Contribute
Register

New RehabMan kexts/builds/binaries for Yosemite

Status
Not open for further replies.

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
184,101
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I can change backlight with F9/F10 under 10.9, but have to combine with Fn under 10.10, even using the same version VoodooPS2Controller as in 10.9. How can I solve that. Thanks! BTW, I don't have the option about Fn under Keyboard Preference , see below:

View attachment 109003

Download patchmatic: https://github.com/RehabMan/OS-X-MaciASL-patchmatic. Install it to /usr/bin.

In terminal,
Code:
mkdir ~/Downloads/RehabMan
cd ~/Downloads/RehabMan
patchmatic -extract

Post contents of Downloads/RehabMan directory (as ZIP).

Also, post ioreg: http://www.tonymacx86.com/audio/58368-guide-how-make-copy-ioreg.html. Please, use the IORegistryExplorer v2.1 attached to the post! DO NOT reply with an ioreg from any other version of IORegistryExplorer.app.

And output from:
Code:
kextstat|grep -y acpiplat
kextstat|grep -y appleintelcpu

Also...

Please provide complete details in your profile/signature
(Profile/Settings link in upper right corner of this site)

System: manufacturer/model
CPU: detailed CPU model + motherboard chipset
Graphics: all graphics devices + laptop internal screen resolution

For example, typical Ivy laptop:
System: HP ProBook 4540s
CPU: i5-3320m/HM76
Graphics: HD4000, 1366x768

Use CPU-Z on Windows to find CPU (Core iX-xxx) and motherboard chipset (HMxx), and graphics capabilities. For a laptop, these details are important and affect critical installation procedures.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
184,101
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
...But I got another question, would it have adverse impact on the battery itself?
The reason for me to ask this question was that after I did the above work, I could not boot the machine. I had to remove the battery and put it back again to boot the machine, which never happened on this machine before. And it happened for two consecutive shutdown and reboots. The third time was even worse, the machine will not boot with battery even after I removed it and put back in. When the power cord is connected, the battery light was flashing orange. I had to take out the battery and boot on power plugged in. The battery seems dead.

I am just curious whether it has something to do the DSDT patching or it is just coincidental.

Make sure your DSDT is patched from a freshly extracted native DSDT.
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2012
Messages
283
Motherboard
Dell XPS 15 9560
CPU
i7-7700HQ, Kaby Lake-H
Graphics
HD 630, 4K Touch Screen

Attachments

  • yzse.ioreg
    1.6 MB · Views: 82
Joined
Jan 7, 2013
Messages
45
Motherboard
HM67
CPU
i5 3320
Graphics
HD4K
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
patchmatic -extract
[/code]

Post contents of Downloads/RehabMan directory (as ZIP).
View attachment Patchmatic.zip

Also, post ioreg: .
View attachment IOReg.ioreg

And output from:
Code:
kextstat|grep -y acpiplat
kextstat|grep -y appleintelcpu
Screen Shot 2014-10-22 at 10.35.05 PM.png


Hopes I didn't make mistake or misunderstand your meaning
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
184,101
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
View attachment 109026


View attachment 109025


View attachment 109023


Hopes I didn't make mistake or misunderstand your meaning

First of all, this is a ProBook. You should really use the Clover guide...

You need to modify a section of the DSDT...

Apply this patch:
Code:
into method label _DSM parent_label PS2K remove_entry;
into device label PS2K insert
begin
Method (_DSM, 4, NotSerialized)\n
{\n
    If (LEqual (Arg2, Zero)) { Return (Buffer() { 0x03 } ) }\n
    Return (Package()\n
    {\n
        "RM,oem-id", "HPQOEM",\n
        "RM,oem-table-id", "179B",\n
    })\n
}\n
end;
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2013
Messages
45
Motherboard
HM67
CPU
i5 3320
Graphics
HD4K
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
First of all, this is a ProBook. You should really use the Clover guide...

You need to modify a section of the DSDT...

Apply this patch:

It does work! Thanks

BTW, I'm still wondering why the same DSDT doesn't need Fn in 10.9. Or maybe it's a technical/long story. I'm just curious :)
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2012
Messages
283
Motherboard
Dell XPS 15 9560
CPU
i7-7700HQ, Kaby Lake-H
Graphics
HD 630, 4K Touch Screen
You are using a GenericUSBXHCI.kext that is incompatible with Yosemite.

https://github.com/RehabMan/OS-X-Generic-USB3

I tried different GenericUSBXHCI kexts I found around and lost track. Here is the IOReg with the kext downloaded from your repo.

However with the previous GenericUSBXHCI kext, the USB 3 port sometime works. I accidentally plugged in a USB drive in the USB 3.0 port and found it work. I tried to confirm so reboot the machine, it did not work again. I recalled that in the previous session I ran IORegistryExplorer so I ran the app again, still did not work. But after a while, it worked again. I ran IORegistryExplorer and found the IOReg was identical to the one I uploaded before.
 

Attachments

  • yzse_2.ioreg
    1.6 MB · Views: 80

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
184,101
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It does work! Thanks

BTW, I'm still wondering why the same DSDT doesn't need Fn in 10.9. Or maybe it's a technical/long story. I'm just curious :)

In Yosemite the kext cannot examine the DSDT header from ioreg because the ioreg in Yosemite doesn't include the ACPI tables anymore. So, you have to manually select the keyboard layout by injecting RM,oem-table-id in the PS2K device.
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2012
Messages
283
Motherboard
Dell XPS 15 9560
CPU
i7-7700HQ, Kaby Lake-H
Graphics
HD 630, 4K Touch Screen
Make sure your DSDT is patched from a freshly extracted native DSDT.

It is a freshly from a freshly extracted DSDT. I used your repo and did the following patches:

"Fix TNOT Error”
"Fix _PLD Buffer/Package Error”
"Rename GFX0 to IGPU”
"HD3000 High Resolution”
"Brightness Fix (HD3000/HD4000)”
"6-series USB”
Battery ”Sony VAIO S”
"HPET Fix”
"IRQ Fix"
"Fix _WAK Arg0 v2"
"OS Check Fix"
"SMBUS Fix"

I did not do Shutdown Fix. If I try, should I use v1 or v2?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top