Contribute
Register

[NEW / TESTING] Intel 7th Generation Kaby Lake CPUs + 200 Series Motherboards in macOS

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Feb 29, 2016
Messages
159
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA H270N WiFi
CPU
i5-7600
Graphics
HD 630
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
New SMBIOS are available 18.1, 18.2 and 18.3 can we use it now? I just tested 18.2 with my i5 7600 but when restarting it shows a prohibited screen. any help?

Also I can see that the new ig-platform-id is available for Kabylake can I use it?

OS Ver: 10.12.5
Clover : 2.4k r4114
 

Attachments

  • CLOVER.zip
    2.3 MB · Views: 79

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
184,506
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
New SMBIOS are available 18.1, 18.2 and 18.3 can we use it now? I just tested 18.2 with my i5 7600 but when restarting it shows a prohibited screen. any help?

Also I can see that the new ig-platform-id is available for Kabylake can I use it?

OS Ver: 10.12.5
Clover : 2.4k r4114

No native Kaby Lake support in 10.12.5.
It is coming in 10.12.6 and 10.13.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2010
Messages
16
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus X299 Gaming 9
CPU
i9 7900x
Graphics
Gigabyte Aorus 1080 ti WB Waterforce x2
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ok got Sierra installed after trying a few guides for various Gigabyte 270 boards. Sound is working with Voodoo 2.8.8, the Killer E2500 is working with the E2200 kext, Bluetooth is working, WiFi unexpectedly not working, but I'm using a Linksys bridge for internet so that'll do for now. I don't really want to install a WiFi card because I'd rather use built in WiFi in windows. My only problem now is that my time machine restore must have installed the beta update profile for Sierra, so when I updated it I got 10.12.6, and I can't get Nvidia web drivers to work even though I got them installed and selectED in System Prefs.

UPDATE: GOT IT! Just needed EmuVariableEfi.kext. Now I just need to get the 2nd display working.

And after switching display ports on my card, both monitors are working. Took a couple reboots to get full resolution on the 2nd monitor for some reason, but hey, it's good now.
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2017-07-16 at 12.00.22 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2017-07-16 at 12.00.22 AM.png
    246.8 KB · Views: 266
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 5, 2012
Messages
2
Motherboard
Asus Strix 270E Gaming 5
CPU
Core i7 7700K
Graphics
ASUS Strix GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
  1. MacBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
  3. Other
Ok got Sierra installed after trying a few guides for various Gigabyte 270 boards. Sound is working with Voodoo 2.8.8, the Killer E2500 is working with the E2200 kext, bluetooth is working, wifi expectedly not working, but I'm using a Linksys bridge for internet so that'll do for now. I don't really want to install a wifi card because I'd rather use built in wifi in windows. My only problem now is that my time machine restore must have installed the beta update profile for Sierra, so when I updated it I got 10.12.6, and I can't get Nvidia web drivers to work.

UPDATE: GOT IT! Just needed EmuVariableEfi.kext. Now I just need to get the 2nd display working.

And after switching display ports on my card, both monitors are working. Took a couple reboots to get full resolution on the 2nd monitor for some reason, but hey, it's good now.

HI: Could you please post your config.plist and list of kexts that you used? I have an almost similar system but I can't even get to the welcome screen from the USB installer.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2010
Messages
16
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus X299 Gaming 9
CPU
i9 7900x
Graphics
Gigabyte Aorus 1080 ti WB Waterforce x2
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
HI: Could you please post your config.plist and list of kexts that you used? I have an almost similar system but I can't even get to the welcome screen from the USB installer.
Sure thing.

I included the EFI from my installer USB and the one from my post install. Since I'm on 10.12.6 I changed my SMBIOS to iMac18,3 and removed the Skylake fake ID.
 

Attachments

  • EFI Installer.zip
    3.5 MB · Views: 119
  • EFI Post.zip
    18.6 MB · Views: 128
Joined
Dec 5, 2012
Messages
2
Motherboard
Asus Strix 270E Gaming 5
CPU
Core i7 7700K
Graphics
ASUS Strix GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
  1. MacBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
  3. Other
Sure thing.

I included the EFI from my installer USB and the one from my post install. Since I'm on 10.12.6 I changed my SMBIOS to iMac18,3 and removed the Skylake fake ID.

Thanks a lot! It worked perfectly on the first attempt. I think my mistake was to put the kexts in the Other folder instead of the 10.12 folder.
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2011
Messages
1
Motherboard
GA-z270x-UD5
CPU
i7-7700k
Graphics
9800GTX+
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Success too -

With a
Gigabyte GA-GZ70x-UD5
i7 7700k
Corsair Vengeance LPX 32 Gb
Samsung evo850 500Gb
and a very old (because it was still lying around)
EVGA GeForce 9800 GTX+

iMessage, audio (apple HDA), sleep, shutdown and thunderbolt (startech + apple adapter) are working -
will test thunderbolt with an apogee symphony 2 next month
 

Attachments

  • front_back.jpg
    front_back.jpg
    1 MB · Views: 519
  • Geekbench Score.png
    Geekbench Score.png
    34.7 KB · Views: 503
  • guts.jpeg
    guts.jpeg
    1.3 MB · Views: 571
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 13, 2016
Messages
505
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z270M-D3H
CPU
i3-7350K OC 4.5GHz
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Case mod is very clean.

Success too -

With a
Gigabyte GA-GZ70x-UD5
i7 7700k
Corsair Vengeance LPX 32 Gb
Samsung evo850 500Gb
and a very old (because it was still lying around)
EVGA GeForce 9800 GTX+

iMessage, audio (apple HDA), sleep, shutdown and thunderbolt (startech + apple adapter) are working -
will test thunderbolt with an apogee symphony 2 next month
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2017
Messages
7
Motherboard
Asus Prime 270 A
CPU
Intel i7 7700
Graphics
Asus GForce GTX 1080 Ti 11GB STRIX
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello,
Real new here, hopeful to get this rig up n running!:

Presently stuck at black apple screen and beginning of the progress bar:

Hardware:
MB: Asus Prime Z270 A
CPU: Intel I7 7700
GPU: Nvidia GTX 1080Ti 11Gb

Set Bios as per instructions
(couldn't find where to Set XHCI Handoff to Enabled)

in Clover options:
I set the FakeCPU=0x0506E3

Here is my photo of where it stops.
Would be grateful to be able to go to next step!

FullSizeRender.jpg





Cheers!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top