Contribute
Register

New hack X-99 & GTX1070. Fails with “gIOScreenLockState” and “does printf work??”

Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
MSI X-99A Raider
CPU
E5-1620v3
Graphics
GTX 1070
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Hi All. I am currently trying to get a new installation working. I have some prior experience following this process with an older build and I have some general knowledge of *nix commands etc. Apologies for the long post, I am hoping to give full details up front.

I have followed the standard High Sierra Unibeast instructions and made some progress from following other posts but still can’t get the initial installation to complete booting and launch the GUI. I note many people have posted success both with X99 boards and 1070s so I am encouraged to continue. I can easily modify the USB stick as I can mount it on my MacBook. Any pointers would be much appreciated!

I notice KGP’s epic 298 page thread on X99 and jacksparrow.greg ‘s suggestion to document the latest set of steps for X99. That would certainly be useful for me, although I don't know if these problems are due to the GPU or the X99 Chipset... Here are further details:

System:
  • MSI Raider X-99A, BIOS upgraded to latest: “P60”. “4G decoding” enabled.
  • Xeon E5 1620v3 with ECC DRAM
  • EVGA GTX1070 GAMING (thus keeping to 10.13)
  • Samsung SM863 120GB SSD (clean install, no other disks)
  • Zip file of CLOVER dir from USB stick attached
  • Other: MacBook Air running 10.13.6.

Steps and Progress:
  • I initially followed the documented Unibeast procedure for High Sierra
  • After trying to fix intermittent boot failure: halt showing “does printf work??”. I followed the instructions here https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...sierra-10-13-clover-guide-100-working.240052/ to replace OsxAptioFix2Drv-64.efi with -2000 one on the EFI partition of the USB. I also ran Clover Configurator as described in this thread.