Contribute
Register

<< Solved >> No 4K resolution on HD4600

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jun 9, 2011
Messages
186
Motherboard
Gigabyte H107N-WiFi
CPU
i5-6500
Graphics
HD530
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Yes! With the new v1.31 drivers (dated 31 Dec 2018), I get 4K resolution now! :)
384658

Thank you for your help! :thumbup:

Just to summarize: no "Inject Intel", empty ig-platform-id; simply install the latest Lilu and Whatevergreen to /L/E and I get the full range of resolutions! :)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 9, 2011
Messages
186
Motherboard
Gigabyte H107N-WiFi
CPU
i5-6500
Graphics
HD530
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Right now on the supported resolutions, after 1080p@60Hz, the next resolution is 4K@30Hz. Just wondering if I can get it to support 2K (2048×1080) at 60Hz? :|
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2010
Messages
11
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z370M-D3H
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
HD 630
Right now on the supported resolutions, after 1080p@60Hz, the next resolution is 4K@30Hz. Just wondering if I can get it to support 2K (2048×1080) at 60Hz? :|
Pretty much I have gotten to a similar place as you in regards to onboard graphics HD 630 connected to 4k tv. The last thing I tried was patching with Hackintool, enabling Hdmi 2.0 4k, with no difference. I then referred to the motherboard manual (usually an act of desperation) The specification for the onboard graphics - 1x hdmi port supporting a max res of 4096 x 1200 @30Hz, support for hdmi version 1.4 and HDCP 2.2.
Could that be the likely culprit for the bottleneck?

I have another build with radeon rx560 graphics card and the hdmi output 4k at 60Hz is possible.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 9, 2011
Messages
186
Motherboard
Gigabyte H107N-WiFi
CPU
i5-6500
Graphics
HD530
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I understand there is a bottleneck, but I was hoping to find a setting that is below (before) the bottleneck. I assume that would be 2K @ 60Hz. If it supports 4K @ 30Hz, that means it supports approx. 10.2Gbps of bitrate (I Googled). Surely there is a resolution above 1080p and below 4K, and at 60Hz, and consumes a bitrate below 10.2Gbps?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 3, 2010
Messages
11
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z370M-D3H
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
HD 630
I understand there is a bottleneck, but I was hoping to find a setting that is below (before) the bottleneck. I assume that would be 2K @ 60Hz. If it supports 4K @ 30Hz, that means it supports approx. 10.2Gbps of bitrate (I Googled). Surely there is a resolution above 1080p and below 4K, and at 60Hz, and consumes a bitrate below 10.2Gbps?
The bottleneck begins on the HDMI port after 1920 x1080.

Connector Type: HDMI
Device Type: Digital Television
1920 x 1080 (60p Hz)
1920 x 1080 (30p Hz)
1920 x 1080 (24p Hz)
1920 x 1080 (50i Hz)
1920 x 1080 (60i Hz)
1920 x 1080 (50p Hz)
1920 x 1080 (25p Hz)
3840 x 2160 (24p Hz)
3840 x 2160 (30p Hz)
3840 x 2160 (25p Hz)
4096 x 2160 (24p Hz)

Do you not have a display port on the motherboard? If so, then that's the obvious path to achieving 4k @60Hz.

My Gigabyte Z370m board is bereft of a display port, If I had a bit more foresight at the time of purchase I would have selected a board with a display port, just for the extra choice.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
1,010
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD5H-BK Rev 1.0 Bios F8
CPU
i7-4790k OC 4.9ghz
Graphics
GT 740
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yes! With the new v1.31 drivers (dated 31 Dec 2018), I get 4K resolution now! :)View attachment 384658
Thank you for your help! :thumbup:

Just to summarize: no "Inject Intel", empty ig-platform-id; simply install the latest Lilu and Whatevergreen to /L/E and I get the full range of resolutions! :)

what system definition are you using? I have no "Inject Intel", empty ig-platform-id; and latest Lilu and Whatever green but I see no 4k option for my 4k screen. I should say it works fine with an nVidia card but there are other issues with that so I want to use the HD4600 on my i7-4790k. I am using iMac14,2 and I have done nothing other than enable the onboard graphics and plug it in. I have not gone near frame buffers.
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2011
Messages
186
Motherboard
Gigabyte H107N-WiFi
CPU
i5-6500
Graphics
HD530
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
what system definition are you using? I have no "Inject Intel", empty ig-platform-id; and latest Lilu and Whatever green but I see no 4k option for my 4k screen. I should say it works fine with an nVidia card but there are other issues with that so I want to use the HD4600 on my i7-4790k. I am using iMac14,2 and I have done nothing other than enable the onboard graphics and plug it in. I have not gone near frame buffers.
I showed it in one of the screenshots in the first post of this thread.
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2011
Messages
186
Motherboard
Gigabyte H107N-WiFi
CPU
i5-6500
Graphics
HD530
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Do you not have a display port on the motherboard? If so, then that's the obvious path to achieving 4k @60Hz.

My Gigabyte Z370m board is bereft of a display port, If I had a bit more foresight at the time of purchase I would have selected a board with a display port, just for the extra choice.
It's an old Acer that does not have Display Port. I picked it up from the rubbish dump hoping to salvage the parts as I thought it was dead. Turned out to be in working condition! :) Why would anyone throw a working computer away? :eek:
 
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
1,010
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD5H-BK Rev 1.0 Bios F8
CPU
i7-4790k OC 4.9ghz
Graphics
GT 740
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I showed it in one of the screenshots in the first post of this thread.

I saw that - hence my question - you say you changed it to iMac15,1 but do not say if you kept that or reverted to MacPro6,1 Edited to add: I see some screenshots with MacPro6,1 and then later ones with iMac15,1. Do you have success with both or just one of them?
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top