Contribute
Register

New DRM enabling method for systems with AMD GPU

Joined
Oct 26, 2013
Messages
1,054
Motherboard
MSI B250M PRO-VHD
CPU
i3-7100
Graphics
RX 570
Once I generate a ssdt_data file and a CPUFriendDataProvider.kext, I can install either one, along with CPUFriend.
The ssdt file seems to set plugin-type = 1, so I'm guessing plugin-type should not be selected in Clover config.plist.

Yes.
If using CPUFriendDataProvider.kext, check plugin-type=1
If using ssdt_data.aml, uncheck plugin-type=1

Am I supposed to turn on the KernelXCPM patch or not?

No, if turn on KernelXCPM patch need generate PM ssdt by ssdtPRGen.sh.
 

Attachments

  • CPUFriendDataProvider.kext.zip
    3.1 KB · Views: 39
  • ssdt_data.aml
    7.6 KB · Views: 45
Joined
Oct 23, 2010
Messages
970
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UP5-TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I'm still a little confused. If I look at the CPUFriendFriend documentation, it first tells me to look for the TDP-down
frequency from the Intel Ark website. If I look up an i5-3470 or i5-3570 (the two variants I have) I see a base
frequency of 3.2 Ghz or 3.4 Ghz at a TDP of 77W. The instructions tell me to look for a TDP-down spec but I'm left
guessing what I should choose. I think the auto-generate functions choose 1600 MHz as the minimum frequency,
and I can choose a lower value like 1200 or 800.

It then tells me about EPP options, but I don't see how I input the EPP option to the script, and I am not prompted
for it.

Once I generate a ssdt_data file and a CPUFriendDataProvider.kext, I can install either one, along with CPUFriend.
The ssdt file seems to set plugin-type = 1, so I'm guessing plugin-type should not be selected in Clover config.plist.
Am I supposed to turn on the KernelXCPM patch or not? I don't know. I saw a shuhung comment that seemed to say
Ivy processors work well with CPUFriend and XCPM.

The results file also includes the Mac-7BA5B2D9E42DDD94.plist. Am I supposed to do anything with it, or is this just
a copy of the defaults Apple file fetched from the system, which is used in generation?

Finally, Corpnewt's version and instructions are different from Acidanthera's, which also includes instructions for
combining the output ssdt_data with a ssdtPRGen file. Again, Acidanthera doesn't tell much about other settings and
warns we're supposed to understand it all in advance.

I don't know how to turn on HWP, and Enable HWP in Hackintool doesn't seem to do anything.

Finally, with testing, I look at Intel Power Gadget as a standalone application, and AppleIntelInfo in Hackintool,
but I'm not sure what to look for. I see various arrays of frequencies in AppleIntelInfo, but I also see HWP disabled.
I also see various power consumption using Intel Power Gadget, and slightly different Geekbench 4 CPU scores.
How do I select whats best?
For your CPU's, the "ideal" SMBIOS model ID is iMac13,2. If you use anything else (e.g. iMacPro1,1 like I do for i7-3770K), then macOS power management will not work correctly when idling especially. Your Ivy Bridge CPU idles DOWN to 1600Mhz (not 1200 or 800 which are for MOBILE IVY CPU's only).

The simplest method is to follow Acidanthera's method as I did here.
You do not need to generate ssdt_data.aml if you generated the CPUFriendDataProvider.kext. You generate EITHER the aml file or the kext file and NOT both.

Steps:
1. Download the ResourceConverter.sh shell script from here
2. Copy the file Mac-FC02E91DDD3FA6A4.plist from /System/Library/Extensions/IOPlatformPluginFamily.kext/Contents/PlugIns/X86PlatformPlugin.kext/Contents/Resources
into the same folder where you download the ResourceConverter.sh
3. In Terminal go to that folder and run ./ResourceConverter.sh -k Mac-FC02E91DDD3FA6A4.plist
4. Copy the generated CPUFriendDataProvider.kext to Clover folder /E/C/K/Other (together with CPUFriend.kext)
5. In your config.plist, set Root/ACPI/SSDT/Generate/PluginType to YES
6. Reboot and test that the CPU is reaching all the Frequencies from 1600Mhz to Max Turbo frequency for your CPU (using Hackintool and Intel Power Gadget App)
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2016
Messages
385
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Master
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I am using shikigva=80 with iMac 19,2 profile

My spec
GA-Z370-Gaming 5
Intel Core i7-8700k
IGPU enabled
Graphic Card : Sapphire Vega 64 Reference Card
Crucial (Standard Type no ram sink) Ram 64 Giga

tv+ working fine
Issue with safari when I am on amazon prime video ---> getting this error message

View attachment 445555
If I disabled IGPU

everything working tv+ and amazon prime but I will be have issue with videoProc showing Hardware decoder and encoder error (Red signal)

Just try shikigva=80 with RX 5700 Sapphire Pulse + iGPU enabled and everything is working. Apple TV+ , Netflix , VideoProc.

iMac 19.2

Lilu version 1.4.1, WEG 1.3.6

Never before had to managed to work all together.

Screen Shot 2020-01-19 at 09.10.25.png
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2019
Messages
52
Motherboard
Gigabyte B360N WiFi
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Just try shikigva=80 with RX 5700 Sapphire Pulse + iGPU enabled and everything is working. Apple TV+ , Netflix , VideoProc.

iMac 19.2

Lilu version 1.4.1, WEG 1.3.6

Never before had to managed to work all together.

View attachment 445596

Hi @JimmakoS (Καλημέρα :) )

I’m on the same state on my setup with iMac19,1

iGPU enabled set to headless.
Vega 56

The above guy is talking about Amazon Prime. We all seem to be having the same issue where AppleTV(+) & Netflix on Safari work but Prime Video doesn’t. Also the DRM test stream sites (ezDRM, BitMovin) DO NOT work either.

Can you also test Prime Video and BitMovin. Unfortunately, if I’m not mistaken you will face the same issues.

P.S. for those wanting to switch over to iMacPro1,1 SMBIOS you should know that apart from being a completely different CPU and extra steps described in previous posts should be taken in order to have our CPUs working well and not wasting energy, Prime DOES work in addition to AppleTV and Netflix, but that doesn’t mean that DRM issues are fully resolved. If you try the BitMovin test it will not play ;).
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 21, 2016
Messages
385
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Master
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi @JimmakoS (Καλημέρα :) )

I’m on the same state on my setup with iMac19,1

iGPU enabled set to headless.
Vega 56

The above guy is talking about Amazon Prime. We all seem to be having the same issue where AppleTV(+) & Netflix on Safari work but Prime Video doesn’t. Also the DRM test stream sites (ezDRM, BitMovin) DO NOT work either.

Can you also test Prime Video and BitMovin. Unfortunately, if I’m not mistaken you will face the same issues.

P.S. for those wanting to switch over to iMacPro1,1 SMBIOS you should know that apart from being a completely different CPU and extra steps described in previous posts should be taken in order to have our CPUs working well and not wasting energy, Prime DOES work in addition to AppleTV and Netflix, but that doesn’t mean that DRM issues are fully resolved. If you try the BitMovin test it will not play ;).

Im so sorry. I didn't know that. I just create Amazon Prime account and I get the same error. I thought because Apple TV+ and Netflix work, all the other DRM content should be working too.
For my needs I'm fine although.
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2019
Messages
52
Motherboard
Gigabyte B360N WiFi
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
What is the BitMovin test?

Is it this?:
This one:


Apart from a report on another thread by a user with a Polaris Baffin GPU (RX460 if I’m not mistaken) I haven’t been able to make it play with an RX 580 nor Vega 56, using different SMBIOS’s (iMac19,1 - iMac18,3 - iMacPro1,1)
 
Last edited:

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,361
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
This one:


Apart from a report on another thread by a user with a Polaris Baffin GPU (RX460 if I’m not mistaken) I haven’t been able to make it play with an RX 580 nor Vega 56, using different SMBIOS’s (iMac19,1 - iMac18,3 - iMacPro1,1)

Are you sure that page is fully functional?

Nothing plays even on my iPhone.
DRM stream test - Bitmovin Demos.jpeg


This is what I get on my iPad.
IMG_0059.PNG


On my hack, I get nothing but the three dots continuously flashing...
Screen Shot 2020-01-19 at 4.54.58 AM.png
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 6, 2019
Messages
52
Motherboard
Gigabyte B360N WiFi
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Are you sure that page is fully functional?

Nothing plays even on my iPhone.
View attachment 445611

On my hack, I get nothing but the three dots continuously flashing...
View attachment 445612
Yes it is functional. I am able to play the video using my MacBook and my 2014 Mac mini.

On the hackintosh it is like you say, it stays at loading state. And since we’ve seen reports of it playing (for example on the link of my previous answer) I think the reason for not playing is the not properly resolved DRM issue.

Regarding the iPhone, it never played on it but DRM works way too different on the iPhone, I don’t think it is meant to be used on an iPhone either way.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,361
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yes it is functional. I am able to play the video using my MacBook and my 2014 Mac mini.

On the hackintosh it is like you say, it stays at loading state.

Regarding the iPhone, it never played on it but DRM works way too different on the iPhone, I don’t think it is meant to be used on an iPhone either way.

I don't get it... Why can't my iPhone or iPad play anything?
 
Top