Contribute
Register

No GPU Power Managment

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Dec 25, 2012
Messages
37
Motherboard
Mac mini 2.1
CPU
1,83GHZ core2duo
Graphics
intel gma950
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Here, 10.9.2 didn't change anything.
gtx 660 Gigabyte overclocked
I even tried editing agpm, which does not have anything to do with opencl and preview.app which causes the 1.03ghz

Greetings

muelleimer98
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2011
Messages
38
Motherboard
GA-Z77MX-D3H
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
Asus GTX 970
So, after all those updates (OSX, nVidia, Cuda, ect.), has anyone managed to get the frequency-bug of our kepler-cards out of our hackintoshes ? I mean, i tried every possible combination, but never was able to get a proper power management.
At least, my way of getting rid of it was the OpenCL-Fix (by macandor). With 10.9.2, i am having no issues so far, everything is smooth. I don't have the new nvidia drivers, becuase after the OpenCL-Fix i cannot install them !
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2012
Messages
464
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 7-F13
CPU
i7-8700K OC @ 5.1Ghz
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Performa
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Do you really want to slow down your system by crippling opencl to work off cpu only just to fix power management? 10.9 uses opencl in a lot of places and anything offloaded to GPU is a good thing. It doesn't really bother me at all that my GPU stays ramped up if it means working OpenCL on that gpu. I have 2 extra case fans on gpu anyways and it stays at 40C. It'd be nice if apple/nvidia would fix the bug, sure, but gutting opencl to "fix" it doesn't seem like ideal solution to me. Although maybe that just depends on how much opencl your apps use. I certainly wouldn't gut opencl if you use any pro apps though. If you do not use any pro apps, then all you might suffer is slightly slower preview/quicklook or other minor opencl things.
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2011
Messages
38
Motherboard
GA-Z77MX-D3H
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
Asus GTX 970
Just a (maybe) stupid question:

Are GTX-680-cards also affected by that OpenCL-Bug (stuck at high frequencies) or do those cards run well ??? I am asking because those old drivers from nvidia do support gtx-680-cards ! If this question is absolutely stupid, forgot it, i was never in here before :) !
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2014
Messages
373
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z87N-WIFI
CPU
i7-4770
Graphics
MSI GTX 760 ITX
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Just a (maybe) stupid question:

Are GTX-680-cards also affected by that OpenCL-Bug (stuck at high frequencies) or do those cards run well ??? I am asking because those old drivers from nvidia do support gtx-680-cards ! If this question is absolutely stupid, forgot it, i was never in here before :) !

If I am not mistaken, you should be able to install FakeSMC + Plugins + HWmonitor and see if your GPU is stuck at a higher frequency or if it throttles down. My 760 was stuck at 1006Mhz after using anything OpenCL related. With Macandor's patch, it idles at 135Mhz. I don't use the nVidia drivers as they added nothing.
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2011
Messages
22
Motherboard
Z390
CPU
I9 - 9900k
Graphics
UHD 630 & GTX 1070
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hope this thread is not completely dead
I hope this information might help one of us with this issue, to resolve it.

So I have MSI GTX 760 OC 2GB GDDR5 with Asus Z87-A motherboard. Now I have tried some options and found that when using GraphicsEnabler=Yes, which in my case unfortunately means losing HDMI Video and sound because only 2 screens work after when this is used. But the Graphics Card itself works as it should, clocks up and down no problem, temp are about 26c. I haven't don't much testing yet. When using no boot options for Graphics all my connections work including hdmi video/audio, but get minimum of 679MHz and GPU Heat stays around 34c. Most of the time gets stuck at 1.02MHz and never comes down.

So hope this information helps some that has more skills then I do at checking IO and drivers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top