Contribute
Register

No Display/USB after wake on 10.11

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Apr 14, 2013
Messages
86
Motherboard
Aorus Z370 Gaming 7
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
GTX 970
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Since upgrading to 10.11, my computer has been having trouble waking up.
It will go to sleep normally, and I can wake it with BT (IOGear GBU521) Apple Keyboard/Mouse. However, The display won't receive any signal from my HD6850 and USB won't work (since I have a USB audio adapter, I tested USB by playing something on itunes through the iPhone Remote app, and got no sound). Ethernet still works.

I'm using Clover 3259, no darkwake flags, and everything worked perfectly on Yosemite.
Does anybody know how to fix this, through a DSDT patch or something?
Thanks
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2012
Messages
36
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z87X-OC
CPU
Intel Core i7-4790K LGA1150
Graphics
ATI Radeon 6870
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I also have the same video issue after wake. The computer goes to sleep ok, but after waking there's no video. My USB2 ports work ok, however I can't get USB3 to work (yet). I'm using darkwake=10 dart=0 as boot flags since that's what I used in Yosemite and it worked perfectly. I tried changing to darkwake=0 but it didn't help.
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2012
Messages
36
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z87X-OC
CPU
Intel Core i7-4790K LGA1150
Graphics
ATI Radeon 6870
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks matt77303!

I got my USB 3 back following this guide http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/topic/306777-guide-usb-fix-el-capitan-1011/ (removing port restrictions). I can put my computer to sleep, and wake it via keyboard or mouse (both are wired). They do work after wake as I can eject my DVD drive from the keyboard (it's a mac keyboard with an eject key) but the display won't come back, the only way is to hit reset to reboot the computer.

The funny thing is that, while rebooting, only my second monitor is active. My primary display (Cinema Display hooked via mini display port) will only get a signal until right before the login screen.
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2011
Messages
98
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 7
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Hi!
Also having problems with wake from sleep with Apple Cinema Display hooked to Radeon 7750 XFX via mini Displayport:
The Screen stays black when waking up the System through USB Keyboard.
Do I have to upgrade any of the kexts in my Clover install? I just copied them from 10.10 to 10.11...
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2012
Messages
36
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z87X-OC
CPU
Intel Core i7-4790K LGA1150
Graphics
ATI Radeon 6870
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi!
Also having problems with wake from sleep with Apple Cinema Display hooked to Radeon 7750 XFX via mini Displayport:
The Screen stays black when waking up the System through USB Keyboard.
Do I have to upgrade any of the kexts in my Clover install? I just copied them from 10.10 to 10.11...

Seems to be the exact same problema that I have, but I'm using Radeon XFX 6870.
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2012
Messages
3
Motherboard
jetway
CPU
Core i7
Graphics
Radeonn hd 6870
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I'm using Radeon hd 6870 and have a same problem.


Maybe all radeon graphics are have this issue.


i found this log when i wake up my device.



10/2/15 6:26:05.000 AM kernel[0]: ATIFramebufferNI::setPowerState(0x565992bd9f2abb73, 0 -> 1) timed out after 45845 ms


Looks like ATIFramebuffer problem.
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2011
Messages
98
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 7
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
I'm using Radeon hd 6870 and have a same problem.


Maybe all radeon graphics are have this issue.


i found this log when i wake up my device.



10/2/15 6:26:05.000 AM kernel[0]: ATIFramebufferNI::setPowerState(0x565992bd9f2abb73, 0 -> 1) timed out after 45845 ms


Looks like ATIFramebuffer problem.

Thanks for reporting! Again Framebuffer problems...did you guys also suffer from black screens with every upgrade after 10.10.3?
I'm still very happy that the rest of the upgrade to el cap went smooth for me... still working sleep would be nice!
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2012
Messages
36
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z87X-OC
CPU
Intel Core i7-4790K LGA1150
Graphics
ATI Radeon 6870
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I din't have any problems before. Been using the same card since... Lion I believe. Using Clover since Mavericks.

In any case, I tried all the different framebuffers for the ATI 6xxx family which I found here: http://pjalm.com/forums/index.php?topic=8.0 none of them fixed the wake issue, still I'm posting my results in case they are useful for someone. I'm using Duckweed as Framebuffer, and I have a Cinema Display hooked up in the mini Display Port (primary display) and an ASUS PB278 hooked up via DVI as second monitor (2560 x 1440).

Results can be divided in the following groups:

1) Same result as Duckweed
2) No video at all when getting to the login screen
3) No video through mini Display Port. Full resolution with DVI
4) No video through DVI. Full resolution with mini Display Port
5) Only video through DVI but at lower resolution

Pithecia: 2
Bulrushes: 3
Cattail: 4
Hydrilla: 5
Fanwort:2
Elodea: 5
Kudzu: 1
Gibba:1
Lotus:1
Ipomoea:2
Muskgrass: 2
Juncus: 5
Osmunda: 2
Pondweed: 2
Spikerush: 4
Typha: 2

For those that I couldn't get my primary display to work, I didn't try whether or not it could wake properly. So while it might be possible that wake is fixed in one of the Framebuffers with results 3 and 5, I figured I wouldn't use it anyway. 4 gets a chance because I figured if wake is fixed, I might find a way to hook up the second monitor to one of the other ports and get it to work.
 
Joined
May 12, 2010
Messages
2,404
Motherboard
GA-Z77-HD4
CPU
i5-2400
Graphics
PowerColor Radeon 5770
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
My Radeon 5770 have the same issue. Here is what I had to do to fix with a little sacrifice.
open EFI\CLOVER\config.plist with clover configurator, uncheck ATI inject under graphic section.
The result for me is wake with full display. However my system is now detecting my video card as "ATI Radeon HD 5000" instead of 5770.

System is running with "Clover rev 3264"
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top