Contribute
Register

No power-off no sleep

Joined
Mar 31, 2014
Messages
45
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z97X-UD3H
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
RX 580
I'm sorry to say, that I'm still struggling with sleep/reboot.
Other than in my previous post (where I said 'problem solved'), I'm still on 14,2 system definition. I did edit config.plist with text editor and changed system definition entry there. Later I learned, that I'm still on a 14,2 system, although it seemed to be 15,2 but it was not.
Then Changing to 15.2 with clover configurator's magic wand tool left my display dark, too.
So I went back to 14,2
Still no sleep and no reboot but shutdown.

Strange, that my rack went to sleep once perfectly, don't remember the settings I had that time ...

10mania, how did you manage sleep working fine now?
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2016
Messages
62
Motherboard
Asus Maximus Ranger z170
CPU
intel i7 6700K
Graphics
Asus GTX 960 4GB
Mobile Phone
iOS
I'm sorry to say, that I'm still struggling with sleep/reboot.
Other than in my previous post (where I said 'problem solved'), I'm still on 14,2 system definition. I did edit config.plist with text editor and changed system definition entry there. Later I learned, that I'm still on a 14,2 system, although it seemed to be 15,2 but it was not.
Then Changing to 15.2 with clover configurator's magic wand tool left my display dark, too.
So I went back to 14,2
Still no sleep and no reboot but shutdown.

Strange, that my rack went to sleep once perfectly, don't remember the settings I had that time ...

10mania, how did you manage sleep working fine now?
I don't know how it works but since el capitan it is working partially. I mean it is not working completely well, it wakes up right after sleep happens, and runs for extra 30 seconds with fans working but no display, then it sleeps again. It is annoying but, I am living with it.

As for my settings, I am using system definition 6,1.

One interesting thing is, as I mentioned in my previous posts, I have another setup of sierra on different harddrive which perfectly shuts down and restarts. This makes me think that shutdown issue is related to a program running. The working setup is a try out installation, I mean no software installed.

Any ideas?
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2014
Messages
45
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z97X-UD3H
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
RX 580
I don't know how it works but since el capitan it is working partially. I mean it is not working completely well, it wakes up right after sleep happens, and runs for extra 30 seconds with fans working but no display, then it sleeps again. It is annoying but, I am living with it.

As for my settings, I am using system definition 6,1.

One interesting thing is, as I mentioned in my previous posts, I have another setup of sierra on different harddrive which perfectly shuts down and restarts. This makes me think that shutdown issue is related to a program running. The working setup is a try out installation, I mean no software installed.

Any ideas?
Do you have a network connection on this setup?
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2016
Messages
62
Motherboard
Asus Maximus Ranger z170
CPU
intel i7 6700K
Graphics
Asus GTX 960 4GB
Mobile Phone
iOS
Joined
Aug 2, 2011
Messages
44
Motherboard
10.12 Sierra on a GA-Z77X-UD5H
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
GTX 770 4GB
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I don't know how it works but since el capitan it is working partially. I mean it is not working completely well, it wakes up right after sleep happens, and runs for extra 30 seconds with fans working but no display, then it sleeps again. It is annoying but, I am living with it.

As for my settings, I am using system definition 6,1.

One interesting thing is, as I mentioned in my previous posts, I have another setup of sierra on different harddrive which perfectly shuts down and restarts. This makes me think that shutdown issue is related to a program running. The working setup is a try out installation, I mean no software installed.

Any ideas?
I support/confirm the theory: A piece of SW is running which is preventing shutdown - but I have no idea how to find out what it is at this stage (no way to login via network....)
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2015
Messages
4
Motherboard
Z97 anniversary
CPU
4790k
Graphics
GTX 750ti
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS,
Changing to iMac 15,1 leaves my display (on a NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 4095 MB) dark....and did not solve power-off on shutdown (verified via vnc).
Would be glad to get a hint (Clover settings, or kexts....)
Meanwhile Sleep/Wake-up works fine.

Hey Man~~
iMac 15.1 cannot be used if you got a Nvidia Graph Card on MB~~
At least that is what I found out on my MB.

shutdown/sleep/reboot not working.
my spec is
GTX 750Ti working fine with webdriver~~
i7 4790k
Z97 anniversary
imac 14,2

The EtherNet Card is provided by Intel~~ Still trying to fix the shutdown problem~
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2013
Messages
6
Motherboard
Z370M
CPU
i5-8400
Graphics
AMD RX570
Mac
iMac, MacBook Air
Classic Mac
Power Mac
I have same problem ... but it solve by clean install with new unibeat and multibeat.
Restart and shutdown fine.

GA-H87-H3D
Core i3
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2016
Messages
62
Motherboard
Asus Maximus Ranger z170
CPU
intel i7 6700K
Graphics
Asus GTX 960 4GB
Mobile Phone
iOS
I tried creating a new user and still no shutdown/restart.
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Messages
10,815
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H77N-WIFI
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
MacBook, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
I tried creating a new user and still no shutdown/restart.
Power off issues can be caused by USB problems. Sleep problems can be caused by no Powermanagement or USB issues. Make sure that X86PlatformPlugin, AppleLPC is loaded.
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2016
Messages
62
Motherboard
Asus Maximus Ranger z170
CPU
intel i7 6700K
Graphics
Asus GTX 960 4GB
Mobile Phone
iOS
Power off issues can be caused by USB problems. Sleep problems can be caused by no Powermanagement or USB issues. Make sure that X86PlatformPlugin, AppleLPC is loaded.
Could you tell me how to check them? thanks.
 
Top