Contribute
Register

New Build - Graphics not enabling in Sierra 12.6

Joined
Jul 22, 2017
Messages
22
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Ultra Gaming
CPU
Core i5-6400
Graphics
Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1050 Windforce
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi everyone,

I put together my first build yesterday, and everything went smoothly except for three issues:
  1. No audio device is being detected.
  2. I'm getting the "Your device or computer could not be verified" error in the App Store.
  3. No graphics acceleration, which is the focus of this post.
My build is:
  • OS: Sierra 10.12.6
  • CPU: Core i5-6400
  • Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Ultra Gaming
  • GPU: Gigabyte Geforce GTX 1050 Windforce
  • System profile: iMac 14,2
Things I've already tried:
I'm probably going to play around with the profiles next, but if anyone has any other ideas, I'm all ears.
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
21,336
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
BIOS - Disable Integrated graphics - Set PEG as Primary
Use a digital connection - DVI or HDMI - VGA is not supported.
Boot with nv_disable=1
May need to update Clover
Install web drivers
Config.plist - Do not inject Intel or Nvidia graphics and no ig-platform-id
Config.plist - Disable SIP fully - CsrActiveConfig 0x67
Edit config.plist - NvidiaWeb = true as per Link
Will need to emulate native NVRAM - Problem 6
Remove nv_disable=1 from config.plist
May need to install Lilu.kext and NvidiaGraphicsFixup.kext to /Library/Extensions
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2017
Messages
22
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Ultra Gaming
CPU
Core i5-6400
Graphics
Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1050 Windforce
Mobile Phone
iOS
BIOS - Disable Integrated graphics - Set PEG as Primary
Use a digital connection - DVI or HDMI - VGA is not supported.
Boot with nv_disable=1
May need to update Clover
Install web drivers
Config.plist - Do not inject Intel or Nvidia graphics and no ig-platform-id
Config.plist - Disable SIP fully - CsrActiveConfig 0x67
Edit config.plist - NvidiaWeb = true as per Link
Will need to emulate native NVRAM - Problem 6
Remove nv_disable=1 from config.plist
May need to install Lilu.kext and NvidiaGraphicsFixup.kext to /Library/Extensions
  • Use digital connection: I'm using HDMI
  • Boot with nv_disable=1: check
  • Clover: Check - I'm using the most updated version
  • Install web drivers: Check - Using the most updated version
  • Don't inject intel of Nvidia graphics: Check
  • Nvidiaweb via config.plist: check
  • Emulate native NVRAM: when I do this, the system freezes about half way through the apple loading screen right before getting to the login. At this point, the monitor stop receiving a signal and shuts off. I have to reboot with my install usb stick inserted and pick a different boot point from the bios, which gets me back into Sierra so I can reload clover and remove this option.
  • Remove nv_disable=1 from config.plist: check
  • Install lil and nvidiagraphicsfixup: check
So ya I think I did everything and still no luck. I suspect it's the nvram thing, but the solution causes my system to screw up during the OS boot.
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
21,336
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
So ya I think I did everything and still no luck.
It has nothing to do with luck.

I suspect it's the nvram thing, but the solution causes my system to screw up during the OS boot.
With a Gigabyte 100 series it is almost certainly the lack of native NVRAM support :

RC.png
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2017
Messages
22
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Ultra Gaming
CPU
Core i5-6400
Graphics
Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1050 Windforce
Mobile Phone
iOS
It has nothing to do with luck.


With a Gigabyte 100 series it is almost certainly the lack of native NVRAM support :

View attachment 268293
Yup just tried it again, and same result. When the progress bar gets just over half way, the monitor loses its signal and turns off.

Is it possible this is a result of fault installation of the hardware?
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
21,336
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Is it possible this is a result of fault installation of the hardware?
Copy your entire /EFI folder to the desktop, compress it and attach the resulting zip file to this thread.
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2017
Messages
22
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Ultra Gaming
CPU
Core i5-6400
Graphics
Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1050 Windforce
Mobile Phone
iOS
Copy your entire /EFI folder to the desktop, compress it and attach the resulting zip file to this thread.
Shoot I think I goofed the first time. When I ejected the EFI just now, it wanted to eject my recovery USB so I think it was the EFI attached to that drive.

This one should be good. Seriously sorry if I wasted your time.
 

Attachments

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
21,336
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Shoot I think I goofed the first time. When I ejected the EFI just now, it wanted to eject my recovery USB so I think it was the EFI attached to that drive.

This one should be good. Seriously sorry if I wasted your time.
The one that you are booting with is the right one.
 
Top