Contribute
Register

New DRM enabling method for systems with AMD GPU

Joined
Sep 22, 2010
Messages
170
Motherboard
ASUS PRIME Z390-A
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
Vega 64
It should be noted that those who are using iMacPro1,1 system definition do not need the "shikigva=16" boot argument. Apple TV, Amazon on Safari, Netflix on Safari, etc should all work just as it always has.
Hi @pastrychef , I went with iMacPro1,1 on Big Sur 20B29 and Apple TV is working fine but Amazon Prime in Safari is not. Any suggestions?
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,697
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi @pastrychef , I went with iMacPro1,1 on Big Sur 20B29 and Apple TV is working fine but Amazon Prime in Safari is not. Any suggestions?

I have no idea why it's not working for you. I just watched Gemini Man on Amazon Prime a few days ago on Safari from beginning to end.
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2010
Messages
170
Motherboard
ASUS PRIME Z390-A
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
Vega 64
I have no idea why it's not working for you. I just watched Gemini Man on Amazon Prime a few days ago on Safari from beginning to end.
Gemini Man was good! :) I'm using DP 1.4 and get the following from Amazon. Firefox installed Widevine and it plays just fine. Guess I can use that as my alternative. Small price.

This video can't play on your device as it doesn't meet content protection standards. All of your displays and cables must be HDCP compliant. Try disconnecting video devices from your computer, including secondary monitors and TVs, refresh the page and try again. See our troubleshooting tips for more information. If this problem continues, please contact Amazon Customer Service at www.amazon.com/video/contactus and refer to error 7279.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,697
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Gemini Man was good! :) I'm using DP 1.4 and get the following from Amazon. Firefox installed Widevine and it plays just fine. Guess I can use that as my alternative. Small price.

This video can't play on your device as it doesn't meet content protection standards. All of your displays and cables must be HDCP compliant. Try disconnecting video devices from your computer, including secondary monitors and TVs, refresh the page and try again. See our troubleshooting tips for more information. If this problem continues, please contact Amazon Customer Service at www.amazon.com/video/contactus and refer to error 7279.

I think video quality is not as good if you are not using Safari. Is your IGPU disabled?
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2010
Messages
170
Motherboard
ASUS PRIME Z390-A
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
Vega 64
I think video quality is not as good if you are not using Safari. Is your IGPU disabled?
I set Advanced \ System Agent (SA) Configuration \ Graphics Configuration → Primary Display: PCIE and iGPU Multi-Monitor: Disabled. I don't know how to disable iGPU on PRIME Z390-A.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,697
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I set Advanced \ System Agent (SA) Configuration \ Graphics Configuration → Primary Display: PCIE and iGPU Multi-Monitor: Disabled. I don't know how to disable iGPU on PRIME Z390-A.

Sounds like you have it disabled... I don't know why it's not working for you. All I did was choose iMacPro1,1.
 

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
3,995
Motherboard
GB Z490 Vision G
CPU
i9 10850K OC @ 5.2 GHz
Graphics
Vega 64 LC + HD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I set Advanced \ System Agent (SA) Configuration \ Graphics Configuration → Primary Display: PCIE and iGPU Multi-Monitor: Disabled. I don't know how to disable iGPU on PRIME Z390-A.

@Douic,

You need to enable Multi-Monitor mode, Its badly worded and has been in all BIOS's ....
It should really be called Multi GPU mode (dGPU + IGPU).

Cheers
Jay
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2010
Messages
170
Motherboard
ASUS PRIME Z390-A
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
Vega 64
@Douic,

You need to enable Multi-Monitor mode, Its badly worded and has been in all BIOS's ....
It should really be called Multi GPU mode (dGPU + IGPU).

Cheers
Jay
hey jaymonkey, if I'm running iMacPro1,1 I should set it to Multi-Monitor? Thought the idea was to disable the iGPU. Won't Multi-Monitor enable iGPU?
 

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
3,995
Motherboard
GB Z490 Vision G
CPU
i9 10850K OC @ 5.2 GHz
Graphics
Vega 64 LC + HD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
if I'm running iMacPro1,1 I should set it to Multi-Monitor? Thought the idea was to disable the iGPU. Won't Multi-Monitor enable iGPU?

@Douirc,

Sorry my mistake I did not realise you where running the MacPro1,1 SMBIOS ... in which case Multi-Monitor mode should be disabled to force all MacOS Video API's to use the dGPU.

Cheers
Jay
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2018
Messages
11
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 AORUS PRO WIFI
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
well, I turned off iGPU in the bios (memory set to AUTO that fully disables it), and used the .kext while still keeping with the same SMBIOS(iMAC 19,2) so not to mess up my Apple account and messages, hand-off, etc and DRM issues are also gone when using Safari.

I'm not too sure on the full implications yet with iGPU being disabled(apart from sidecar that just gives a black screen saying connecting on my iPad pro due to it needing a T2 chip or Intel iGPU), but with regards to hardware acceleration VideoProc is saying it's now using my AMD RX580 on both HEVC and H.264, but not too sure this is the case in Final Cut Pro looking at the dGPU usage. Some strange results with Final Cut Pro using different codecs(h.264,HEVC) that are supported on a RX580: very low CPU and low GPU, or high CPU, and low GPU. It looks like some codecs are being passed to hardware and others software, but does not appear optimised. Anyone got experience in this area?

Hi @phonic2k, I'm also using iMac19,2 but can't get VideoProc hardware acceleration/DRM on Safari working with this kext & iGPU disabled in BIOS.

What are your boot args? Do you use any shiki flag?
What are your config for iGPU? Is it still headless?
 
Top