Contribute
Register

New DRM enabling method for systems with AMD GPU

Joined
Nov 29, 2017
Messages
61
Motherboard
GA-H270N-WiFi
CPU
i5-7400
Graphics
Intel HD630
@jmmc,

I have read many more positive DRM success stories in the last few weeks when using the very latest Lilu + WEG with a standard iMac SMBIOS and the boot argument shikigva=80 so progress has been made since the revamped shiki code was introduced in WEG .... however there are still known issues with certain Polaris based AMD GPU's.

On a personal note i can confirm that with the latest release of Lilu (V1.4.3) and WEG (V1.3.8) Netflix has started working in Safari on my main system (iMac15,1 with shikigva=80) which up until now has not worked, however Amazon prime video still causes an error (although it does now play a few seconds before the error) so I can see that with each release of Lilu + WEG progress is being made by the devs.

If it does not work for you then you'll have to wait for the next release of Lilu + WEG and hope that the devs have made a bit more progress.

Cheers
Jay

When you refer to a standard SMBIOS do you mean a non headless?

Edit:

Just got an answer from Vito in github and he says our problem is an Apple issue.
 

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
3,990
Motherboard
GB Z490 Vision G
CPU
i9 10850K OC @ 5.2 GHz
Graphics
Vega 64 LC + HD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
3,990
Motherboard
GB Z490 Vision G
CPU
i9 10850K OC @ 5.2 GHz
Graphics
Vega 64 LC + HD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
When setting my IGPU as headless, is the property "framebuffer-patch-enable" needed?


@jmmc,

There should be no need for any additional framebuffer patches when configuring a IGPU as headless.
Therefore there is no need for the "framebuffer-patch-enable" property.

In most cases you only need to set the "AAPL,ig-platform-id" property (and in some cases the "device-id") for a headless configuration.

Cheers
Jay
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 15, 2011
Messages
10
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3H
CPU
3570K
Graphics
RX 580
Classic Mac
  1. LC
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
On 10.14.2, and I've had this working with shikigva=80 for a couple months now. Then my BIOS somehow reset itself completely, and now I get the "a problem repeatedly occurred with..." on Netflix, Amazon, and Hulu.

Using iMac13,2 with platform id 0x01620007. In the BIOS I've tried changing DVMT pre-alloc (32, 64, 128), DVMT Max (128, 256, MAX), and Initial GPU (forget the exact name but have it on PEG currently). The "best" thing that happens is that headless mode gets turned off so the patch doesn't load at all, and I get kicked out for no DRM.

Any ideas? Tried updating to latest WEG/Lilu, but no dice. (was two versions back from January)
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2018
Messages
277
Motherboard
HP 8300, MacMini6,1
CPU
i5-3570K, i5-3470, i5-3210, G5
Graphics
RX570, RX560, GT730K, HD4000
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
On 10.14.2, and I've had this working with shikigva=80 for a couple months now. Then my BIOS somehow reset itself completely, and now I get the "a problem repeatedly occurred with..." on Netflix, Amazon, and Hulu.

Using iMac13,2 with platform id 0x01620007. In the BIOS I've tried changing DVMT pre-alloc (32, 64, 128), DVMT Max (128, 256, MAX), and Initial GPU (forget the exact name but have it on PEG currently). The "best" thing that happens is that headless mode gets turned off so the patch doesn't load at all, and I get kicked out for no DRM.

Any ideas? Tried updating to latest WEG/Lilu, but no dice. (was two versions back from January)

You might make sure that you have the RX580 defined as the boot device in BIOS, and that you don't
add too many device properties for your headless HD4000 graphics. I've noticed that if I add much
more than the AAPL,ig-platform-id, WEG and/or macOS will either fail to bot or will change the
headless framebuffer, which you want to be the IntelCapri framebuffer. There are some new comments
in a link on the WEG documentation about IQSV in Russian, you might be able to use Google to translate
the pages.
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2011
Messages
10
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3H
CPU
3570K
Graphics
RX 580
Classic Mac
  1. LC
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
You might make sure that you have the RX580 defined as the boot device in BIOS, and that you don't
add too many device properties for your headless HD4000 graphics. I've noticed that if I add much
more than the AAPL,ig-platform-id, WEG and/or macOS will either fail to bot or will change the
headless framebuffer, which you want to be the IntelCapri framebuffer. There are some new comments
in a link on the WEG documentation about IQSV in Russian, you might be able to use Google to translate
the pages.

Everything's booting great, and as far I can tell "PEG" should be selecting the 580. How do I check to see if the framebuffer is IntelCapri? It's showing up as Intel HD Graphics 4000 / 0x01628086 under "Current Framebuffer Info" in hackintool.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2018
Messages
277
Motherboard
HP 8300, MacMini6,1
CPU
i5-3570K, i5-3470, i5-3210, G5
Graphics
RX570, RX560, GT730K, HD4000
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
You can see it in IORegistryExplorer under IGPU
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2016
Messages
11
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-B150M-D3H
CPU
i5 6402p
Graphics
GTX 750ti
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
shikigva=80 enabled prime video for me for my iMac 17,1 with RX580 and Intel HD510 disabled from the bios.
H264 and H265 encoding and decoding doesn't work using VideoToolBox and Final Cut and also fails in VideoProc.
I think enabling the headless mode will fix that but I'll give it a try sometime later.
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2016
Messages
3
Motherboard
<< need model # >> See Rules !!
CPU
i5 << need model # >> See Rules !!
Graphics
RX 480
For anyone who's still struggling with this, using iMacPro1,1 and removing shikigva boot flag worked for me with Intel Core i5-7600 and AMD Radeon RX 480 8 GB.
It allows me to watch Netlifix on Safari. Although, the DRM demo on Bitmovin is still not working.
 
Top