Contribute
Register

No GPU Power Managment

Joined
Aug 10, 2013
Messages
29
Motherboard
GA-Z87M-D3H
CPU
Intel Core i5 4760K
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760 2048MB
Mac
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Second this! I am running on a gtx 760 and clock run up and down like they should. (especially when using quicklook and preview for pictures)
The fix worked for my MSI GTX 760 on 10.9.1 perfectly, too (which have the GK104 type like the GTX 670).
I tested it with Quicklook and Preview and the Freqs don't stuck at a high value; it go up and down like it should (see the screenshot).
I tested the power consumption of my whole system, too and it was around 65 Watts like in Windows 7. The temp of the GPU is around 29°C and the fans of the card is around 1020rpm in idyle.

gpu.png
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2012
Messages
417
Motherboard
Z370 AORUS Gaming 7-F13
CPU
i7-8700K OC @ 5.1Ghz
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Performa
Mobile Phone
iOS
No.

opencl still leaves card at full stock throttle. It's interesting that it leaves it at stock throttle though. My gpu sits at 979Mhz when full throttle is 1.1Ghz.

Personally this is a much better bug than the "B" card bug i spent months with. At least now GK110B are now right there with the "A" revs and earlier nvidia cards with the full throttle bug instead of crash bug :) That's once you take the opencl lib out of R331 package and replace the one in 10.9.2's geforceGL kext.
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2013
Messages
77
CPU
i7 4770K
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I followed the instructions and I can not use preview any more. In finder the pic files won't show and when I open a picture file with preview this is what I see;

Screen Shot 2014-02-22 at 14.51.05.png

GPU is at low clocks and Photoshop seems to work fine..

Update; After the boot and using the pc for a while, i wanted to reboot, and safari gave an error, then it didn't boot back. Had to login in single user mode and manually revert back to original OpenCl file or else the system would not boot. So make sure you have a backup before you attempt.
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2013
Messages
6
Motherboard
ASUS Maximum Ranger VIII Hero
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
gtx 970
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
My GTX 570 is working perfect since 10.9.2 without OpenCL Fixes what so ever only edited AppleGraphicsPowerManagement.kext:

Code:
<key>MacPro5,1</key>                <dict>
                    <key>Vendor10deDevice1081</key>
                    <dict>
                        <key>Heuristic</key>
                        <dict>
                            <key>ID</key>
                            <integer>0</integer>
                            <key>IdleInterval</key>
                            <integer>250</integer>
                            <key>SensorOption</key>
                            <integer>1</integer>
                            <key>SensorSampleRate</key>
                            <integer>4</integer>
                            <key>TargetCount</key>
                            <integer>5</integer>
                            <key>Threshold_High</key>
                            <array>
                                <integer>55</integer>
                                <integer>75</integer>
                                <integer>100</integer>
                            </array>
                            <key>Threshold_Low</key>
                            <array>
                                <integer>0</integer>
                                <integer>87</integer>
                                <integer>95</integer>
                            </array>
                        </dict>
                        <key>LogControl</key>
                        <integer>0</integer>
                        <key>control-id</key>
                        <integer>18</integer>
                    </dict>
                    <key>Vendor10deDevice1081</key>
                    <dict>
                        <key>Heuristic</key>
                        <dict>
                            <key>ID</key>
                            <integer>0</integer>
                            <key>IdleInterval</key>
                            <integer>250</integer>
                            <key>SensorOption</key>
                            <integer>1</integer>
                            <key>SensorSampleRate</key>
                            <integer>4</integer>
                            <key>TargetCount</key>
                            <integer>5</integer>
                            <key>Threshold_High</key>
                            <array>
                                <integer>55</integer>
                                <integer>75</integer>
                                <integer>100</integer>
                            </array>
                            <key>Threshold_Low</key>
                            <array>
                                <integer>0</integer>
                                <integer>87</integer>
                                <integer>95</integer>
                            </array>
                        </dict>
                        <key>LogControl</key>
                        <integer>0</integer>
                        <key>control-id</key>
                        <integer>18</integer>
                    </dict>
                    <key>default-control-id</key>
                    <integer>18</integer>
                </dict>
I changed my smbios.plist to Macpro5,1 and deleted the appletymcedriver.kext in /System/Library/Extensions/ otherwise i got an Kernel Panic at boot.

Bildschirmfoto 2014-02-26 um 12.52.23.jpgBildschirmfoto 2014-02-26 um 12.54.07.jpgBildschirmfoto 2014-02-26 um 12.55.07.jpg
 
Joined
Jun 23, 2011
Messages
88
Motherboard
GA-H87-D3H
CPU
I7 4770
Graphics
GTX 760
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
can you explain me how solve with my gtx 760?
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2013
Messages
6
Motherboard
ASUS Maximum Ranger VIII Hero
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
gtx 970
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
You need to know your Power States and Thresholds, and of course your Device ID. If you know that you can follow my guide.

Your Device id is 1187 but i have no idea with the states and thresholds
 
Joined
Jun 23, 2011
Messages
88
Motherboard
GA-H87-D3H
CPU
I7 4770
Graphics
GTX 760
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Where can i find Power States and Thresholds for my GC?
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2013
Messages
6
Motherboard
ASUS Maximum Ranger VIII Hero
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
gtx 970
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
no idea, i found my on google

but you can try my exact edits with your device id, maybe this will work. But don't forget to save your ApplePowerManagement.kext to a save place.

Change bot Vendor10deDevice1081 to Vendor10deDevice1187
 

toleda

Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
24,272
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VII Impact
CPU
Core i7-4770K
Graphics
RX 560 + HD4600
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
512K, LC, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
no idea, i found my on google
Change bot Vendor10deDevice1081 to Vendor10deDevice1187
Be careful; Fermi use thresholds and Kepler uses P states. If you don't know the difference, default is better than wrong.
 
Top