Contribute
Register

No GPU Power Managment

Joined
Aug 1, 2011
Messages
17
Motherboard
Z87-A
CPU
i7-4770
Graphics
GTX 760
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
For my config: GA-Z87X-UD5H, Asus GTX760 DCII OC 2GB, chimera 2.2.1, I don't get any changes when GE=Yes. Same 1Ghz stuck when using quicklook.
GPU at 44C at the moment..
Tested a little further and at one point mine also gets stuck at 1.02, depends on which application I'm using. So might be something that is in your starting up and getting it stuck there. So Yes GE=Yes makes no difference in the long run either way.

Thanks
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2012
Messages
458
Motherboard
Asus X299 Prime Deluxe
CPU
i7-7980XE
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
MacBook Air
You need to edit the thresholds for G-states of your card.

The section of macmodel i'm using (for me it's iMac12,2)
GTX570 - DeviceID1086.
Code:
<key>iMac12,2</key>
            <dict>
                <key>Vendor10deDevice1086</key>
                 <dict>
                     <key>Heuristic</key>
                     <dict>
                         <key>ID</key>
                         <integer>0</integer>
                         <key>IdleInterval</key>
                         <integer>150</integer>
                         <key>SensorOption</key>
                         <integer>1</integer>
                         <key>SensorSampleRate</key>
                         <integer>4</integer>
                         <key>TargetCount</key>
                         <integer>5</integer>
                         <key>Threshold_High</key>
                         <array>
                             <integer>55</integer>
                             <integer>75</integer>
                             <integer>100</integer>
                         </array>
                         <key>Threshold_Low</key>
                         <array>
                             <integer>0</integer>
                             <integer>87</integer>
                             <integer>95</integer>
                         </array>
                     </dict>
                     <key>LogControl</key>
                     <integer>1</integer>
                     <key>control-id</key>
                     <integer>18</integer>
                 </dict>
                 <key>default-control-id</key>
                 <integer>18</integer>
            </dict>
For GTX570 there are 3 PM states ("Threshold_High/Low" sections). For any other card the number of states may differ.
I dont know how to find out the number of states at the particular card.
I have my system set up as Mac Pro 3,1 - but I've noticed a lot of folks with graphics cards have gone the way of iMac (12,2).. any reason for this?

I guess I would have to change my system definition regardless - as the MacPro3,1 doesn't seem to appear when opening up the AppleGraphicsPowerManagment.kext/Contents/Info.plist with TextWrangler.

Oh yeah I'm using a fresh install of 10.8.5 with a GTX570, Z77 UP5 TH & i5 3570K.

Last question - if this build is to be used mostly for video editing, is it really that beneficial to have GPU Management? I would like to get the most performance out of the system by running it in a 'high performance mode' and have tweaked the computer's power options so that sleep is disabled, disks never sleep etc...

I must mention that the machine will be used for music as well, but currently it is not too loud (louder than my personal tastes, but my DAWs don't have graphics cards), when running the graphics card with no power management.

Any advice would be much appreciated!
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2012
Messages
38
Motherboard
Mac mini 2.1
CPU
1,83GHZ core2duo
Graphics
intel gma950
Mac
Mac mini
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Android
Why are there so few people who can read and use this ability?
Changing the agpm.plist does not change anything, the clock bug is only related to the badly implemented opencl - the power management does not have to do anything with that.
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2012
Messages
155
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UD5H
CPU
i7 3770K 3.5 GHz
Graphics
NVIDIA GTX 760 4GB
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I have my system set up as Mac Pro 3,1 - but I've noticed a lot of folks with graphics cards have gone the way of iMac (12,2).. any reason for this?

Any advice would be much appreciated!
I use 12,3 (12,2 is similar) because I have an ivybridge processor (same as yours) and wanted CPU power management to work. I couldn't use the Macmini6,1 because I have a discreet GPU but an imac does.

this doesn't effect the OpenCL bug either way you choose :(
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2013
Messages
68
Motherboard
GA-X79s Up5 WiFi
CPU
i7 3930K 4.4 ghz
Graphics
GTX 760
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
Android
The fix worked for my MSI GTX 760 on 10.9.1 perfectly, too (which have the GK104 type like the GTX 670).
I tested it with Quicklook and Preview and the Freqs don't stuck at a high value; it go up and down like it should (see the screenshot).
On my H1 Hackintosh I have exactly the same issue.
OSX Mavericks 10.9.2 on mob GA X79s UP5, core i/ 3930k, EVGA GTX 760.
NOTE: either if you have the NVIDIA web driver or if you use stock OSX driver, it won't make any difference.
I just tested the thing in borth configurations and it works in the same way.
I also noticed Davinci Resolve Lite works way better with Mavericks stock driver than web driver, so I just forgot the web drivers for now, keeping the CUDA core up to date and active in case I need it to kick in during specific tasks (After Effects for instance).
I have put the graphics card in the ADOBE Premiere Pro/After Effects list, and I have the gpu acceleration active on both applications.

On a basis of dozen of tests here's what happens.
Boot from off, the GPU clock sit on 125 mhz, barely active:
GPU1.jpg

If I click on HWMonitor menu, nothing happens.
Gpu clock stays on idle, fresh, inactive.

It stays that way, being able to clock up and down, if I run Cinebench, for instance.
It throttle up to 1.10 or more, and once Cinebench ends the benchmark the clock slows down towartds the minimum.
It goes up to 1.25 ghz, with a optimum performance:
GPU2.1.jpg

Once is finished, it sits back to idle (purple line).
GPU2.jpg

The temperatures follow the rendering performance, going from 24 celsius to over 40, and then reducing again the temp to a decent minimum around 25 celsius.
Just a perfect power management.

If I go for Davinci Resolve lite, it's exactly the same story.
If I use my DAW (DP8) with dozens of plugons for a scoring project (including video sync) it works like a charm.
No issues.

As soon as I start using itunes, for instance, or preview, or quick look in finder, the gpu jumps to 1.07 ghz, wit themperatures around 35 celsius, and simply won't get beck to idle, no matter what:
GPU3.jpg

Is works the same if I use Final Cut Pro X 10.1.
Same thing if I go for Premiere Pro.
Same if I launch any OPEN CL benchmarks apps.
The clock goes to 1.07 ghz and simply won't get back to the minimum, loosing some of the power management features (it will be able to rise to 1.25 ghz again on a load of work and reduce again to 1.07 ghz, but it won't get back to its original idle status anymore until reboot).
Again, it seems the issue is with applications that uses OPEN CL.
Once enabled, the engine won't allow the gpu to get back to its idle status.

I was also considering the MacAndor fix:
http://www.tonymacx86.com/graphics/122777-fix-opencl-crash-gk110b-based-cards-19.html
but assigning the OPEN CL computation to the CPU it's not my cup of tea, because I prefer to get all the video load on the GPU, since I'm using CPU for other tasks (READ: complex audio computations in film-scoring sessions).

NOTE: after rebooting, the issue disappears and you can reply this fix a limited amount of time.
If I re-boot too many times in a row (let's say 6 to 10 times) the GPU clock won't reset anymore and I have to shut the machine down completely.
After I shut down the Hack and boot again, the clock is completely reset, and it sits at its original clock of 125 mhz, cold and silent.

So here's my guess: what if I install a GTX 680 instead?
On the Apple Support there's a list of graphics card supported, maybe it will make any difference using a different Graphics card?
http://support.apple.com/kb/ht4664
What if I install a Evga Geforce Gtx 680 Mac Edition, for instance?
http://www.evga.com/products/Specs/GPU.aspx?pn=da5dc70b-d8b1-4f97-8dd9-1f71e3fa1308
Maybe this is a known issue that occurs only with some GPU cards?
Any clue?

Cheers mates.
 
Joined
Aug 27, 2013
Messages
1
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Same here with real Mac Pro 3,1 with GTX690 after open OpenCL apps. im stuck to 914mhz :problem:

10.9.3 is out today or tomorrow because the beta in mac dev is remove.
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2013
Messages
68
Motherboard
GA-X79s Up5 WiFi
CPU
i7 3930K 4.4 ghz
Graphics
GTX 760
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
Android
Same here with real Mac Pro 3,1 with GTX690 after open OpenCL apps. im stuck to 914mhz :problem:

10.9.3 is out today or tomorrow because the beta in mac dev is remove.
Not yet available.
I'm just wondering if this issue is present even on Radeon cards, like R9 280x for instance, that it's supposed to be the brother for full HD screens in AMD world of GTX 770 or similar.
 
Top