Contribute
Register

New Clover Release v5.1 r5123/4/5/6/7 - Big Sur Support

Joined
Feb 23, 2020
Messages
66
Motherboard
Dell Precision M4700
CPU
i7-3740QM
Graphics
M4000
I'd like to know how to disable ACPI mods of OC for Windows or make it mod MacOS only too. I disagree with badly done ACPI. The point is modding the ACPI so that MacOS understands it or get tricked to think it's Mac hardware, not the other way around. Modding ACPI for both MacOS and Windows is waste of time as the default ACPI is already for Windows. I think until OC dev decides to make OC only effect MacOS, the best way to deal with it is to pressing F8 during the boot and selecting Windows boot manager when one needs to launch Windows.
You can't disable ACPI modifications, best you can do is seperate logic using if statements like such:
If (_OSI("Darwin"))
{
// Do stuff
}

For SMBIOS, you can set Kernel->CustomSMBIOSGUID = true and PlatformInfo->UpdateSMBIOSMode = "Custom"
As for why ACPI can't be disabled - it's mainly about providing a consistent environment. If you boot macOS, but it fails to boot and you get kicked back into the picker, it's hard to roll back the changes made - so is it supposed to force restart, or just try to boot windows with the modifications done anyway? Imo, it tends to lead towards cleaner ACPI patches as well. The code you write tends to be seperated into SSDTs which are easier to share and use across different DSDT and firmware versions. It makes you think about the modifications you make - often times you don't need to make large edits except for battery patches possibly, though that generally doesn't break windows. I struggle a bit to see how people are happy to just stick a DSDT into Clover and be done with it when it's difficult to update when you update the BIOS - as the DSDT certainly can and does change between different BIOS versions.
Not sure about NVRAM custom entry is the only cause there. And you are right about separate drives for separate OSs. But my question was special for that user's case; 1 drive with rEFInd + Win, 1 drive with MacOS. Since his Windows is 7, he won't have any issues about updates because Win7 is discontinued. As for rEFInd, adding and managing (updating it etc) another bootloader is overkill. As we just meet Frankenloader (Clover+OpenCore). Just press F8 during boot and use mobo's built-in boot manager for Windows.
Using the built-in boot manager is definitely an option. It depends I guess it depends on what the user wants. It can be a bit annoying spamming F8 or F12 at boot if you want to boot something other than the default, lol.
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2012
Messages
39
Motherboard
AsRock H310CM
CPU
i3-8100K
Graphics
RX 460
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello everybody.
I also tried to use OpenCore as my usual bootloader.
And the my ESP on the HDD or SSD contains the OpenCore stable and the latest master.
I have to run Windows on that computer.
The behavior of OpenCore there is not very good.
It will change the value of BIOS etc. and ACPI.
I also want to use OpenCore either.
However, due to the behavior of OpenCore, Windows becomes unstable and the BIOS screen does not appear.
That's why I'm looking forward to Clover in the future.
As long as there is a problem like this, it may be a few people, but Clover will be required by people.
I was the first tester for Clover to bring in OpenCore to migrate from Big Sur. (Jief's demands were high and it was a very exciting challenge.)
Thank you.
I think you need to sort this issue with OpenCore, Big Sur release is around the corner and Clover is still not ready.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2013
Messages
170
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Ultra
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630, RTX 2080 Super
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
For now I'm running Windows and MacOS on separate machines, OC 0.6.1 works perfectly for both Catalina and Big Sur on the Z270, but seemed to cause issues when booting Windows. I don't feel like Frankenclover is the solution.
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2011
Messages
37
Motherboard
Asus z370 gaming wifi
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Can you tell this village idiot how you accomplished that? I think previous Clover versions might be in the EFI-BACKUPS folder, but I'm not sure how to restore my old config.

EDIT: Here's where I am so far: I mounted the primary EFI partition using the installer's terminal: mount -t msdos /dev/disk0s1 /Volumes/EFI. I found the config.plist and copied it to the USB drive. Moved that to a friend's MBP and edited it. Pasted the whole quirks section to the end of config.plist. Restarted the installer and copied the edited config to the EFI/CLOVER folder. The system starts up now, but the USB keyboard isn't detected so it sits there on the login screen telling me to connect a keyboard. The keyboard works fine in UEFI or the installer, so I know it's not unplugged when I start the main OS. Must be a quirk I need to fool with. Any suggestions?

Now that I can somewhat reliably copy files to the installer, I'd rather revert the Clover version to 5122 and hopefully be able to boot normally. How should I go about this? Is it as easy as obtaining the 5122 release and copying the contents of the CLOVER directory over the existing one?

Second EDIT: While attempting to correct my issue, I accidentally destroyed my EFI folder. See here for details and how I reverted to r5122: https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/recover-overwritten-efi-folder.304713/

This worked for me to repair my clover install by reverting. Thank you!
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2012
Messages
307
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299 Desgnare EX
CPU
i9-9900x
Graphics
W5700
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi, Thank you for the guide.

I followed the guide and tony's guide as well for the swapping drivers(OCQuirk and openruntime) Removed AptioMemoryfix driver as well. Copied QuirkSectionfrom the sample.plist

I updated clover from 5122 to 5123. I tried 5124 but the same problem occured. My kexts all are the latest.

My OS Catalina(15.7) is having memory panic like attached picture. Anyone has a solution?

I did not change anything except above instructions.

Screen Shot 2020-10-12 at 1.51.28 PM.png
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2010
Messages
204
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
CPU
i5-2500K
Graphics
GTX 460
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. SE
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
  2. Other
Hi, Thank you for the guide.

I followed the guide and tony's guide as well for the swapping drivers(OCQuirk and openruntime) Removed AptioMemoryfix driver as well. Copied QuirkSectionfrom the sample.plist

I updated clover from 5122 to 5123. I tried 5124 but the same problem occured. My kexts all are the latest.

My OS Catalina(15.7) is having memory panic like attached picture. Anyone has a solution?

I did not change anything except above instructions.

View attachment 491501


same problem also
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 24, 2013
Messages
7
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z97-D3H
CPU
3,5 GHz Intel Core i7 de 4 núcleos
Graphics
Radeon RX 560 4 GB
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS

someone has tried Clover Release v5.1 r5124. ?​

 
Joined
Nov 3, 2012
Messages
39
Motherboard
AsRock H310CM
CPU
i3-8100K
Graphics
RX 460
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi, Thank you for the guide.

I followed the guide and tony's guide as well for the swapping drivers(OCQuirk and openruntime) Removed AptioMemoryfix driver as well. Copied QuirkSectionfrom the sample.plist

I updated clover from 5122 to 5123. I tried 5124 but the same problem occured. My kexts all are the latest.

My OS Catalina(15.7) is having memory panic like attached picture. Anyone has a solution?

I did not change anything except above instructions.

View attachment 491501

I had the same issue (Kernel Panic) it was caused by FakeSMC.kext and the its kext plugins.
remove all the FakeSMC kexts and replace them for VirtualSMC and its plugins.
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2012
Messages
39
Motherboard
AsRock H310CM
CPU
i3-8100K
Graphics
RX 460
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS

someone has tried Clover Release v5.1 r5124. ?​


Yes it works on Catalina and Big Sur, but ironically now it is more difficult to configure than OpenCore because you have to play with 2 bootloaders at the same time - Clover and OpenCore - since Clover is mixed now.
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2010
Messages
75
Motherboard
I still didn't read
CPU
the RULES
Graphics
so IGNORE me!
Is there any documentation about the quirks? Are they chipset dependent? Trying to figure out how to configure them properly
 
Top