Contribute
Register

New Build: trying for quick setup, reliable operation...

Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
Mavericks
CPU
Core i5 2500k
Graphics
Intel 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Color Classic
  2. LC
  3. Performa
  4. Power Mac
  5. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Looking for advice. I'm a long-time reader but this is my first post.

Background:
I'm a designer. Had a MacPro but dumped it to pay the bills. Looking for similar performance on day-to-day design tasks but don't need all 8 cores of headroom (why bother when Adobe has no idea what to do with them).

Aims:
- Quick build (I've serviced/rebuilt Macs my whole life, this my first with PC parts)
- Mac-like experience, but I can deal with certain drawbacks
- Day-to-day reliability is more important than top-end performance

Selected parts (Microcenter):
Intel Corporation Core i7 860 Processor Boxed, SKU: 292144, $199.99
- Secretly, I really want the 27" iMac, so my aim is to match that level of performance, and be able to toss in my RAID drives
- My understanding is that I don't need to buy extra cooling if I'm building and running stock

Gigabyte GA-P55A-UD3 LGA 1156 P55 ATX Motherboard, SKU: 560847, $129.99
- I like the forward mobility of SATA3 because I like to push around large files, assuming that works someday
- I like the basic functionality of this board, but I'm not at all married to it.

EVGA GeForce 9800GT 512MB PCIe 2.0 x16 Graphics Card, SKU: 563171, $109.99
- This will be upgraded when I'm comfy with the build, but my take is that this card is plug-n-play

Corsair XMS3 DOMINATOR 4GB DDR3, 1600MHz 2x240 DIMM, Unbuffered, 8-8-8-24 - with DHX - Core I7, Core i5 and Core 2, SKU: 494724, $169.99
- From what I can tell these sticks have performed well for people

Antec Earthwatts 750W ATX Power Supply, SKU: 101675, $149.99
- I know nothing about power supplies. Will this push 8 SATA drives? Says it can, but I don't trust spec sheets