Contribute
Register

No GPU Power Managment

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Mar 16, 2011
Messages
38
Motherboard
GA-Z77MX-D3H
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
Asus GTX 970
Now i have another issue:

After updating the web drivers, my cuds needs to be updated ! Has anyone else this issue ?
I can't find any new cuda drivers

Jazzman
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2013
Messages
4
Motherboard
GA-Z87X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4770K
Graphics
GTX 760
Great! Mine is also working with 10.9.3 update on asus gtx 760. Used nvidia web driver update and boot flag nvda_drv=1.

I also get an Update required from cuda. Updates will probably follow..?
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2013
Messages
289
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Mine didn't work on ML and still doesn't from 10.9 until 10.9.3.
My problem isn't the temperatures since My system is water-cooled (cpu, motherboard vrms) and with full load 1.06Ghz/7.01Ghz isn't going further than 46-47C but with apps such as Davinci Resolve and FCPX which when I use them I take the warning message that my gpu memory is full and I can't work my projects unless I do a restart.Also I have tested games such as World of Warcraft, Mortal Kombat Komplete Edition to check the behaviour of my gpu and isn't running well like when I will play wow for example at Win8.1 the framerate never drops like at Mavericks and some other games which are very light for my machine I experience very slow frame rates or the opposite which is turbo mode.I have read so many posts and I still didn't find the solution yet.Below Im uploading some screenshots of my machine in case anyone can help me. Last apps like preview and Photoshop upscale my gpu clocks instantly and when i close them the clocks are not going back to idle mode.Please guys help if you can I made this system for video editing and I experience so many problems with my gpu and i don't know what else to do... Screen Shot 2014-05-17 at 6.17.32 PM.jpgScreen Shot 2014-05-17 at 6.18.01 PM.jpgScreen Shot 2014-05-17 at 6.18.19 PM.jpgScreen Shot 2014-05-17 at 6.19.08 PM.jpg

System:
Intel i7 4770k
Asus Maximus VI Formula
Kingston 16GB C9 1600Mhz (4x4GB modules)
Asus GTX 770OC 2GB
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2012
Messages
508
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 7-F13
CPU
i7-8700K OC @ 5.1Ghz
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Performa
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
skroutz999, 310 is build in driver, it won't work until you use the WEB driver, which is now at 334. There is an alternate workaround though if you really want to, that's to take the opencl lib from web driver and replace the one in 310 driver. that fixes power management in 310 actually. Although honestly it's just better to actually boot on 334, it's so much newer with no doubt other improvements to 780 and titan, and of course REQUIRED for titan black or 780TI.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2013
Messages
289
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Thank you for your help MysticalOS,
I installed the 334 driver but when I check from Nvidia Driver Manager to use this one instead of default driver it doesn't let me do a restart (Restart is grey and can't be clicked) and it uses the default again.I did a few restarts and tried to use the new one as default but the os doesn't let me..Screen Shot 2014-05-19 at 1.10.18 AM.jpg

Any thoughts?
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2012
Messages
37
Motherboard
Mac mini 2.1
CPU
1,83GHZ core2duo
Graphics
intel gma950
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I didn't disable nvidia drivers, I had them activated, updated to 10.9.3, after the reboot nvda manager said that there was a driver update -> I updated the nvda driver and everything worked.

I couldn't be more happy with the 660 in my hackintosh :thumbup:

greetings from Gerplenty

muelleimer98
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2013
Messages
289
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Unfortunately in my case my gpu doesn't work properly...
As it seems the OS doesn't let me choose the nvidia web driver instead of default.
Is there any chance to find at least a modified info.plist that will help my gpu operate correctly?
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2013
Messages
289
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Wow its working!!
Muelleimer98 ty for ur help m8!
As it seems power management with a few programs I have tested so far such as Photoshop, Preview etc is working great.
So is there any limitation to my gpu with this string?
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2012
Messages
37
Motherboard
Mac mini 2.1
CPU
1,83GHZ core2duo
Graphics
intel gma950
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I'm happy that I could help!
No that string just tells chimera to boot with the nvda drivers. Full speed, in some programs a notch better, in others a noth worse performance, but nothing really mentionable.

Greetings from Germuch

muelleimer98
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top