monday for this damn micro-sata adapter so i can do one final install on my 1.8 inch SSD. This computer is working great. Only thing is sometimes if i let it sit too long it doesn't wake up from sleep or hibernation or whatever it is. Probably will do a build/install guide for my hardware cuz it was soooo fuckin easy but i might not (cuz it was so fuckin easy lol). Bigups to everybody.
     
  6. VideoBeagle

    VideoBeagle

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Mobo:
    OS X 10.6 (Snow Leopard)
    CPU:
    Dell Optiplex 755 2.5ghz Core 2 Duo
    Graphics:
    Asus EN8400GS
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, SE
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    Apr 11, 2011 at 5:31 AM #6
    VideoBeagle

    VideoBeagle

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Mobo:
    OS X 10.6 (Snow Leopard)
    CPU:
    Dell Optiplex 755 2.5ghz Core 2 Duo
    Graphics:
    Asus EN8400GS
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, SE
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    Yeah, Sleep is the last thing that isn't working on mine. I just disabled sleep in power settings, but I'll keep looking around for an answer.
     
  7. Dino Forino

    Dino Forino

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    P55M-UD2
    CPU:
    i5 750
    Graphics:
    Nvidia 8400gs
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Apr 11, 2011 at 8:00 AM #7
    Dino Forino

    Dino Forino

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    P55M-UD2
    CPU:
    i5 750
    Graphics:
    Nvidia 8400gs
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    ive gotten my 8400 gs 512mb working fully is there anyway to get two working at the same time just cant do it tried all options.
     
  8. VideoBeagle

    VideoBeagle

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Mobo:
    OS X 10.6 (Snow Leopard)
    CPU:
    Dell Optiplex 755 2.5ghz Core 2 Duo
    Graphics:
    Asus EN8400GS
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, SE
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    Apr 11, 2011 at 4:07 PM #8
    VideoBeagle

    VideoBeagle

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Mobo:
    OS X 10.6 (Snow Leopard)
    CPU:
    Dell Optiplex 755 2.5ghz Core 2 Duo
    Graphics:
    Asus EN8400GS
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, SE
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    How "fully working" is fully working?

    Does system profiler Identify the card, or does it say "unknown NVIDIA card"? Dual monitor support? all ports work? QE/CI?

    As for 2 cards...do they have the same ID? Just because they're the same card doesn't guarantee it's the same id, apparently.
     

Share This Page