Contribute
Register

New Method for Enabling NVIDIA Web Drivers in Clover

Joined
Nov 24, 2010
Messages
261
Motherboard
P55M-UD2
CPU
4 Ghz i5 760
Graphics
MSI GTX 970
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
You have no SMBIOS defined in your config, this means that previous Clover defaults to MacPro3,1. But the latest versions from 3769 defaults to iMac13,2

I guess I am a bit confused about the multiple config.plist files and what they are for, then. For my config.plist file (attached) located on my HD/EFI/Clover, it's configured as iMac 14,2.

In any case, I've updated that config.plist file to match my other one for SMBIOS, and now it appears as 14,2 in System Information (previously it was 11,3, for some reason.) However, that did not solve my problem. Drivers still refuse to load.

I'm using the clover that's in Multibeast 9.0, 3766 I think.

Edit: OK, it's detecting the graphics card now. But it says "GTX 970 0 MB," and there's no graphics acceleration now.

Edit: I restarted. Not sure what I did but it works now...lol. It still says ""0 MB" but there's definitely graphics acceleration.
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    5.2 KB · Views: 178
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 24, 2010
Messages
261
Motherboard
P55M-UD2
CPU
4 Ghz i5 760
Graphics
MSI GTX 970
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Joined
Oct 15, 2011
Messages
16
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z270X-UD5
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ok I can confirm it's the definition that was holding me back. I was using 11,2. Switched to 14,2 and kept same serial and smuuid. Booted right up.

Might work for y'all having problems too.

I confirm as well that using 12,2 on my SNB build was holding me back. I changed to 14,2 and everything is working now with NvidiaWeb
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
15,787
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I don't understand why I never had to use the NvidiaWeb system parameter and everything still works even though I upgraded to Sierra. The old nvda_drv=1 boot argument continues to work for me through iMac14,2 and iMac17,1 system definition in Sierra.

Is using NvidiaWeb preferable to using the nvda_drv=1 boot argument?

Thanks in advance.
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2013
Messages
12
Motherboard
none
CPU
none
Graphics
none
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Does the Nvidia 1080 work with this method? I'm getting boot loops.
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,521
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z490 Creator
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I don't understand why I never had to use the NvidiaWeb system parameter and everything still works even though I upgraded to Sierra. The old nvda_drv=1 boot argument continues to work for me through iMac14,2 and iMac17,1 system definition in Sierra.

Is using NvidiaWeb preferable to using the nvda_drv=1 boot argument?

Thanks in advance.
Yes. Use the NvidiaWeb as per tonymacx86's sticky thread and remove the nvda_drv=1 in the config.plist's Boot Arguments section.
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2011
Messages
55
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Gaming X
CPU
i7-9700k
Graphics
RX580
Clover Configurator has been updated to create the code Tony has stickied at the top of this thread, under "System Parameters."

Unfortunately, I still am getting "NO SIGNAL" just before login using the Nvidia webdrivers even after adding this to my config.plist. Triple checked that there is no other nvidia_drv=1 in there. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.
 
Joined
Mar 19, 2016
Messages
2
Motherboard
ASUS H61M-K
CPU
G630
Graphics
GT 610
Mac
  1. iMac
Hi

My friends My Vga card is Nvidia GT 610 I was installed macOS Sierra but i can't boot without nv_disable have you any solutions tell me

plz help me my friends
 
Top