No Audio Devices - Realtek ALC AppleHDA [Guide]

Discussion in 'Audio' started by toleda, Oct 17, 2014.

  1. diep90.nguyen

    diep90.nguyen

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2017
    Messages:
    38
    Mobo:
    H170N-wifi
    CPU:
    I3-6100
    Graphics:
    Strix 750 Ti
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 27, 2017 at 1:09 AM #3241
    diep90.nguyen

    diep90.nguyen

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2017
    Messages:
    38
    Mobo:
    H170N-wifi
    CPU:
    I3-6100
    Graphics:
    Strix 750 Ti
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
  2. blindowl

    blindowl

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-H170N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Intel Core i3-6100 @ 3.70 GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 530
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Classic, iMac, Performa
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 27, 2017 at 10:50 PM #3242
    blindowl

    blindowl

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-H170N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Intel Core i3-6100 @ 3.70 GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 530
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Classic, iMac, Performa
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    1. Description of audio problem:

    Computer can not find any audio device. This worked fine before updating 10.12 -> 10.13.

    2. OS X version/motherboard model/BIOS version/processor/graphics:

    10.13 / GA-H170N-WIFI / F22a / i3 6100 / HD 530

    3. Procedure/Guide Used:

    - Rename HDAS to HDEF
    - audio_cloverALC.command

    Files and screenshots attached.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Sep 28, 2017
  3. toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    20,664
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 28, 2017 at 12:55 AM #3243
    toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    20,664
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    No config.plist
    IOReg shows audio devices and audio configured correctly.
     
  4. HeyMrRager

    HeyMrRager

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Mobo:
    ivy hack GA-Z77-DS3H
    CPU:
    i5-3750k
    Graphics:
    Nvidia 780TI
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 28, 2017 at 2:00 AM #3244
    HeyMrRager

    HeyMrRager

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Mobo:
    ivy hack GA-Z77-DS3H
    CPU:
    i5-3750k
    Graphics:
    Nvidia 780TI
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    1. Description of audio problem:

    Computer can not find any audio device. Applications playing audio -> crash, Open Sound Pref Pane -> Crash. This work fine before updating 10.12 -> 10.13.

    2. OS X version/motherboard model/BIOS version/processor/graphics:

    10.13 / GA-Z77-DS3H / F11 / i5-3750k / HD 4000 (GTX780 used)

    3. Procedure/Guide Used:
    - update clover to 4220
    - upgrade sierra to high sierra
    - restore vanilla high sierra appleHDA
    - run audio_cloverALC-130.sh
    - reboot

    Files and screenshots attached.
     

    Attached Files:

    • config.plist   (6.6 KB, 4 views)
    • ioreg.png  (181.8 KB, 34 views)
    • DPCIManager.png  (74.2 KB, 28 views)
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2017
  5. blindowl

    blindowl

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-H170N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Intel Core i3-6100 @ 3.70 GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 530
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Classic, iMac, Performa
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 28, 2017 at 5:31 AM #3245
    blindowl

    blindowl

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-H170N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Intel Core i3-6100 @ 3.70 GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 530
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Classic, iMac, Performa
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Now attached.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    20,664
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 28, 2017 at 3:07 PM #3246
    toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    20,664
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    See Post #1/Problem Reporting; attach all requested files
     
  7. toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    20,664
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 28, 2017 at 3:10 PM #3247
    toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    20,664
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Ignored the second line of Post #3243; audio is working.
     
  8. blindowl

    blindowl

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-H170N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Intel Core i3-6100 @ 3.70 GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 530
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Classic, iMac, Performa
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 28, 2017 at 3:17 PM #3248
    blindowl

    blindowl

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-H170N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Intel Core i3-6100 @ 3.70 GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 530
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Classic, iMac, Performa
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Exactly how is it working? Screen Shot 2017-09-28 at 16.16.14.png system information.png
     
    UtterDisbelief likes this.
  9. UtterDisbelief

    UtterDisbelief

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    878
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z270 Gaming K3
    CPU:
    i3-7320 4.1ghz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte RX 560 2GB GDDR5
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    eMac, iBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 28, 2017 at 4:59 PM #3249
    UtterDisbelief

    UtterDisbelief

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    878
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z270 Gaming K3
    CPU:
    i3-7320 4.1ghz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte RX 560 2GB GDDR5
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    eMac, iBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hi there.

    It can be frustrating getting audio recognised and if I get a problem I usually try to revert AppleHDA.kext and remove the RealTek kext, then re-run MultiBeast (if you are still on HFS file system after the upgrade. AFS is not yet supported) The rename patch is needed so that's ok. If MultiBeast fails, then just "Show Contents", pull out the CloverALC1150 installer package and run it from the desktop.

    Basically what I'm suggesting is go minimal in your install, i.e before you run @toleda 's script. The chipset has not changed and it needs a driver. High Sierra has changed though. Don't try too much at once. Check at each stage if you can see any devices...

    :)
     
  10. blindowl

    blindowl

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-H170N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Intel Core i3-6100 @ 3.70 GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 530
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Classic, iMac, Performa
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 28, 2017 at 7:49 PM #3250
    blindowl

    blindowl

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-H170N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Intel Core i3-6100 @ 3.70 GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 530
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Classic, iMac, Performa
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hi, thanks for your reply.

    I've reverted AppleHDA.kext/deleted realtekALC.kext many times, and used toledo's script again, with no success.

    I'm on APFS now so I can't use MultiBeast, but I extracted Clover-ALC1150.pkg and Clover-100-200-HDEF-Patch.pkg and ran them from the desktop. Still no luck. (But maybe they need to be updated for High Sierra).

    When the computer was just built, and before I got sound to work in 10.12 via MultiBeast, this was the icon in the menu bar:

    Speaker_Cross-256.png
    But now with the issues I have in 10.13, this is how the icon looks when I start the computer:
    Screen Shot 2017-09-28 at 20.29.56.png
    If I hover the mouse, a spinning beach ball appears. And after around 30 sec's, the icon turns to this:
    Screen Shot 2017-09-28 at 20.42.33.png

    It looks like it's trying to start the audio device for around 30 sec's, and then gives up. It doesn't matter if I have an untouched AppleHDA.kext, or using CloverALC or AppleALC - always the same behaviour. Something in the High Sierra installation is different from Sierra.

    I've tried so many times to revert/patch and also the AppleALC method. Always with the same result.

    I will wait for the updated Multibeast and try again. If it doesn't work I need to do a clean High Sierra install and start over.
     
    UtterDisbelief likes this.

Share This Page