Contribute
Register

Solved > No 4k Resolution with 6700k, GTX 1080ti

Joined
May 28, 2013
Messages
12
Motherboard
Asus Z170-A
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I have followed the following guides for help and troubleshooting.
Display can't be driven at native resolution (> 1080p)
I have the latest Nvidia Web Drivers installed and running, but I don't have an option to display in 4k resolution.I can output normally to a 1080p monitor and can output 1080p on my 4k TV, but it has large bars around the edge of the screen. I have tried HDMI->HDMI cable as well as DisplayPort->HDMI with the same results. Either cable works to output 4k to Windows or my MacBook Pro.

I am running 10.13.6 (17G12034) with Nvidia Web Driver version 387.10.10.10.40.135. I've installed kexts for both Lilu and WhateverGreen and I've installed the Pixel Clock Patch (v4) as recommended (status shown below). I've also tried SwitchResX and ResXtreme, but without success - higher resolutions are not listed.

> ./CoreDisplay-patcher.command status
SIP looks to be disabled, all good!

Unknown version of CoreDisplay found.
---- BEGINNING MD5 HASH SUMS ---- version: 10.13.6 build:17G12034

otool CoreDisplay: 2d0f31f33a01e6e077c056c65ec2cf65
otool CoreDisplay.bak: 20f0d2491e9370d3d74d25740aa855ba
CoreDisplay: 20f249f64c455807321015cb8a0ebf28
CoreDisplay.bak: b02a3fc6ce25df15b1b3b0032b694610

---- ENDING MD5 HASH SUMS -------

I am attaching my config.plist, but I've run out of ideas and references to try to get this working. Is there something I've missed?
 

Attachments

Last edited:

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
18,481
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I have followed the following guides for help and troubleshooting.


I have the latest Nvidia Web Drivers installed and running, but I don't have an option to display in 4k resolution.I can output normally to a 1080p monitor and can output 1080p on my 4k TV, but it has large bars around the edge of the screen. I have tried HDMI->HDMI cable as well as DisplayPort->HDMI with the same results. Either cable works to output 4k to Windows or my MacBook Pro.

I am running 10.13.6 (17G12034) with Nvidia Web Driver version 387.10.10.10.40.135. I've installed kexts for both Lilu and WhateverGreen and I've installed the Pixel Clock Patch (v4) as recommended (status shown below). I've also tried SwitchResX and ResXtreme, but without success - higher resolutions are not listed.




I am attaching my config.plist, but I've run out of ideas and references to try to get this working. Is there something I've missed?
injecting Intel graphics is wrong:
Code:
<key>Graphics</key>
    <dict>
        <key>Inject</key>
        <dict>
            <key>ATI</key>
            <false/>
            <key>Intel</key>
            <true/>
            <key>NVidia</key>
            <false/>
        </dict>
should be set to false

also:
Code:
<key>IntelGFX</key>
            <string>0x12345678</string>
should be:
Code:
<key>IntelGFX</key>
            <string>0x0</string>
not sure if you need this:
Code:
<dict>
                <key>Comment</key>
                <string>framebuffer4K</string>
                <key>Disabled</key>
                <false/>
                <key>Find</key>
                <data>AwAiDQADAwMAAAACAAAwAQ==</data>
                <key>InfoPlistPatch</key>
                <false/>
                <key>Name</key>
                <string>AppleIntelFramebufferAzul</string>
                <key>Replace</key>
                <data>AwAiDQADAwMAAAAEAAAAAw==</data>
            </dict>
you may also try adding:
Code:
-cdfon
to boot arguments
 
Joined
May 28, 2013
Messages
12
Motherboard
Asus Z170-A
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
injecting Intel graphics is wrong:
...
should be set to false

also:
...
should be:
Code:
<key>IntelGFX</key>
            <string>0x0</string>
not sure if you need this:
...

you may also try adding:
Code:
-cdfon
to boot arguments
I had to look up what cdfon flag does. I made these changes and I'm still booting up without any issues, but there doesn't appear to be any change in my resolution options. I'm attaching my updated config.plist.
 

Attachments

Joined
May 28, 2013
Messages
12
Motherboard
Asus Z170-A
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I removed cdfon again, but no apparent changes. It may be worth mentioning I have a couple of other kexts installed as well.

Installed under 10.13:
  • AppleALC
  • HDAEnabler1
  • Lilu
  • WhateverGreen
Installed under Other:
  • FakeSMC
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
18,481
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I removed cdfon again, but no apparent changes. It may be worth mentioning I have a couple of other kexts installed as well.

Installed under 10.13:
  • AppleALC
  • HDAEnabler1
  • Lilu
  • WhateverGreen
Installed under Other:
  • FakeSMC
you need to keep all your kexts in clover/kexts/other (HDAEnabler1 shouldn't be needed)
 
Joined
May 28, 2013
Messages
12
Motherboard
Asus Z170-A
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I moved all of my kexts into Other, but still no change in available resolution choices.

I'm looking at my boot log and it appears to be setting screen resolution to 1280x1024. Although, my resolution is 1920x1080 once booted. Could this be part of my problem or is this normal? Full boot log is attached.

Code:
2:168  0:439  SetScreenResolution: 3840×2160SetMaxResolution: found best mode 
...
2:419  0:010  SetScreenResolution: 1280x1024 - already set
...
16:515  0:017  Preparing kexts injection for arch=x86_64 from EFI\CLOVER\kexts\Other
16:526  0:010  Extra kext: EFI\CLOVER\kexts\Other\WhateverGreen.kext (v.1.3.9)
16:549  0:022  Extra kext: EFI\CLOVER\kexts\Other\Lilu.kext (v.1.4.4)
16:567  0:018  Extra kext: EFI\CLOVER\kexts\Other\AppleALC.kext (v.1.4.9)
17:107  0:539  Extra kext: EFI\CLOVER\kexts\Other\FakeSMC.kext (v.1787)
17:142  0:035  Preparing kexts injection for arch=x86_64 from EFI\CLOVER\kexts\10.13
17:166  0:023  SetScreenResolution: 1280x1024 - already set
 

Attachments

Joined
May 28, 2013
Messages
12
Motherboard
Asus Z170-A
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Is it possible that MacOS doesn't recognize what resolutions are compatible with my display?

Here is what my Displays section looks like in Hackintool. I have my 43" 4k TV and a 27" 1080p monitor (for comparison). My 4k display doesn't have a Product ID or Serial No.

Screen Shot 2020-05-22 at 12.31.42 PM.png


I'm able to use ResXtreme to force my 4k display to output as a maximum of 2560x1600, but no higher resolution is listed. Oddly, my 27" monitor shows resolutions all the way up to 5120x2880 in ResXtreme.
 
Joined
May 28, 2013
Messages
12
Motherboard
Asus Z170-A
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Whoa, I've got 4k resolution.

So, I had to use ResXtreme to force the highest resolution it recognized (2560x1600).

Then, I was able to use Settings > Displays to enable Overscan for my display (which normally results in a black screen). After enabling Overscan, my black borders were gone (image went all the way to the edges of the display).

Finally, I ⌥-clicked Resolution: Scaled and there was a choice for 3840x2160, which actually works!

Thanks for your help @Feartech and @jaymonkey. Greatly appreciated. Cheers.

1590170583538.png
 
Top