[NEW / TESTING] Intel 7th Generation Kaby Lake CPUs + 200 Series Motherboards in macOS

Discussion in 'General Hardware Discussion' started by tonymacx86, Apr 19, 2017 at 7:29 PM.

  1. tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8,233
    Mobo:
    GA-Z270X-UD5
    CPU:
    Core i3-7100
    Graphics:
    HD 630
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apr 19, 2017 at 7:29 PM #1
    tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8,233
    Mobo:
    GA-Z270X-UD5
    CPU:
    Core i3-7100
    Graphics:
    HD 630
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    7th+Gen+Intel+Core+family.jpg
    Hey everyone, just thought I'd start a new post to discuss this week's freshly released CPUs and motherboards. Intel just released their 7th Generation CPU family called 'Kaby Lake' and manufacturers put out the supporting Socket LGA1151 Z270 and H270 motherboards. This time around Intel has decided that these new 7th Generation (Kaby Lake) CPUs will also work with existing 100 Series motherboards, and that existing 6th Generation (Skylake) CPUs will also work in new 200 Series motherboards. This should make upgrading much easier.


    Please note 7th Generation CPUs and 200 Series motherboards are NOT supported natively in macOS. At this point it's too early to determine future compatibility, however preliminary reports are that the CPUs require workarounds to boot.


    The majority of the motherboard manufacturers are using supported Intel i219-V, Realtek 8111H, or Killer E2500 ethernet. Many 200 Series motherboards also have Realtek ALC1220 onboard audio, which has not been tested. The platform also uses the same DDR4 RAM as last generation.

    This post will be updated! If you have any information to share please let us know!

    EDIT 1: Quick Kaby Lake / 200 Series Guide
    Thanks to the early adopters and testers in this thread and around the net, the following info is known.

    1.To boot, CPU ID needs to be spoofed. Go into Clover options at boot time and input the Skylake ID as FakeCPUID. Then just add the key and string in the KextandKernelPatches section of Clover's config.plist during post-installation.

    Skylake CPUID: 0x0506E3

    Code (Text):
        <key>KernelAndKextPatches</key>
        <dict>
            <key>FakeCPUID</key>
            <string>0x0506E3</string>
    With this fix, I used UniBeast and MultiBeast to install in less than 30 min.

    2. After successful installation, to get full graphics acceleration for Kaby Lake Intel HD 630, fixes to Clover's config.plist are necessary.

    3. Apply Intel HD 530 patch from MultiBeast

    4. Intel Graphics ID must be spoofed to 0x19168086 under /Devices/FakeID/IntelGFX.

    Code (Text):
            <key>FakeID</key>
            <dict>
                <key>IntelGFX</key>
                <string>0x19168086</string>
    5. Install FakePCIID.kext and FakePCIID_Intel_HD_Graphics.kext to /Library/Extensions using KextBeast.

    6. Add the 'Skylake Glitch Fix' (AAPL,GfxYTile) to Devices/AddProperties/.

    Code (Text):
        <key>Devices</key>
        <dict>
            <key>AddProperties</key>
            <array>
                <dict>
                    <key>Device</key>
                    <string>IntelGFX</string>
                    <key>Key</key>
                    <string>AAPL,GfxYTile</string>
                    <key>Value</key>
                    <data>
                    AQAAAA==
                    </data>
                </dict>
            </array>

    Related:

    https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/gigabytes-aorus-z270-motherboards-announced.211461/

    EDIT: This thread's content was accidentally deleted and original post restored 2017/04/20
     
    umcv and ErneX like this.
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2017 at 6:17 PM
  2. barsqiue

    barsqiue

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z270X-UD5 (rev. 1.0)
    CPU:
    i7 7700k
    Graphics:
    Asus GeForce GTX 650Ti
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Apr 21, 2017 at 9:52 PM #2
    barsqiue

    barsqiue

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z270X-UD5 (rev. 1.0)
    CPU:
    i7 7700k
    Graphics:
    Asus GeForce GTX 650Ti
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Success.

    Principal components:
    GIGABYTE GA-Z270X-UD5
    i7 7700k
    ASUS GTX 650 Ti
    Samsung 960 EVO M.2
    G.Skill F4-2400C15S-16GIS 16Gb x2
    Universal Audio Apollo Twin
    Apple Thunderbolt 3 (USB-C) to Thunderbolt 2 Adapter​

    What works:
    NVMe SSD in M.2 slot as boot hard drive
    Ethernet
    USB 2.0, 3.0, 3.1
    Apollo Twin via TH3 port and adapter
    RAM size and frequences graphic card name and VRAM size are correct
    Audio line-out and headphone ports
    Sleep is correct​

    What doesn't work so far:
    On-case power button​

    More details here on pg.9
    https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/gigabyte-ga-z270x-ultra-gaming-and-ga-z270x-ud5-pictures.214622/

    Geekbench scores of 7700k running on 4.5GHz@1.125V and Thunderbolt configurations attached.
     

    Attached Files:

    • config.plist.zip   (2.9 KB, 28 views)
    • kext_files.zip   (469.3 KB, 22 views)
    • Screen Shot 2017-04-07 at 22.55.25.png  (95.7 KB, 348 views)
    • Screen Shot 2017-04-07 at 22.42.50.png  (292 KB, 341 views)
    • Screen Shot 2017-04-21 at 23.13.05.png  (659.7 KB, 326 views)
    • Screen Shot 2017-04-22 at 00.02.02.png  (97.4 KB, 310 views)
    • 170421200355.png  (225.9 KB, 278 views)
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2017 at 10:35 PM
  3. richtig

    richtig

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-Gaming 5
    CPU:
    i5-6600
    Graphics:
    nVidia GTX 960
    Apr 21, 2017 at 11:27 PM #3
    richtig

    richtig

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-Gaming 5
    CPU:
    i5-6600
    Graphics:
    nVidia GTX 960
  4. xxcesarioxx

    xxcesarioxx

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Messages:
    42
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus IX Formula
    CPU:
    i7 - 7700k
    Graphics:
    Asus Strix GTX1080 8GB OC
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Apr 22, 2017 at 8:39 AM #4
    xxcesarioxx

    xxcesarioxx

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Messages:
    42
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus IX Formula
    CPU:
    i7 - 7700k
    Graphics:
    Asus Strix GTX1080 8GB OC
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    hi @RehabMan / @tonymacx86

    Problem: Sleep not working, after trying to go to sleep, upon moving mouse and pressing a key on the keyboard it actually restarts the Computer from Bios. (reset)

    any idea how to fix the Sleep issue for Sierra?

    Specs:
    Kabylake i7700k
    Asus ROG Maximus IX Formula
    Asus Strix GTX1080 8GB OC (Works)
    Samsung 960 EVO 1TB (Works) // after patching with @RehabMan 's help.
    Plextor M8Pe 1TB (not working) // patching later to test
    Hyper X Fury 16GB*4
    Creative Blaster ZXR (works) // with LINE Out Green Rear
    NZxT AER RGB 120mm x 3
    NZxT AER RGB 140mm x 3
     
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2017 at 8:45 AM
  5. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    143,213
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apr 22, 2017 at 2:49 PM #5
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    143,213
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Read FAQ, "Problem Reporting"
    https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/
     
  6. aka80

    aka80

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus IX Formula
    CPU:
    intel core i7-7700
    Graphics:
    asus gtx 670
    Apr 22, 2017 at 7:49 PM #6
    aka80

    aka80

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus IX Formula
    CPU:
    intel core i7-7700
    Graphics:
    asus gtx 670
    Hello everybody.
    I installed MacOS a fresh MacOS 10.12.4 But I have a bug. When I empty the trash it is displayed as not emptied. Another bug that I also noticed, when for example I create a .txt file and I save it on the desktop, I do not see it instantly, I have to go in the window "all files" to see him. I think there is a Finder bug
     
  7. aka80

    aka80

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus IX Formula
    CPU:
    intel core i7-7700
    Graphics:
    asus gtx 670
    Apr 22, 2017 at 7:52 PM #7
    aka80

    aka80

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus IX Formula
    CPU:
    intel core i7-7700
    Graphics:
    asus gtx 670

    I have almost the same configuration but I have no problem. Except for the Finder bug but I think it's version 10.12.4 that contains bugs.
     
  8. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    143,213
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apr 22, 2017 at 8:05 PM #8
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    143,213
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    It is probably because you have content in the trash from the EFI partition, but EFI is not mounted...
    Mount EFI, then empty trash.
     
  9. xxcesarioxx

    xxcesarioxx

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Messages:
    42
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus IX Formula
    CPU:
    i7 - 7700k
    Graphics:
    Asus Strix GTX1080 8GB OC
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Apr 23, 2017 at 5:08 AM #9
    xxcesarioxx

    xxcesarioxx

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Messages:
    42
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus IX Formula
    CPU:
    i7 - 7700k
    Graphics:
    Asus Strix GTX1080 8GB OC
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    @aka80 you realize you only reply when you want people to help you out, but if you check your alerts, i messaged you few weeks ago asking for the settings you have cause i have the similiar built as you but with other better hardwares you didn't seem to reply although you did log in. i think you need to be fair to the community who ask for questions and contribute.

    you even mentioned that you would create a post with regards to your buiild but never did so.

    just saying..


    use Clean My Mac app and to resolve your trash can, i don't have that issue on my side though, everything is perfect except the sleep.
     
  10. xxcesarioxx

    xxcesarioxx

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Messages:
    42
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus IX Formula
    CPU:
    i7 - 7700k
    Graphics:
    Asus Strix GTX1080 8GB OC
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Apr 23, 2017 at 5:08 AM #10
    xxcesarioxx

    xxcesarioxx

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Messages:
    42
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus IX Formula
    CPU:
    i7 - 7700k
    Graphics:
    Asus Strix GTX1080 8GB OC
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS

Share This Page